Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
129
4.5 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2012
I cannot praise this game enough. Sleeping Dogs is the first open world game in a long while for me that has provided everything it said it would, the story is very entertaining, gripping and makes you want to keep playing as you dive deeper and deeper into Hong Kong's dirty underbelly as undercover cop Wei Shen. One big highlight for me is the combat system which makes SD stand out above over open world games, (GTA, Saints Row etc.) as a martial artist you are able to pull off many beautiful visually, appealing moves which makes it that much more satisfying when you win against a handful of enemies. As you continue through the game you are able to upgrade new moves which help you gain a big edge over your enemies.

But hang on there, aside from the main storyline there is still much to do in the form of cases (you are a cop after all), favours for citizens and allies around the city and races; which you unlock when you buy better and faster vehicles (which there are an over-abundance of). Also including fight clubs which range in difficulty and will test your skills as a fighter.

The voice acting is brilliant and the characters involved in the storyline are actually interesting giving the player another incentive to continue playing. I hope I've sold SD to whoever is reading and if you've played it I hope you agree with me. But I guess in the end personal experiences when playing video games always vary between players so please tell me what you thought of the game as it's my personal pick for best game of 2012. WELL DONE SQUARE ENIX!!!
44 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
I pre-ordered this game and recieved it the day it came out (which I rarely do) and I'm still only about half way through the story! Set in Hong Kong it has a completely different take on city life than the likes of GTA IV (which is certainly showing its age nowadays). The gameplay is also much improved to Square Enix's previous foray into the open-world genre - Just Cause 2. It is smoother, faster and looks very impressive. I would probably go as far as saying its a strong merge of the Uncharted series with GTA IV. Improving on both as well as giving it an entirely new setting. The fighting is simple, fast paced and extremely satisfying. So much so that I didnt even fire a weapon until I had racked up 3 hours of gameplay! One particular thing I was impressed with was how money is used in the game. Everything is proportionate and although I've managed to rack up a million HK dollars so far, I could quite easily blow the lot on a couple of supercars. Hong Kong is massive probably about the same map size as GTA IV, maybe a little bigger but there is plenty more to do. I'm constantly getting distracted by the side missions when driving to a story mission. I could go a week and only progress through one mission its that varied and interesting! The game is challenging but not so much that it makes you turn off. All in all very good. On a side note - just downloaded Just Cause 2 (Square Enix again) and I'm having a whale of a time. Square Enix are the publishers to watch, particularly with Hitman Absolution. If you've got this far thanks for reading!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Sleeping Dogs comes at a time when every new open world franchise has been exhausted, however what makes this game great is that it attempts to top the rest by borrowing from the best in the genre, taking cues from many recent open-world games - from Arkham City to Saint's Row (which I haven't played yet but heard it was similar)- to make for an extremely satisfying and awesome experience. It has some amazingly fun fighting, driving and shooting gameplay mechanics that are surprisingly addictive, you also have tremendous amount of content through side-missions and a compelling and interesting narrative with the main storyline. At first, it certainly does appear to be inspired by Rockstar’s popular GTA series, with protagonist Wei Shen thrown into a life of crime and asked to do horrendous things to progress the plot. But quickly it reveals itself to be much more than that. Early on it's explained that Shen is actually an undercover cop, sent into Hong Kong to climb the ranks of the Triads and take them down from the inside, creating a conflicted protagonist that's easy to sympathize with.

Shen has understandable motives that extend far beyond simply trying to make a bunch of money. He’s not an amoral killer – he’s a cop thrown into the middle of something big, and that stress gets to him quickly, creating a well-developed, likable character. Now the combat system in the game is probably the best I've seen in any other game, you have different martial arts moves which can later be unlocked by finding these jade statues which can be found around the map of the Hong Kong area, these are later used in a special dojo where you can train these special moves. It's basicly an homage to all those HK flicks from the past 30 years, add a bit of John Woo style gunplay in a GTA style game and you'll have an idea of what to expect.

