Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2010
I'm not an Arsenal supporter, I'm not ever a Londoner; I am, however, a football fan and a massive Arsene Wenger fan at that. From reading this book, it is blatantly apparent that Wenger has changed the shape of football in England. His implementation towards diet at the time was unheard of, especially considering the club's drink culture, is a forward step and has enhanced many premiership footballers' careers today.
The author, Zavier Rivoire, is somebody who I've always enjoyed listening to, whether on the radio or on the television. He is also, like Wenger, a French man, and is probably one of a very few journalists to ever get close to Mr. Wenger. The book is a hugely interesting insight into Wenger's childhood, and also illustrates Wenger's hugely successful pre-Arsenal career, of which isn't always made common knowledge by the British media. It's also a very well researched book, in which Rivoire has used a vast amount of people from all over the world that includes ex footballers and international journalists. Rivoire depicts Wenger as a highly intellectual person often referring to Wenger's economics degree which he obtained as a young man. This in itself separates Wenger from the stereotype of the dumb footballer, and highlights Wenger as a lonesome, but deep thinking man.
In an era where young footballers are seemingly quick to write their memoirs, it is perhaps ironic that Wenger has claimed that he is too young to write his autobiography. Therefore, whilst we wait for a book in Wenger's own hand writing, be sure to check out this adequate, but informative substitute.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
I love Arsene Wenger. I love what he's done with my beloved Arsenal, love the football we've produced (through good and not so good years) so it was a real pleasure for me to read about this usually very private man's life. I've enjoyed this book immensely, and can't wait until it is updated sometime in the (hopefully) near future, Good luck Arsene, the real Arsenal fans will always be behind you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2011
This book is a great reflection of a great football manager. It just doesn't tell you about Mr. Wenger's achievements with different football clubs, but also his ways of getting best out of an ordinary player. This book gives deep insight into Arsene's ideology. Even though Arsenal haven't been able to clinch a trophy in last six seasons, but I feel that what he has achieved with such a tight budget, any manager would take bow to Mr. Arsene Wenger. It really is a must read book to any football fanatic fan.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2008
This is a great book to read especially if you are a fan of Arsene Wenger. You will get to read about the amazing life that he has had as a footballer and as a manager and it is amazong to read about how hard he has worked to get there. I would reccomend it any day.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
I am not an Arsenal supporter, but enjoy reading books about football. This is a very good and thoughtful biography of the Arsenal manager-Arsene Wenger- It provides an insight into the personality of the man, as much as insights are allowed by this very private man. The format of the book is not to give blow by blow accounts of all of his seasons, but a considered view of his rise up the football management ladder. His attention to detail over all aspects of footballers lives is interesting, and thought-provoking.
Overall if you want to read a book about what makes Arsene Wenger tick, then this is certainly the book for you, and even more so if you are an Arsenal supporter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
Xavier Rivoire, gets right to the heart of his fellow Frenchman, and Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger in this well written biography. If your not an Arsenal fan, but are interested in how managers work, this book is as good as any on the Gunners boss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2008
As a fan/supporter of Arsenal this book about The Professor is a very good read. The author has portrayed Arsene Wenger with what I think is a truthful account, it covers him from an early age up to the present, and leaves you in no doubts about what he has achieved in his career - I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and have no hesitation in recommending it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2009
If your looking at this you shouldn't even need a review Arsene is a complete legend and any book that lets you find out more about the great man is a bonus. This book is well written and garenteed to tell you stuff you didn't know. Theres only 1 Arsene Wenger but not only 1 book about him but this one is a must by for every Gooner out there.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
I bought this for my son who is the Aresnal fan he is half way through the book and very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)