Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
47
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 4 March 2012
Let me start by saying I have no interest in football... but don't let that put you off this absolutely brilliant book. If nothing else, this book gives justification to all those late drunken nights in the pub where we all have our best ideas.

Up Pohnpai is a fascinating read both funny and touching, it is truly mind boggling what Paul and Matt manage to achieve and the story of the Pohnpai football team will hold you captivated as you journey from toad infested pitches to the bright lights of Guam's polished football field of dreams.

The author's style is funny and personal and you will quickly build up a strong empathy for both the Island of Pohnpai and its future footballing stars. Although outside of my normal reading I cannot recommend this book enough so pick up a copy, sit back and enjoy the ride.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
When i read an article about this in FourFourTwo magazine i thought it was a brilliant and madcap idea,having blazed through this book my initial thought was spot on,a great read not only for football fans,but travellers,and anyone who does'nt know of the football loving toad community.As a disillusioned football fan it was superb to read the 2010 World Cup Final being compared to Guam v North Mariana Islands.Funny and sometimes moving.Loved it from cover to cover
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
Heard about this through 'The Modern Mann' podcast and had to check it out - initially was a bit put off by the narrator but really entertaining, make sure you are not distracted though as sometimes the players names might get mixed up in your head. Overall, can't recommend enough, its such an amazing story, and you'll be following pohnpei forever!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2012
Picked this up on kindle after seeing Paul on Soccer AM ages ago and finally got around to reading it. Wish I'd read it much earlier as it turned out to be a cracking book detailing his attempts to bring football to Pohnpei. An enjoyable book filled with some moments of real humour and you get a real sense of his desperation at times to try and make things work.

Would recommend to those even if you didn't have a great interest in football.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
What an amazing story ... if it was fiction you'd put it aside because 'it's too farfetched and total nonsense'! But, in fact it's a TRUE story, related with humour and charm showing what CAN be achieved with tenacity, resourcefulness and ... did I mention ... HUMOUR!!!

Well done to these two enterprising young men, to their back up team, their support network and their families ...

Treat yourself to this book ... ENJOY!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2012
I don't do drugs, but I'd love to try betel nut. This book will also make you want to do many other insane things. Engrossing, amusing and inspirational. I tend to get through two books a year. I've devoured this one in 4 days (well I'll be finishing it tonight actually). Fantasy becomes ambition, becomes reality, becomes responsibility.

Even though it's one of the most surreal true-life stories you could read, it is told in a way which is so easy to relate to because Paul's unwavering honesty makes it clear he is a normal bloke, just with a vivid imagination, Scott Parker-esque determination and an extra sprinkling of audacity. When sickly American TV proclaims that you can make dreams come true if you work hard enough, Paul Watson is testament to that (and Matt too).

It's no requirement to be a football fan for this at all. It's a life, travel and culture story as much as anything else. Buy it and you shan't be disappointed (unless it gets lost in the post).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
I'd thoroughly recommend Up Pohnpei - it's an excellent book that's not just for sports fans. It's particularly refreshing to read about a true underdogs story on the other side of the world, and you'll learn a great deal about Micronesia too. Watson proves "the soul of football" is still out there - even if you have to go to the ends of the earth to find it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
I never review books, but this book is fantastic.

Even if you don't have too much interest in football, its a story we can all relate to in some way, shape or form.

Two lads with a dream, fantastic book. Really inspiring, they've changed football for the better in Pohnpei.

Would recommend this book to anybody, great read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
This book is truly amazing, read through twice already, not bored of it as it's similar to what I want to do later in my life, truly inspirational the leaps and bounds that pohnpei took in football after a self-proclaimed amateur coach like paul Watson just went over there to try and get an international cap and ended up changing the course of football in the whole country. Shows how powerful football is in the world with just one man and his best friends hunger for the game changing a nation, a small nation by all means but still a nation. Even if you don't like football it's still an extraudinary book on one mans travel to a place where you probably never heard of and by the look of a £2000 flight from England won't be keen to visit so why not read about it :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
Fantastic read, about a footballing nation I'm sure very few had ever heard of. I'm tempted to book a flight out to Pohnpei to see how the team are progressing! Just goes to show what can be achieved with hard work and a strong team spirit.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)