Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
13
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£21.10
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2012
Australian author Birmingham has concluded the saga begun in the excellent 'Without Warning' now seemingly titled the 'Disappearance' trilogy. However it shares similar faults to his earlier 'Axis of Time' series. The last in that seemed to be rushed and unfinished. With the conclusion of this trilogy one feels that he missed the chance to really examine a world without the Superpower USA. The action is limited to the USA and Australia with hardly any mention of the rest of the world and there does seem to be some padding as the story over 500 pages drags rather, compared with the earlier volumes. Read it for completeness but dont expect too much. However there is a tiny hint that there may be more to come.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
John Birmingham seems to struggle a bit with the final Act. After the High Concept of Without Warning, the kinetic battle scenes of After America, Angels of Vengeance seems like a coda simply written to tie up the back stories of the main characters; which would be OK if it was done in a particularly interesting way, but it all feels a bit contrived by the end. WW2.0 suffered from the same problem, well-written, but a sparse plot compared to what's come before. Would I recommend it? Yes because it does complete the trilogy, but I can't help wishing for something a bit more substantial.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The third (and presumably final) volume in the "After America" trilogy. The series started with the premise of a mysterious energy wave killing most of the inhabitants of the US while leaving everything else intact, but encased in the wave. Set back in the early 80's with the majority of the US Military in the Middle East it was a fascinating view of how the US no longer being in the picture would have an impact on the world economy and how the balance of power would shift and old grudges would play out. In the second book the wave goes away, leaving the US a treasure trove for, pirates, mercenaries and those who are anti-US. The main focus here being the battle to reclaim New York. Much of these stories are seen from the eyes of a number of key characters.
In Angels of Vengeance the focus is on three female characters (the author is fond of strong females) as they seek the vengeance of the title in the world post the wave. Mainly set in the US and Australia this has less of the big picture and more on the three ladies in question, one of whom is a very entertaining James Bond type. Quite a few of the characters we have met over the books make an appearance which was a nice touch.

I have to say I have enjoyed the trilogy, especially the first one which was both thought provoking and clever, the next two were always going to struggle to keep up with the wow factor of the first. You could stop after the first one if it is just the big picture changing world stuff you like, but I liked the characters and the scenario so I am pleased I stuck with this to the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Part 3 in the "Without warning" trilogy. We follow three female protagonists on missions of vengeance, hence the title.
As always with Birmingham, the action is tense, bloody and decisive. He manages to create believable characters, often at odds with each other, each with his or her own justifications and agendas that seem reasonable enough when seen from their points of view.

What started out as a globe-encompassing story in "Without warning" has ended up, through "After America", as a story of personal (and in one case petty) vendettas. Characters from book one resurface, complete with their own backstories.
Without giving too much away, the book ends on a satisfying note but....

SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER ALERT! READ NO FURTHER IF YOU HAVEN'T ALREADY READ THE BOOKS!

Why do we never get an explanation of what the energy wave that laid waste to North America was?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
Four times longer than it needed to be

The ending was obvious pretty much from the start

Massively missed opportunity to describe what was going on in the wider world

Pretty dull story

Quick ending

Set up for a sequel

just churning them out now , just like Clancy did .

Shame
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
I have enjoyed all of Mr. Birminghams previous works, the WW 2.0 series was fantastic and hold a terrific pace all the way through the end. The first two books in this After america series was also pageturning stay-up-all-night books. So when I started reading this I really had a hard time believing that it was the same person who wrote it. It is painfully slow and dull the first 150 pages with one or two exceptions. I cannot for the life of me understand why we have to read a 10 page chapter about how someone rethinks what happened in the last books, or the endless descriptions on how he og she feels about losing this or that person in the last books. I'm all for that persons in books are not one-dimensional stereotypes, but these tedious pages feels very much like "fill-in". With the material that he has for this book it could easily have been in the last book with a 100 more pages, and would have made it a 5 star read.

I was all for pre-order and looking forward to Mr. Birminghams books the last 7-8 years, but I will be very carefull next time, because the read just got from one of those rides in a Ferrari with a professional racedriver till a trip with the public bus.

Buy it if you really need the closure, but do not get your expectations up.

Sorry
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
Agree with the other reviews - this really is a turgid and painful ending to a trilogy that started out with such promise. I normally devour books in a couple of days; this got painful and took weeks; weeks that I'll never get back. The story is dull, the characters are unsympathetic and boring and there are too many unanswered questions. In short, not good.

A shame, because I have really enjoyed the Author's other books very much.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
Not as involving as the other books in the series, however if you just read it as a stand alone novel it's not too bad. Plenty of action as always with this author, but the pace is not as gripping as usual.
The book became a bit pedestrian part way through and took a while to catch up again, not up to Mr. Birminghams usual standard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
A great third book in this brutal and polished story.
The characters we love are back and are as great , hard working , likeable and unlucky as ever.
Uncompromising and fast paced. Although one does feel the ending was somewhat rushed over. Also some major questions remain unanswered. Maybe time for a fourth book ?
Recommended ? Definitely. Left wanting more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
Felt like it was going through the motions, I didn't find the characters very believable, but the action kept me interested
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£20.55
£22.90

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)