Sleeping Dogs gunplay is robust, even if it is in favor of fists (or knives, or tire-irons, or fish). The combat features a cover system and slow-motion that triggers whenever you leap over an object in the environment, allowing you to clear rooms without an issue. It’s always fast, it’s always rewarding, and it’s always fun, pulling from the best in the genre. Better yet, using melee on an enemy while holding a weapon triggers unique attacks, like Shen running up his foe’s chest and then kicking off in slow motion for an awesome action-movie attack. Hand-to-hand combat is typically terrible in open world games however Sleeping Dogs does it right. The game rises to the top, surpassing nearly every other sandbox-style game. Every single action is so entertaining that you would go looking for trouble just as an excuse to use your fun melee takedowns, awesome gunplay, and fantastic driving skills. Thankfully, the game provides plenty opportunities to use these skills, both in the game’s lengthy campaign – which takes some 15 hours to complete – and the plentiful side missions – which can easily tack on another 10. Doing favors for pedestrians or busting drug-dealers will also keep you constantly engaged, making it difficult to ever put down the controller. It was definitely worth checking out, highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
Do you want to be an undercover cop who runs around hong kong like Jackie chan punching and fly kicking people in a somewhat GTA style adventure? this is your game then!

Very much like GTA in the sense of missions, and gameplay , basically no weapons just martial arts, but its a great game , Amazing graphics and good soundtrack

Hope they make a PS4 Sequel
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
I pre-ordered this game and recieved it the day it came out (which I rarely do) and I'm still only about half way through the story! Set in Hong Kong it has a completely different take on city life than the likes of GTA IV (which is certainly showing its age nowadays). The gameplay is also much improved to Square Enix's previous foray into the open-world genre - Just Cause 2. It is smoother, faster and looks very impressive. I would probably go as far as saying its a strong merge of the Uncharted series with GTA IV. Improving on both as well as giving it an entirely new setting. The fighting is simple, fast paced and extremely satisfying. So much so that I didnt even fire a weapon until I had racked up 3 hours of gameplay! One particular thing I was impressed with was how money is used in the game. Everything is proportionate and although I've managed to rack up a million HK dollars so far, I could quite easily blow the lot on a couple of supercars. Hong Kong is massive probably about the same map size as GTA IV, maybe a little bigger but there is plenty more to do. I'm constantly getting distracted by the side missions when driving to a story mission. I could go a week and only progress through one mission its that varied and interesting! The game is challenging but not so much that it makes you turn off. All in all very good. On a side note - just downloaded Just Cause 2 (Square Enix again) and I'm having a whale of a time. Square Enix are the publishers to watch, particularly with Hitman Absolution. If you've got this far thanks for reading!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
S T O R Y

You play as Wei Shen, an undercover cop for the HKPD tasked with infiltrating a powerful Triad clan. Wei's role as a cop is to dismantle the Sun On Yee's organisation from within and fight against Hong Kong's Triad dominance. Things are not as easy as it seems, as Wei's loyalty will be tested by obeying the codes of his Triad's brethren, but also not forgetting that his true path remains with serving justice to Hong Kong's crime underbelly.

Wei's journey is powerful and the conflict within the Sun On Yee is a strong aspect. Wei has presence whenever he is in the spotlight, and there are plenty of connections that link him to some of Hong Kong's nasty individuals.

G R A P H I C S & S O U N D

Hong Kong is an incredibly immersive world, divided into a number of districts, jazzed up by its bright lights. The vibrant neon-lit style of the city is the strongest component throughout the experience. The artists have done an amazing job creating Wei Shen's playground. At first glance, the map size may seem underwhelming, but it serves the needs of the campaign extremely well. Each district within Hong Kong carries its own identity. The slums and working districts linger around the harbour areas, home to dangerous hobos and rotting shacks.

The Sun On Yee Triad are a mean looking bunch and this is further exemplified by the stylistic character models. Wei displays great tattoo design, smothering his torso and arms. Add some cool outfits and players can create some outrageous fashion motifs. Animations are fluid and Wei reacts with surrounding environment in a competent fashion. The combat animations are extremely slick in motion, and the environmental are not only brutal, but the violent pay off is pretty awesome.

NPCs go about their daily business, shopping in fancy stores, trading at busy markets and enjoying the busy nightlife. The voice acting is backed up by some serious celebrity talent, including Kelly Hu, Lucy Liu, Tom Wilkinson and Emma Stone. Sound design is strong throughout the game, especially during the hard-hitting combat sequences. The soundtrack is a mix of funky Chinese pop, backed up by a sweet selection of radio stations.

