Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 4 August 2010
As a supporter who was 'there' when Bill Nicholson's `Super Spurs' were carrying all before them in the early 1960s, I am obviously very interested in that era and have many of the books written to mark the achievements of, arguably, Britain's greatest club side.
As it is now nearly 50 years since the double was won I am aware that this provides a great publishing opportunity and I was particularly keen to obtain a copy of this book by Brian Scovell.
Although it centres on painting a portrait of Bill Nicholson - the man as well as the manager - and to a certain extent succeeds, it is let down by a litany of factual errors and sloppy proof reading.
I give a few examples. In the second picture section the caption refers to Terry Dixon rather than Dyson and a picture captioned: `The Spurs dressing room at half time in the 1967 Cup Final' features Danny Blanchflower talking to Cliff Jones. Anyone who know anything about Spurs knows that Blanchflower had hung up his boots three years earlier.
In the text talking about the second leg of Spurs first European cup tie against Gornik at White Hart Lane it says: `Pohl... soon made the aggregate 5-2'. This is nonsense. Spurs were 4-2 down from the first leg but within 20 minutes had levelled the scores at 4-4 and although Pohl did score possibly the best goal of the match, Spurs were than heading towards an 8-1 victory.
Another glaring error is the assertion that in the 3rd round of the FA Cup in the double season Spurs `scraped through 3-2 against Charlton at The Valley. The match was actually at White Hart Lane.
I could go on but suffice to say that a potentially excellent book is spoiled by lack of proper research. And it is a great pity.
5150+ comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2010
While Bill Nic was a perfectionist, the author clearly wasnt
Did you know Man walked on the moon in 1961, no nor did I!
Derby County won the European Cup, news to me
Clyde beat Celtic in the Scottish Cup Final, wish they had, but they didnt

Throughot the book there is inaccurate info.
While a lot of the anecdotes may be true, unfortunately glaring mistakes leave you unsure.

Do not waste your money on this book.
Sadly my son did.
1616 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2011
It was disappointing that a book to honour the life of the great Bill Nicholson who was such a perfectionist in everything he did should have so many errors and imperfections.

It was frustrating to read the basic factual errors in a book written by a distinguished football writer. I had expected better and Bill Nicholson deserved so much more.
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2011
A Wonderful and must have book for all spurs loyal fans really enjoyable,make a great present,a book i will read again and again,many thanks.
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2011
how can a writer of 24 books get so much wrong with dates and facts, had to put the book down well before the end , couldnt take anymore , didnt anyone read it through before getting it published ?
my advice to anyone thinking of buying this book is to try the charity shops , they'll pay you to take one away with you, yep , its that bad
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2017
An otherwise interesting tale is, as has been pointed out on previous reviews, careless attention to detail and a lack of research by the author which has led to some comical claims being made in the book. In addition to those already cited, refer to page 218 & Nicholson's supposed attempt to sign Duncan McKenzie from Nottingham Forest, a player that, Scovell claims, "specialised in trying to upset Brian Clough"-truth is that Clough was manager of Leeds at this time and ended up signing the player, for Leeds, from Forest who he didn't join until 1975. Scovell then makes the farcical assertion that, in 1974, Nicholson looked into signing Charlie Nicholas from Arsenal-Nicholas did not join Arsenal until 1983!!!

For a supposed 'serious' football journalist to make such fundamental errors is unforgivable. The fact that someone then proof read the manuscript and failed to pick up on them is unbelievable. Much of the book is interesting and occasionally, revealing, a great insight into the heart and mind of a proper football man. But the mistakes, which are frequent and appalling, ruin its credibility and overall enjoyment. Nicholson deserves far, far better than this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2015
How many factual errors is it possible to get in a book written by a football journalist? I note he worked for the Daily Mail so perhaps that explains it. Man lands on the moon in 1961? Derby County won the European Cup? Spurs were the first English team to compete in the European Cup?

Aside from the glaring errors the book is poorly constructed, with rambling or poorly constructed sentences frequently making it hard to follow the narrative. Billy Nic deserves better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2012
An enjoyable read, with some interesting information not available in other books about Bill Nicholson, but there are (as mentioned by other readers) some fairly bizarre errors, such as the team talk for the 1961 cup final being interrupted by news of Neil Armstrong walking on the moon!

Nevertheless, these lapses did not spoil the book for me; Scovell's style of writing being informative without resorting to lots of facts and figures. Many of the pictures I had not seen before (although the one apparently of the dressing room at half-time in the 1967 cup final was incorrectly captioned - Morris Keston, no. 1 Spurs fan, you should have spotted that in your proof read!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2012
I found this book to be rather muddled, it was almost as if I had a copy that had not been edited I found it hard to read although some of the facts were interesting. It seemed to me that the author would start to write about one topic and then change to something else half way through it was very frustrating Several times I found myself reading about one thing only for the subject to change to something else and leave a theme half finished never to return. Not my favourite book of this type.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2015
As others have pointed out, the numerous errors detract from what should have been a good read. The piece regarding Bobby Smith requiring pain killers before the 1967 Cup Final is bizarre as the book has previously commented on his departure in 1964 to Brighton. The picture of Bill's wedding says it took place in 1947 whereas the text says it was in 1942.

In places it reads as though chunks of text were copied from other sources and pasted, not always accurately, as exemplified by the Bobby Smith reference above.

So disappointing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)