Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars
128
2.8 out of 5 stars
The Wicker Tree [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 May 2017
I read some negative reviews about this film and glad I ignored these and bought it. An excellent film, a bit more lighthearted that the Wicker Man and with Honeysuckle Weeks in a sex scene which might disconcert those who are fans of Foyle's War! There are a few twists and turns and enough action to make this very gripping viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2017
Quirky little film,origional,gory,funny,and yes those pagan Scots need converting,laughd to tears with that one,i am half Scottish.and loved it so will you,have an open mind this is not the Wickerman,but a stand alone film to be enjoyed by those who love bizzare Cinema.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
I agree with others that this film is caught between black comedy/tongue in cheek sex romp & horror and does not really succeed at either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Probably shouldn't have been made!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
well pleased great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2016
Got it the other day watching tonight, seen it many years ago but only remember small bits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
Two American Evangelists go to rural Scotland and ... well, you know the rest. A sequel to cult film The Wicker Man and directed by the same man (Robin Hardy), the stop/start production difficulties obviously didn't help the production, neither did the injury to acting legend Christopher Lee (who was reduced to a small cameo). There are obvious problems here - weak leads, one obviously not American, a lack of a-list talent (the original had Lee, Britt Ekland, Edward Woodward, Ingrid Pitt etc), a lack of tension, danger, menace, there is none of the creepy atmosphere (or creepy music) of the original and this one even has jokey parts seemingly not in keeping with the story. You have to wonder why anybody bothered to make it. Unfortunately, there's no getting away from the fact that its predecessor looms large over the proceedings like a, erm ... giant Wicker Man. It will always be compared to it and as such it will always be inferior. The main problem however, is that we know what the ending will be - the original was so shocking because we never saw it coming and that is why it continues to be such a cult film today. All horror films these days have endings like that but not in 1973 they didn't. I first watched it when I was a teenager, my dad said, "watch that film, it's a good un". To say it blew the mind of an adolescent teen would be an understatement. There is no comparison between this and the original. Better than the American remake of The Wicker Man but that isn't saying much. Worth watching for the Scottish locations and the gorgeous Honeysuckle Weeks in the buff, apart from that ...

This is doing the rounds on the Horror Channel so save yourself a few bob and catch it there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
A Christian church in Dallas sends two of its youths to Scotland to convert the heathens that live there, some of which "don't even believe in angels!" I just love corny dialouge like that. Beth Boothby (Brittania Nicol) looks and sings like an angel. She will be accompanied by her cowboy boyfriend Steve (Henry Garrett). They are chaste "silver ring" promise keepers somewhat to the dismay of Steve.

Not having much luck in the city, the Texas couple is recruited to heathen Tressock by Delia Morrison (Jacqueline Leonard) and Sir Lachlan Morrison (Graham McTavish). Here they worship the ancient lunar goddess. On the island they are treated warmly. Lolly (Honeysuckle Weeks- not a porn name) plays up to Steve, she has taken over the seductress role of Brit Ekland.

I loved hearing Beth preach, "Jesus was greater than Rob Roy..." If you have seen any of the "Wicker Man" movies then you know how things evolve.

It was good to see Christopher Lee pass the baton, unfortunately this film wasn't as great as the original. The acting was fair, with some decent characters. Jack was my favorite.

If I had written this story I would have changed the ending to involve Jack and a "Don't mess with Texas" theme. That would have sold.

sex, nudity [Honeysuckle Weeks, Henry Garrett (rear), Brittania Nicol (rear) Misc. extras]
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
The Wicker Man 10/10. The Wicker Tree 1/10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2012
The other review here provides a helpful plot synopsis so I won't bother with any of that. Suffice to say, The Wicker Tree is more disappointing than I ever thought it could be. Terrible acting, clunky direction, naff music, unbelievable characters.

In the original, Howie's character was a believable, devout Christian - committed, horrified at Summerisle's pagan practices and living out a believable battle between his commitment to faith and all the temptations that Summerisle presents. In contrast, the Wicker Tree's Beth and Steve are shallow caricatures, lame stereotypes played for cheap laughs. Their mission to evangelise 'heathen Scotland' doesn't ring true. Relocating from a remote island to mainland UK removes any hint of genuine threat and isolation (you don't for one moment believe this place actually exists) and, given that Hardy is a Brit, that kind of lazy writing and directing is unforgivable. Clearly no research went in to trying to authentically present these places and characters - S+B's relationship is unconvincing from the first moment, their behaviour dubious, Beth's back-story is laughable and their methods of faith-sharing unconvincing guess work on Hardy's part. These things are also true of the characters' portrayal in Hardy's book (Cowboys for Christ) so it's no surprise that the film lazily regurgitates these errors. By the time their inevitable demise ensues, you've long ceased caring and you're just left hoping that the pay-off for these wretched cardboard cut-outs is worth it. It's not.

Clearly the Wicker Man is fantastical, but the joy and horror of it stems from the possibility that it could.. just be.. a true story. Tree, on the other hand, is like a poorly thought out play written by 15 year olds for a GCSE drama production. Everything that was bold, funny, scary, shocking and beautiful about the first film is (I assume unintentionally) mocked or (intentionally) rehashed. In 90 minutes there was one moving moment and only one genuinely (and intentionally) funny scene. Thematically, any attempt to comment on faith and religion, hope and virtue, sacrifice and naivete, love and death, nature and fear all go out of the window - if they were ever welcomed in to the room in the first place. The whole thing stinks. The music is tagged on, unmemorable and cringe-worthy. The comedy characters are woefully misjudged and their story arcs embarrassing. It doesn't matter how many breasts are thrust at the screen, there is zero erotic tension - Steve's temptation and subsequent actions are so ludicrous that Woodward would turn in his grave if he could see his character's virtues and struggles being so lazily lambasted.

Did I also mention: it's not at all scary. The Christopher Lee scene should have gone straight to the cutting room floor. The dialogue is naff. The acting is - for the most part and excluding Clive Russell - amateur. The rituals and rites of May Day and the Riding of the Laddie fail to engage or intimidate.

Pluses? The scenery is nice. The poster art is excellent. Nic Cage isn't in it - although I'd watch that sacrilegious Wicker Man remake 10 times before I ever sat down to watch this again. Why? because for other people to demonstrate sheer stupidity in tearing apart and misunderstanding the Wicker Man legend is one thing - for Robin Hardy to do it in such a cheap, tacky, boring, patronising way is something else entirely and he should be duly ashamed.

If you love the Wicker Man, curiosity will drive to you see this anyway - I'd be really interested to hear if people found it more bearable or less disappointing than I did. Am I being too harsh? Whatever - I won't be watching it again to find out.
88 Comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)