Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
138
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2017
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Wonderfully packaged product with unusual extras, and that's before you watch the DVD. Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
some of the digital re mastering wasn't very well done, but apart from that it was good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
I loved it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As far as the film goes, I don't think it needs an introduction from me; there are plenty of reviews for that elsewhere. All I will say is that if you are not familiar with it, this is a psychedelic comedy/fantasy heavily larded with classic Beatles songs and some truly iconic animation work that dates very well indeed. I never had the privilege of seeing the remastered dvd edition of this film, but as regards the blu ray I can honestly say it is outstanding. The colours are incredible, far brighter than I remember on my first viewing of the film (and I watched this at the cinema as a child). The painstaking restoration has paid off and this is a work of art.

The sound quality was not quite as much improved, I think, but I don't have a 5.1 system and can only say what it sounded like on a standard stereo set-up. On that basis, it was better than my old videotape by far, but on some tracks could have been improved - there was a noticeable variation in quality. The dialogue, on the other hand, was crisper and clearer than before.

The edition comes in a card slipcase which is nicely decorated with images of the Fab Four from the movie and the interior of the Yellow Submarine, but for something I want to treasure as much as this, I would have preferred a hard case. It includes a nice booklet with lots of illustrations, four film cells and some cute stickers. The extras are an audio commentary by John Coates and Heinz Edelmann; the Mod Odyssey featurette on the making of the film; the original theatrical trailer; three storyboarded sequences, including two never used; original pencil drawings, behind the scenes photos, and interviews with the crew and vocal performers. It claims to be All Region. Sound comes in PCM Stereo, Original Mono, 5.1 in English, German and Italian. Subtitles in English, German, Dutch, Finnish, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian, Finnish and Polish.
22 Comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 July 2016
This is the "Yellow Submarine" on Blu-ray - a full-length animated film, from 1968, featuring a very psychedelic Beatles on a mission to save Pepperland from the Blue Meanies ... It's a cartoon classic that been fully restored and digitally re-mastered, with 4K picture quality and Dolby 5.1 surround sound. Comparing this new version to the old DVD release - The Beatles: Yellow Submarine [DVD] [1968] (which I bought in 2002) - the improvements are amazing. The clarity and definition of the images is superb, and the colours are vivid and far brighter. While there's not much more included in terms of special features, the item does include some artwork and stickers.

The story involves a musical paradise, full of peace and love, being attacked and conquered by the Blue Meanie invasion force - intent on ridding this place, Pepperland, of joy and colour. Yet one man, Captain Fred, manages to escape in his yellow submarine ... and he goes in search of the Beatles - who, through their singing, possess the means to stopping the meanies. Fortunately, the Beatles agree to take part in this quest - and the adventure begins. On their way to Pepperland, we witness the Fab Four visit a myriad of strange and wondrous places (as well as meeting the Nowhere Man). And, finally, as the Beatles sing so the evil powers of the Blue Meanies fade away.

This is a very surreal animated film, made in 1968 - immediately following on from the 'Sgt. Pepper' and 'Magical Mystery Tour' phase of the Beatles career during the Summer of Love. It's fun and entertaining, not least because of the fantastic music. Four (then) new songs were included in the movie: 'All Together Now', 'Hey Bulldog', 'Only A Northern Song' and 'It's All Too Much'. Several other Beatles songs also feature, including 'Eleanor Rigby', 'When I'm Sixty-Four', 'Nowhere Man', 'Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds', 'All You Need Is Love', and the title track 'Yellow Submarine'. The album is available: Yellow Submarine Songtrack.

It's a shame that Lennon, McCartney, Harrison and Starr didn't provide the voice work in the film, although the voice actors do a great job. And, fortunately, the Beatles make a (brief) appearance at the end. The animation itself is brilliant, albeit often creatively weird. If you're a Beatles fan then I highly recommend this movie. It's fun for children and adults alike, and now stands as a timeless classic.
review image review image
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)