Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2012
What a fascinating read. I'm no science student and yet Ferguson's simple explanations of the most complex theories makes one feel like one might be able to understand what Hawking is talking about. This isn't the first Kitty Ferguson book I've read and I certainly hope it won't be the last as her voice helps illuminate people, theories and periods in time in such an accessible, interesting and at times humorous way. Highly recommend. (note I see a reviewer here only gave it two stars, hmmm.... See he also gave To Kill A Mocking Bird only two also. Go figure)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
I first read " A brief history of time" and Stephen Hawking's own Autobiography (which is very succinct). I wanted to know more about the Master Mind.
Stephen Hawking wrote that the Theory of Everything can tell us HOW the Universe works, and WHY it works the way it does, but not why it exists at all.
Reading his work gave me great pleasure in expanding my very limited knowledge of Cosmology and Physics.
I admire Hawking for his spirit of enquiry and perseverance, even his Motor Neuron Disease nor his wife's infidelity could stop him from living his life to the fullest.
Hawking is a very humble person, declaring that "It is possible that God acts in ways that cannot be described by scientific laws".
I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know him and his theories better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
Ms Ferguson tells Stephen Hawkings personal story with so much heart and the technical stuff with an easy style that people will understand the complexity of space .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Excellent have seen film that was brilliant. Thought I would buy the book as it will go into more detail......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
This is an interesting book giving us insights into what makes up the personality of Stephen Hawking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
I am a great admirer of Stephen Hawking, enjoyed the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
I though i would like this book as Stephen Hawking is a rather interesting sort of chap but unfortuately i found it very difficult to get into
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Twice near the end of the book,Ferguson mentions that she discussed with Hawking whether his mathematical constructions referred to a world that could be considered 'real' in some way.. .precisely the sticking point for Copernicus and his epicycles.!Ie Are these pictures of the mind actually 'real'?
It is awful to think that writers and thinkers in cosmology think that they are the first to ruminate on such things.Is there a 'Thing-in -Itself'behind the categories of thought?If there is, then everything said about it is still within categories of thought.
One would like to refer Ferguson and Hawking to Kant and Fichte.

However the fascnation of the mathematically mystical constructions and fantasies of modern cosmology should be seen alongside the 'Hitch -Hikers Guide'and 'Star-Trek/Star Wars'mindset.The dream of a totally detached position merely watching and calculating a computer-like world and cosmos as if uninvolved.Many desire this it seems.
Nietsche thougfht science was constructed on the monkish ascetic fear of emotional -bodily reality .The wish to avoid a fully engaged life.Therefore science has grown weak and anorexic
.
Well Hawking's life is a wonderful fascinating phenomenon,a kind of picture-drama of something in our culture.Ferguson obviously feels this somewhere but is blinded or deafened by the remorseless mythological endeavour of the 'cosmologist '.One would have liked much more critical involvement.The book ,as other biographies of this subject starts terribly well.The story is so gripping.But then a series of 'discoveries' and awards takes over.An oracle sanctuary has been created.Complete foolishness is prized as wisdom.
But the evident compassion of Ferguson for Hawking is certainly a redeeming feature,and this also says something to us about ourselves.
Apparently when first stricken,Hawking dreamt that he would live a kind of sacrificial life for others or else die very soon..Well among other things his life does prove that scientific medecine in its predictions is not the last word or infallible any more than the pope was in Galileo's day.Maybe we must thank Hawking for that more than anything.The Human Will may be able to act on the 'infallible cosmic mathematism' beloved of the cosmologist like a totally new factor.like a 'little "Big bang"' in fact !!!
A 'Bang of love'?
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)