Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
8
BALANCE 021
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 June 2012
To be honest this CD was slightly what I was expecting from Fanciulli. He is the type of DJ who has that well worn style and taste of Dance music and House music. His style is popular enough to be heard on the radio and in mainstream clubs. And here lies the problem with the compilation; it is a bit of a stereotype of what a Dance music compilation should be.

The first CD is slightly commercial sounding House. It is evanescent and bubbly. There are 27 tracks on this CD and the mixing is so smooth that it is not noticable. Despite the fact that the tracks are a bit commercial sounding the shear number of them creates variety and the mixing is so good so as to create an enjoyable mix. Its regular House music but decent and classy.

The second CD is a bit darker, deeper and more underground. But here again Fanciulli's style is familiar creating a mix which treads no new ground. The music is enjoyable and complex but holds no surprises. There are 25 tracks on CD2 and the mixing is superb once more.

So what we have here is a compilation of slightly mainstream House split into a commercial mix and an underground mix. The large track selection and flawless mixing livens it all up by adding variety and change throughout. It does not get monotonous because the tracks change so quickly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2014
Another good mix from both Nic and Balance. If your a fan of both then you will like this compilation and won't be disappointed. Some really good well thought out tunes, with a good flow and consistent throughout. A good buy and will listen again and keep it in my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2016
GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2014
If you like Nic Fanciulli? it's a well worthy addition to your collection A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2012
Another outstanding mix in a long line of releases from Balance. Balance 021 see's Nick Fanciulli take his turn (long over due IMO). I'm always concerned when I see lots of tracks on comps as sometimes they can seem all over the place. That's not the case, both CD's are packed full of quality house. Not strong on vocals but a few samples here and there. None the less its the quality of the track selection and the mixing which leads to a smooth compilation. Expect to pack for the sun sets on the white isle after listening to this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2012
I think fans of Nic Fanciulli will feel somewhat disappointed by this offering as neither disc captures his live performances. Cd 1 starts off in a promising fashion combining deep & tech house with techno, and locks into a rolling groove, but just doesn't step up to the next level to take the listener further along the aural journey.

As for cd2, this is really is quite mediocre: the tracks are all from his own label Saved, and really are not of the quality to represent the Balance mix series, which itself is to showcase cutting edge djs & producers. The mix bumbles along but doesn't go anywhere and the tracks lead the mix into quite a flat a tone, invoking bored. I dislike that he's used the second disc to promote his own label off the back of one the best mix series; if you do buy it, i recommend playing cd 2 first, as its flatter in tone, and would be better as the warmup mix, whereas cd 1 has a more upbeat "club" feel to it.

If you really want to buy this album, wait until the price comes down or even buy it secondhand, as it's definitely not worth paying the full price for it. Better still, go watch/listen to him live to really appreciate how good a selector & programmer he really is. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2012
I flicked through cd 1 and half of cd 2 and couldn't listen to any more.Re-packed and returned to Amazon pronto!!
I've heard great sets in the past from Nic Fanciulli- This is definately not one of them. As bad if not even worse than his very poor Global Underground effort.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2012
My favourite compilation for a long time, love it love it. Everything is seamlessly mixed and the track selection is just perfect. cd 1 can be listened to in almost any situation, whereas CD2 showcases the excellent saved records and gets you in the mood for real four to the floor action.

Buy this, you won't regret it!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Balance 029
£12.99
Balance 25
£12.46

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)