Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 July 2016
This 2012 second season sees the historical figure of Spartacus [Liam McIntyre] -a Thracian gladiator who led a slave uprising against the Roman Republic, having now broken out of the Ludis [gladiator school] the guys and gals are being pursued by Praetor Gaius Claudius Glaber but can Spartacus maintain control of his ever growing band?
This series sees Spartacus hitting the road so we now get a chance to see a bit of scenery –other than the usual babes and hunks. Whilst the historical accuracy may be a bit vague this still remains gripping entertainment, capturing the spirit of the subject with it’s superb costumes [were they exist]. This uses the slo-mo techniques -so effectively used in the prequel, to good effect in the opening episodes, especially the lashings of squirty blood spatter flying everywhere. The seductive, depraved and licentious Ilithyia [Viva Bianca] has now slipped even deeper into her own madness as Glaber’ power grows and there is a surprise return character.
The ten 50 minute episodes are spread over four discs, audio is 2.0 default, but use 5.1 if you can while the series finale and extras are contained on the last disc being mainly making of and commentaries. Rated 18 this features decapitations and nudity [including full frontal] and swearing throughout. If you can look past the blood, gore and sex, this is a tale of love, love lost, friendships and betrayal.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2012
Oh yes! Spartacus is back and in fine form. There has been much written about the sad death of the original Spartacus actor (Andy Whitfield) and concerns that the new series could suffer from viewers struggling to connect with Liam McIntyre's portrayal. Of course it cannot be denied that this is a big change through very unfortunate circumstances, but there is no denying that the team behind Spartacus have really endeavored to keep the momentum and excitement of the series going. After the first few episodes we become accustomed to our new Spartacus and we are taken on a roller-coaster ride which is just as exciting as anything in the first series (or Gods of the Arena) and we are once again rooting for Spartacus and his comrades and despising the Romans.

I am half way through the series and I'm loving it. No spoilers here but certain events occur and story-lines introduced that viewers of previous series will be very happy to see...

I recommend it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2012
I've been blown away by this "third" installment. It takes a while to get going but when it does, it's brilliant.
It's very, very violent in places, & shows the viewer just what damage a sword
can do to a body in the "right" hands. None of your Errol Flynn shananigans here, &
certainly not for the squeamish. The story sticks close to the "true", known events
as best it can, the characters are people that you actually care about, even some of the baddies, who
play their parts very well. It's feel is very 300 & arty throughout, the lighting is perfect, & the choreography
for the fight scenes really sets the adrenaline pumping.
Really can't wait for the 4th series next year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2014
It feels a bit mean to criticise Liam McIntyre for his performance, as I have heard many people do. It must have been terrifying to take on the role under such circumstances. There's nothing wrong with him, it's just that he's not Andy Whitfield. It makes watching this series initially a little disappointing, though really it shouldn't be. The same things that made Blood and Sand so much fun are all present and correct, but it feels wrong somehow. Like asking a new partner to dress up like your ex. Or something like that. Still a lot of fun to be had here, and McIntyre does grow into the role admirably. If you didn't like the previous series you won't find anything new to fall in love with. Inappropriately placed sex scenes and fights that would last only a few seconds if it weren't for the incessant slo-mo still grate on occasion, but it's still enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2015
Very disappointed to find that there are no subtitles, in this edition! I now see that the web page does not promise them, but nowadays one expects them - especially when other Spartacus series have them. They would be especially useful, in scenes introducing items, ranks or customs, the names of which one is unfamiliar with - which are bound to come up, in a series set in ancient Rome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2013
Spartacus Vengeance picks up where Blood and Sand left off, however, there is one big difference. We have a new Spartacus.

The publishing company had to make a choice that could not be helped as the lead actor from Blood and Sand fell extremely ill, would Vengeance have been better if Andy Whitfield had resumed his role as Spartacus? Most definitely.

Is Spartacus Vengeance still a great show even with a new lead actor? Most definitely.

The picture quality of this Blu Ray is breathtaking.

The only negative for me is that there is no subtitles whatsoever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2017
full of good action one to watch if you like this sort of film
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2013
just brilliant, brilliant, brilliant. just as goosd as the previous two seasons which I reviewed separately. The same production team should now do a series about "Julius Caeasar" including the aftermath of Spartacus's death and continue with the life of Caesar using the same surviving characters from Spartacus.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2016
Lots of blood gore sex nudity etc this is the 2nd part of the Spartacus trilogy.
Starts where the 1st series ends
Not made for history enthusiasts but for shock and awe fans.....goes over board at times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2018
great film and great action,swift delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)