Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
65
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2015
I thought it was ghosted very well, Fred appeared to be somewhat of an enigma, Yorkshire CCC appeared to have no morals where employment ws concerned (Trust it is much better now) If that is the way a loyal employee is appreciated they don't deserve to be in the County Championship as it was then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
This biography of the great Yorkshire and England cricketer is a fascinating read, for any one who is interested in cricket. It is also very informative and I learned a lot about the great man especially the truths and myths that surround this legendary cricketer. Well worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Paints a 'warts and all' account of the life and times of one of England's cricketing 'greats'. The nuts and bolts of cricket are interspersed with pathos and humour. What a contrast with the immense rewards on offer to the modern professional sportsman!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Revelatory warts and all account of a true Yorkie sporting hero. His intelligence and frustration caused him trouble, the class system of the '50s putting him 'in his place', but Fred's warmth, humour and honesty shine through. Strongly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
I am basing my review of this book on the opinions of the recipient who was given it for Father's Day. It is very well written and is guaranteed to keep a keen cricket fan quiet for hours. What more can you ask for?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Obviously an interesting character. A superb cricketer who, obviously, made one aware of it. Did not agree with his choice of language but he liked to portray himself as a tough Yorkshiremen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Thoroughly enjoyable insight into a legend of the game of cricket. By quoting friends and family was a good way of confirming, or not, the myths surrounding one of the country's sporting icons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Thought i knew it all about Fred well i was wrong.A brilliant bowler but not quiet a very nice man.The book is a great read worth every penny but be prepared to find Fred in warts and all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
It was a very good read.Entertaining and covered a period in cricket that i grew up with with a lot of insights into relationships that you would perhaps not have appreciated otherwise..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
Superb. A boyhood hero remembered, warts and all. We do not revere him as much as we should, a truly great bowler, he would have been unstoppable with todays central contracts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)