Unfortunately, the presentation is tarnished by NPCs which look like plastic dolls, but this is upon closer inspection. Certain textures and surfaces can seem a little rough around the edges and jagged when panning the camera in different directions.

G A M E P L A Y

The story missions are varied and Wei will engage enemies in a number of brutal ways. Wei will be tasked with chasing down criminals, engaging in fist fights and raging across the streets in frantic car chases. Play style is important and will determine how your actions are affecting the city. Killing innocents and causing damage will increase your Triad points, and acting more like a 'cop' will help increase your Cop status. Players will have several 'apartments' where they can change outfits and complete certain mission objectives.

The combat system serves up a great selections of martial arts moves and bone-crunching takedown. The combat system revolves around counter-attacking and timing each strike. Stringing together combos is great fun and some of the finishing moves are pure eye candy. The environments can be used as weapons, allowing to perform such carnage as smacking an enemy's head against a solid surface, or even dicing one up by forcing their head into a high-speed fan. As players progress, new combat moves can be unlocked and deadly finishing attacks will radicalise the gameplay. Martial arts clubs are available as a way of players to test their fighting resolve and go up against waves of enemies.

A decent selection of bikes and cars are available for Wei to get stuck into. Vehicles can also be purchased and stored for easy access. You'll feel like a Hollywood action star when taking jumping behind the steering wheel, which allows to jump from car-to-car, going Rambo-crazy with firearms and gunning down pursuing Triad gangs. Vehicles feels sturdy and stable, which applies to both bikes and cars. Sleeping Dogs takes a more subtle approach when it comes to guns and shoot 'em up style gameplay. Firefights are usually controlled affairs, which involve large scale shootouts between Triad gangs and providing support during these encounters. Slo-mo shooting options allow Wei to target multiple enemies and dish out plenty of bloody mayhem. A cover system is also in place, but enemies can approach from any direction and make your life hell.

Away from the story missions there's plenty to do, including: busting drug dealers by ridding territories of gangs, helping citizens and Triad buddies around the city, taking part in street races, and helping the HKPD track down naughty criminals. Wei will also put his detective skills by hacking surveillance systems, opening secure locks and collecting evidence to help convict criminals.

The vehicle handling can feel a little underwhelming when it comes to drifting and cornering at breakneck speed. The combat system lacks the free flow quality of the recent Batman games, it's brutal, but it left me wanting more at times.

O V E R A L L

Sleeping Dogs is brimming with content and this fictional Hong Kong has been realised to great effect. The story depicting the inner quarrels of the Sun On Yee is gripping, but support characters offer very little to the events at times. The graphics boast colour and promote Hong Kong's glamorous setting, but the texture quality needs a little more gloss. The gameplay is diverse and there is plenty to keep players occupied, especially with the adrenaline fueled car chases.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
Great game sort of like PS2 GTA if you will (graphics wise). Its more of a fighting and missions sort of game you cant buy a gun though if you need one for a mission it will be provided or you can take one off an enemy.
The bad side is the camera angles and a slight glitch in the game as I jumped into the sea managed to get out but wasn't able to climb back onto the road, the same happened during a fight I got stuck in the boxing ring and couldn't get out, player ran to the edge and kinda kept running on the spot but wasn't able to jump to get out which can be frustrating as you then have to reload the game and start again from wherever it last saved.

What also made me laugh is how its set in Hong Kong but most of the characters seem to have an American accent with British hosts on the radio shows. Also the people walking around for instance when you come out of your flat theres women talking about how good her boyfriend is in bed (I often hang around just to listen to their convo it cracks me up!).

Aside from that its a good game I'd say its easier than GTA but along the same lines in style etc so if you like those sort of games then this one is for you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A mix of gunplay, break-neck speed driving, and sandbox world exploring provides an enjoyable gaming experience here in the style of the "Grand Theft Auto" franchise. Think "Grand Theft Auto Does China"...this is what "Mafia II" really should have been.

Protagonist Wei Shen is a former San Francisco cop who moves back to his native China and is pulled into helping the Hong Kong Police take down the Triads (the Chinese mafia). Wei is still reeling from the overdose and death of his sister Mimi, who was led to drugs by the very same men Wei is intent to take down one by one.

