Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
54
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2012
Firstly a warning, this is supposed to contain the 'complete' set of series one episodes, but it does not. Episode 4 'Meet Captain America' is not present on any of the DVDs in this set. It is worth pointing out that none of the individual volumes, when purchased seperately, contain this episode either; although it has been broadcast on television many times before. Also I have noted that this episode is present on the U.S. (NTSC Region 1) volume 1 DVD, which makes it even stranger that it is missing from the UK (European PAL Region 2) volume 1 DVD. If it wasn't for this oversight, I would have given this product five stars.

The Avengers Earth's Mightiest Heroes TV series is a truly brilliant depiction of the Avengers greatest exploits. It contains stories with truly great depictions of everyones favourite Avenger characters, which are portrayed superbly. Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, The Hulk, Wasp, Ant Man, Hawkeye, Black Panther, Black Widow, Nick Fury, they are all in there. They are all both believable whilst being reasonably true to the originals. They square of against some of the greatest enemies the Avengers have ever faced. Hydra, AIM, The Masters of Evil, Kang The Conquerer, Ultron, Loki, and many more, get the full treatment with some incredible story arcs that overlap and intertwine throughout the series. The animation is very well done and has a modern high end feel to it (not CGI thank god), and the acting is spot on.

With regards to the DVD product itself, it is very basic. It is just four DVDs in a DVD case. The case itself is not great, because the DVDs overlap, which makes it fidly to get them in and out. It is far from the best design I have seen when it comes to squeezing four DVDs into a single case. It could also really do with an inlay, or at the least something that tells you which episodes are on which DVD. So if there were marks for presentation they would be very low. Frankly it is very disappointing to see the lack of effort that has gone into the product considering how great the content is.

Overall if you are a fan of the Marvel Universe or The Avengers in particular, this is a must own product, it really does not get any better than this. The Avengers movie is utterly awesome (I have seen it already), and this series is awesome too with a lot more content than the movie (at least 9 hours worth here).
99 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
If you like other superhero series such as Justice League,Batman The Brave and The Bold and Wolverine and The X-Men this should be right up your street as it has great writing and animation which kids (and adults) of all ages should love.

Definitely a must buy for comic book fans, now if only they'd do the same for Young Justice I'd be very happy!

Edit: Thanks to the review by P.Draper I now know that this boxset is missing an episode, namely ep 4 Meet Capatin America. I urge anyone who is thinking of or already has purchased this item to contact Disney to find out why this is missing and if it will ever be rectified.

The only contact I could find was: help@disney.co.uk and it has now been confirmed that the missing episode will not be released in this country for reasons, so far, unknown.

If you're buying this for young kids they may not notice but for the older kids among us it's just not good enough so I'll be waiting for a full complete season to be released be it here or overseas.

Five stars for the product, 1 star for Disney not providing what they are selling.

**UPDATE**
As numerous people have said this now does include all the episodes despite what Disney said, so it really is a no brainer, buy this and hopefully they will release a complete second season release!

Just check it does have the missing episode in case there are still old copies floating about.
1010 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2012
Finished watching these last night; I just KNEW that when the Avengers are stuck on Asgard that Iron Man would somehow get a new suit of armour and they made me wait till almost the end of the series to make me see it!

Iron Man's Asgardian armour.... It's nifty.

I also enjoyed the Hulk's presence here in this incarnation of the Avengers - I was hooked when Jade Jaws walks in with the Red Ghost's Super XXXXX (sorry, don't want to spoil it for you!) and threw them on the floor. For a pedantic old fanboy like me, I'd like to know how the Hulk never reverts back to being Bruce Banner when all of the excitment of battle's calmed down as well as just how on earth is the Hulk kept busy???

