Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
108
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2009
This is such a useful series! Tom Wright has been described as the world's leading New Testament expert. Some of what he writes (using the name NT Wright) is technical stuff for academics and theology students but this series is quite different - its specifically written for everyone. And it delivers in a number of different ways:

Tom Wright is really clear and easy to follow - no technical theological language which can be off-putting for the lay reader. He is a good writer!

It does though reflect and draw on his expertise. As Wright puts it in his introduction: "Of course, it matters that some people give time and care to the historical evidence, the meaning of the original words (the early Christians wrote in Greek) and the exact and particular force of what different writers were saying about God, Jesus, the world and themselves. This series is based quite closely on that sort of work. But the point of it all is that the message can get out to everyone, especially to people who wouldn't normally read a book with footnotes and Greek words in it. That's the sort of person for whom these books are written."

I found the books full of insights and stories which help to help you find things you might otherwise have missed in the text, or which present things a slightly different way. So its a very helpful series for the lay Christian who wants to hear the word of God speaking afresh.

The layout, structure and presentation are excellent too. The books are paperback sized but printed on good paper with a decent font. Each section is about four pages long and generally there are 2, 3 or 4 sections for each New Testament chapter. So if, like me, you like to read some of the Bible everyday for between 10 and 30 minutes - this is very useful companion.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
True to form, this is an excellent study of Mark's Gospel, written in a convincing and very accessible style. Tom Wright has broken down the study into easily digestible chapters and in each one he provides relevant and colourful examples and every day illustrations. Better still, he concludes each chapter with a penetrating challenge or question. A very helpful and informative read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
Tom Wright is a powerful communicator. In his view, Mark's Gospel is presented as breathlessly urgent, colourful, challenging, sometimes humorous and utterly relevant to life today in all it's complexities. He makes some of Christ's more difficult teachings relatively easy to understand, whilst leaving us room to think for ourselves and reflect on the personal meaning of what we have read.

My only wish is that Wright could have given us more on the issues that many who are new to the Bible struggle with - the resurrection, exorcism, the nature of sin, repentance. He seems to approach some of these issues at a tangent without always tackling them head-on. As a result, I was often excited by his insights, but sometimes puzzled by exactly what it was I was excited about!

But overall, engaging and beautifully written.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
This is a great Bible Study on Mark, presented by Tom Wright in my opinion, one of the great Biblical Scholars of our time.

Having used William Barclay's Bible commentaries in the past, I can safely say that this commentary on Mark's Gospel is both interesting and insightful.

I would thoroughly recommend Tom Wright's - Everyone commentaries, to anyone who wants a deeper meaningful understanding of the Bible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 September 2013
I have read most of Tom Wright's "For Everyone" series of biblical commentaries and they are all pretty good. This one is written in the same style as all of the others and it is engaging enough. However I didn't find 2 Corinthians to be as interesting as most of the other Pauline epistles and the subject material didn't particularly stimulate my interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Purchased this book to help me work through Mark's gospel as part of my daily reading. The book is a great help, providing an outline for my daily devotions as well as some stimulating thoughts. I would recommend this book, together with others of Tom Wright, as a primer for devotions or for basic bible study. It has been refreshing to visit again the gospel and to get a fresh understanding of how Jesus went about His daily ministry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
I like all tom wright's writings and this is no exception. sections of Marks gospel are printed for each day in Toms own translation - which is similar to the CEV - and then he interprets it using the meaning of the day and then transferring this to modern times. He is for the 'intelligent lay person' who likes a bit of fact and history and a bit of spiritual interpretation. I use it for my daily bible study
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
I have never before heard or read this letter expounded. There have been many messages from inspirational snippets, but the overall message and the issues lying behind are so instructive. Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
Studying the whole of Mark's gospel brings out Mark's sense of immediacy and the developing story of Jesus as Messiah. He also includes wonderful human touches. Tom Wright brings all this out and ties it all together like no one else has ever done for me. I hae gained so much by studying Mark using this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Happy with purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)