Just like other games in the same vein (GTA/Saint's Row), this game is completely open world, and you can either focus on the primary questlines (tasks for the Triads, or the Police), or you can go around looking for collectables, taking down random gangs just for the hell of it, or helping people through random encounters. There are various races (both bike and car), and there are also new martial arts moves you can unlock by finding statues. Hilariously, there is also a Karaoke mini-game where you can control Wei in trying to sing some well known tracks by artists such as Air Supply and Pat Benetar (although there aren't many missions this is required). In this game, rushing is ill-advised as exploring and taking the time to participate in side-missions and expanding your skills will help much more in the eventual outcome (not to mention, focusing on the main storyline will get you through the game at a ridiculously quick pace leaving the ending feeling a little anti-climatic and you feeling cheated).

The graphics here aren't exceptional, but with a game with so much content, I couldn't expect anything more. While not as graphically beautiful as GTA IV, the games' Hong Kong is beautiful and rich with things to look at, colours are rich and vibrant, and there is no shortage of NPCs wandering around to make the world feel more "alive". Occasionally, you will see the odd NPC here and there looking a little 'boxy' in shape, and the draw distance is quite hazy at times, but then, the content more than makes up for it.

I've played a few games in the same style (Mafia II, GTA IV, L.A. Noire, etc) but never has the driving element felt so natural and fluid (I don't know how to explain this, other than in the other games, driving occasionally felt a little clunky and resistant regarding movement and turning corners). The only thing about driving in this game that really irked me is that there isn't any allowance to change the camera angle while driving. You CAN see behind the car by pushing down on the right stick, but however, you cannot see from above, nor the side, making it sometimes tricky with reversing in tight spots.

The martial arts element of the game is excellent but not overly tricky. Instead of having the gamer learn longwinded combo keys (those who've played fighting games will know what I mean), a lot of the combos are usually based around the "square" key (on PS3, anyway) and it's usually just a case of remembering the tap sequence (for instance, tap the key, then hold it down for one move to break a leg, or tap, tap, hold to stun an opponent). I found this a much easier way to learn the special moves than sitting there hitting triangle, square, x, x, triangle in the right order). Generally speaking, the martial art element of the game is easy to learn, but takes a while to properly master (be sure to note which enemies do what to you - certain enemies can't be efficiently counter attacked for instance). Take your time and hit up random gangs and the fight clubs to give you the opportunity to learn how your enemies operate, it's truly worth it in the end.

The voice acting is decent (a few characters do have rather questionable accents and sound horribly stereotypical but try to overlook it), the cut scene acting is pretty naff at times (characters move a little stiffly) but never mind.

As with other games like this, there is a radio feature in the cars and on the bikes, but there isn't much to offer in the way of music on them and for the most part, it's in Chinese (no surprise there, lol). The music in the game I found to be rather unmemorable and not really enjoyable (to me anyway) but this is only a perk to the game and not really vital to the gameplay itself.

To be honest, the game is exciting, and entertaining and offers a lot to keep you occupied. For people looking for a sandbox driving game that really offers similar to what GTA IV does, then this is for you (but don't expect it to be as massive, challenging and as time consuming as GTA IV all the same). Well worth the asking price and very entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
Fantastic action game with lots of fighting moves and endless great missions. The graphics of Hong Kong was amazing as well as the story taking you deeper into the game really enjoyed playing this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
'Sleeping Dogs' is pure class and it's good to see some decent competition to GTA.

+ Positives
. Originality, fantastic story and characters
. Excellent control / fighting system
. Using environment to complete brutal finishing moves
. Good combination / balance between martial arts and gun battles
. The driving around Hong Kong is brilliant fun with superbly designed sport cars / motor bikes which handle great and are fast fast fast!!! (not like GTA)
. The races are great fun and addictive
. Loved the varied systems in planting surviellance devices
. The side missions are varied and fun

Improvments for hopefully a sequal
. Although there are plenty of hours of gaming in sleeping dogs I would like the sequal to be much longer
. Like to see the use of more varied weapons ie samuria swords, nunchucks, granades and to utalize these in finishing moves
. More Guns!!!
. Expand fighting system and finsihing moves
. Make the enviroment larger for more exploring

Conclussion
You will love this game, and if you're like me and dying for GTA5 this will tie you over nicley in the meantime. Can't wait for Sleeping Dogs 2 and hopefully the developers will listen to the comments and make another epic!!

ENJOY!!!
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

Customers also viewed these items

£17.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)