Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
16
4.3 out of 5 stars
Troubled Times
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 March 2012
cast return to the sound they do best here. not original, but it doesn't need to be when the melodies are strong. john power sometimes gets criticised for his lyrics, unfairly in my opinion. he touches on mans inhumanity to man but has no answers. but then again neither does anyone else. welcome back cast!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 December 2016
After an eleven year absence from the recording studio, Britpop's unsung heroes Cast delighted their fans with a long-awaited comeback studio album in 2012. Alas, 'Troubled Times' was largely ignored by anyone who wasn't already a follower, but that was unsurprising really, given that the break between their records was such a long one.

On here, you'll find nothing new, and nothing experimental either, but that doesn't matter. This is the sound of Cast, and the same vibrant, upbeat Britpop that first got this four-piece band from Liverpool noticed, so why change a winning formula now?

The heart-warming track 'See That Girl' is especially melodic, and manages to almost hit the same highs as the La's hit 'There She Goes'. With some of the other songs, especially a stand out like 'Troubled Thoughts', it would also appear that Cast have taken some inspiration from another Scouse indie band, The Coral. Other favourites that I enjoyed immediately include the dark and deep 'Bad Waters', and 'Brother Fighting Brother, with vocalist John Power sounding uncannily like Bob Dylan, plus the rather reassuring, but confessional 'Not Afraid of this World'.

If you enjoyed Cast back then, I'll simply put you'll still love them as they were as recently as 2012, so buy 'Troubled Times' with ease, and enjoy it. I was hoping that it wouldn't take as long for a follow-up, for although it didn't gain a chart position, the new music was quality, but thankfully, their official website is giving visitors the chance to pre-order a new album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Cast were one of the few bands whose lyrics felt free of cynicism. There was a joy and spirituality about their music that was beautiful and left some of us sad when it ended. The reforming of groups can sometimes be a mistake but ii the case of Cast it has led to another great album and some fantastic live shows. John Power is one of the most underrated writers of his generation and every time I see Cast I find myself wondering how this can't be one of the biggest bands in the world.Troubled Times continues with many of Powers' themes, spirituality, searching, light and darkness and love. Some great riffs and the energy they were always known for is here in abundance. I've had this car in steady rotation in my car and whenever it ends I immediately go back to the beginning for more. Powers' voice is a little deeper and dare I say Dylan-esque at times but this is not a criticism. Great album, great band, happy customer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
Having had a long lay off between albums ( their last one released in 2001) due to John Power going solo. The band reformed to celebrate the anniversary of their original classic album and go on tour with it. John Power had written some new material which he was going to release as a solo artist. But he decided that it would work better with the old band. And although it didn't do commercially well. It is a good album, more laid back, more acoustic and with some good demo versions on it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
Dispite being a big Cast fan I found this album turgid and lacking in usual Cast spark, or beautiful story telling of John Powers early solo stuff ( mariner, small farm)
I could add more but I carnt really be arsed.
Overall disappointing. Still doesn't diminish my love of them live or there earlier albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2012
Remember the summer of 1995 and the sound of Britpop. .
Cast were always there but never really visible. These loveable Scousers despite multi- platinum selling albums (including the fastest selling debut album of the time) never really reached the heights they should have or deserved. 17 years on there back after some incestuous affairs on the Liverpool music scene.

Troubled Times sounds like Cast in terms of the vocals and the easily identifiable guitar work, but not in style or spirit. Yes they take from the retro sixties influence that Britpop always did, but it lacks the effervescence of their youth. This is a mature collection of songs that reflects their age and stature (These guys are in their early 40's now).

Sadly they sound like a middle aged band playing in a pub somewhere on a Tuesday night. That's not so say it's bad but the brisk optimism and infectious choruses have gone. Unfortunately you can't really recapture a scene that was so spontaneous and I don't think they are really trying to here. The wide eyes, energy, excitement are now replaced more mundane affairs and acceptance of what life is all about.

Never the less this collection of songs is heartfelt and warming and comes from a group that have gained wisdom through experience and age. The songs and tempo reflect this. When you think about it the audience are going to be ex- brit-popers who are also going to be around the late 30 or early 40 mark. So they should be able to relate.

Cast have never been critical darlings. Even when Britpop was at its peak they were being written off as mere revivalists. But this never affected their popularity, mainly thanks to John Power, a songwriter with a gift for writing radio-friendly melodies. This album does not attempt o relive the Britpop years but picks up exactly where they left off. The guitars chime and jangle brightly and the songs are full of lyrical clichés. But it's not the Cast you may remember.
If Cast in 1995 were a bottle on lemonade the Cast of 2012 are a bottle of lemon squash

It's sad that with so much musical talent and versatility that this album will not appeal to anyone else other than those wishing to open window into the past. These seasoned musicians who have played with the likes of Shack, the LA's and the Bunnymen deserve more but unfortunately I don't think this will do it .

All in all a plesent album but another one that will collect dust in the collection
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
This I would say is Cast's best offering. Really catchy tunes and the band have got better through time. Could play over and over again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
Love this bad recently saw them live but they didn't play any songs from this album. A very good album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
I am completely obsessed with Britpop and the britopo era, the 90's in general was the greatest time for British music ever as far as i'm conerned,

So for these bands such as Cast to be reuinited fills me with nothing other than joy. I am delighted for the band and it was very emotional for me to hear they were back together....so is the album good? the answer is NO..it is tremendous. Buy it and support the band and all Britpop artists that are reformed.

I had the pleasure of drinking with John Power one night in Glasgow after his gig at King tuts, John was a down to earth guy.

I love this band!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Great album by a massively under rated band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)