Older fans of Earth's Mightiest Heroes will remember that the Hulk only lasted in the original comic book lineup for two (2) issues, leaving in issue 2 after he realised how hurtful his team mates comments were during his limbo swaps with the Space Phantom (confused? Don't be; just accept it and move on) so having Banner's alter-ego hang around and rather handily be the team's ultimate weapon DOES make for a very amusing and entertaining cartoon so, I'm not going to quibble in that respect.

Also, Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes has the Black Panther (I'm all for diversity myself; can we also have the Falcon too, please?) which is great; his costume re-design is terrific - far superior to his Ultimate Avengers suit (bare arms???).

While there's a missing episode*, it can be viewed on Youtube so unless you want to invest in a R1 edition of disc one of this series, there's more than enough here to keep you thoroughly entertained. Mind you, where was Ms. Marvel? She's previewed in the special features on the 2nd individually available disc of this series...

*"Meet Captain America". See other comments here on Amazon regarding this.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
I love watching on Disney XD but Disney XD is not the best way to see the show (for me) as the scheduling always seems to be over the place The DVD set brings all of the first season into one long run of episodes and what a wonderful run of stories with Zemo, Enchantress, Loki, Ultron and so on. The Avengers are not the standard Avengers (Cap, Wasp, Thor etc) but a fine cast of animated characters. The Wasp, is in particular, my favourite character in the entire series. Some really epic tales and for any Avengers or Marvel fan, this is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
I was a little put off by reviewers with sets that didn't feature "Meet Captain America", but all was well with mine.

As a whole, I've found DC animated features to be superior with Marvel winning at live action.

Thankfully this set is unlike Marvel's anime-style features and more akin to the Justice League animated series.

If you're enjoying Marvel's current big screen output this is well worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
My teenage daughters (aged 14 and 18) love The Avengers cartoons on TV at the moment, but I was so fed up of our Sky planner being full up with episodes they'd recorded to watch later I bought the DVD out of sheer desperation! For £10 you get every one of the cartoon episodes currently being shown on TV, which has resulted in two happy girls and a bit more space in the Sky planner for me! So we all win, and I'd say that was worth five stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
I'm not going to comment on the quality of the actual content, because we all know how good that is!

I just want to clarify that I have received a copy including the previously missing episode four. I assume that Amazon now have new stock.

I also want to say that the set comprises of four DVDs, not just one - as stated in the description!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
Avengers Earths Mightiest Heroes is the best superhero show (for me) since the 90s X Men.
Its perfect viewing for kids, or older fans like myself with beautiful hand drawn animation,.great character design, superb voice acting and exciting plots with plenty of Marvel cameos thrown into the mix. Season one was fantastic and I eagerly await season 2.
If you are a fan of this show you must buy this if can spare the cash, please don't stream or illegally download the episodes- support The Avengers as this show is very likely going to be cancelled when season 2 wraps up.
Its the best kids TV show today along with The Clone Wars, and it needs our support to keep it running.
The viewing figures are decent enough,the folk at Disney XD are close to making a stupid, stupid decision.
review image review image
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
It is amazing what you can do with a cartoon. The stories come fast and furious with your favourite Avengers making appearances.
It will fill the gap between the movies and also introduce you to story arcs familiar to the comic book fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
FANTASTIC CARTOON!!!

It's been years, literally, since a cartoon has been so well put together.

"Earth's Mightiest Heroes" IS Marvel magic. This incarnation has a fantastic mix of the comic Universe(s), as well as a touch of the more recent movie magic.

The storylines are pulled mainly from the original comics and are, in my opinion, all the better for the rewriting.

The animation is crisp and smoothly done and the character designs are excellent, I particularly like the Captain America, Iron man and Thor costume designs.

The voice-over artists have excelled themselves with Eric Loomis playing Tony Stark (Iron man) to a T! Just the right blend of sarcasm, sass and confidence. (A shame he's not continuing on with the next cartoon incarnation)

This boxset is excellent value for money, your getting a staggering 546 minutes for under £10 (although I got it on special offer).

Highly recommend this for kids and Marvel (adult) Nuts alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse