Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
35
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2013
That's hardly a title you would expect. It is, however, easy to see the link between the development of the coffee shops and the expectation that we want to share our thoughts and interests with both friends and strangers. This is a short but comprehensive history book that is both interesting because of its factual content and relaxing because it is so easy to read and quick to finish. It is also a very interesting portrait of a society which was very different from our own in terms of comfort and amenities but that bore the familiar stamp of our contemporaries, giving high place to gossip, rumour and argument with limited reliable facts but it was also a place where very serious business was done and political ideas were developed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
Though not a coffee drinker, I am interested in the 17th century, and found this little gem most interesting and informative. Concise, and easy to follow, you almost can hear/see/smell the goings on there, it was so evocative! It was well worth the little I paid for it to get a flavor of bygone times.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 September 2014
This isn't a academic text and there are gaps and limitations to the description, but that said, this is a comprehensive overview and taster of an important 17th century social phenomenon. We think we're very modern with our Starbucks, Costa and the like, but our ancestors had their coffee shop culture over 350 years ago. The cry of 'what news' and the intriguing that went on in these places was a very important part of life. The description of the stench, I won't say smell because like Brandon I dont think that would do it justice, that pervaded these establishments must have been horrendous. I really liked this, it was well worth the money, gave me some pointers towards other reading (always a bonus) and filled in a few gaps in my knowledge. Fitted in well with my reading of Susanna Gregory's Thomas Challoner series: i.e. Murder on High Holborn (Exploits of Thomas Chaloner) as some of principle action takes place in and around 17c coffee shops.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2016
Quite a quick read, but it's got a lot of information in it, and covers a lot of ground. A bigger bibliography would have been useful for finding out more, but I nonetheless found this book both enjoyable and informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
Very interesting little book about the history of coffee shops, told I a very readable and informative way. Lots of historical points.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
I couldn't stop reading this book. It paints a very clear picture of bygone days and people. I may return to this again sometime.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
This book disappeared as quickly as a bar of chocolate! I so looked forward to reading it. Lots of interesting facts and insights into how the City of London works today. Highly recommended
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2016
This book covered the topic of Coffee Houses in a very comprehensive manner- the influence of these establishments were clearly outlined- very interesting. I would recommend to anyone who would like to develop a deeper understanding of London History, in particular
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
The book was fine & it only cost me penny + shipping (cover price £4.99) but I had imagined it to be a trade size paperpack. It is not - it is about half the size & only 93 pages long, which makes it more a pamphlet than a book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
Being very interested in history this book was absolutely wonderful, I could not stop reading it, so much information on how coffee shops came about and helped pave the way for other businesses to come about. I would recommend this read to anyone interested in our history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)