Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Catch .44 [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 September 2015
I had absolutely no idea what was going on in this movie until it was almost three quarters over by which time I was losing the will to live. Some excellent actors in it but the movie is absolutely dire with a very weak storyline.
I wish I had spent my money on something more worthwhile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2017
Bought this film because I love Bruce Willis moves good price great movie yippi kiay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2017
Ok movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2013
The title "Catch .44" appears to be some clever play on the phrase Catch 22, i.e. as in a double catch 22 as well as a .44 caliber bullet. The movie really isn't that clever, but pretends to be. I was confused by the beginning. The film opens with Bruce Willis (Mel) talking to an unseen person who he has worked with for seven years but doesn't trust...cue credits. The music is Mexican-Cowboy grindhouse stuff during the credits. We see Tes driving...Then we see three women in a diner, they are talking about living in a man's world , the apparent theme of the film, when they attempt to rob the place and one of them gets shot...more credits and the music is "Fox on the Run." We have ventured into some kind of "Pulp Fiction" diner scene flashback scenario. The names on the girls flash on the screen by their face, which has come to be the rule rather than the exception in modern action films.

Tes, the leader of the group, works at an exotic dance bar. They work for a drug dealer named Mel. The whole diner scene we saw earlier is about a drug deal. While there are cell phones, Mel talks on a red rotary dial phone to Tes in a remote phone booth, apparently something that still exists in Louisiana.
While the girls are driving to the restaurant, there is some subplot action that is going on that appears unrelated.

The movie swaps back and forth between the restaurant shoot-out action and various flashbacks leading up to the scene. The film is supposed to be a Tarantino style grindhouse, but doesn't really work that well as the characters aren't that great. There is no clever grindhouse dialouge. The flashback scenes don't work that well. Forest Whitaker uses different accents during the movie which doesn't appear to be by design. The movie lacked great action.

F-bomb, sex talk, brief strip club nudity
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 December 2011
Catch .44 is the story of Mel (Bruce Willis - Setup) - a crime lord in the unspecified deep south. He has sent his all-female hit squad consisting of Tes, Dawn & Kara (respectively; Malin Åkerman - Watchmen, Deborah Ann Woll & Nikki Reed - The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn) to a remote diner to intercept a drug-deal.

But when Mel's right hand guy - the chameleonic Ronny (Forest Whitaker - Panic Room) shows up and walks right into the ensuing Mexican standoff between the girls & Mel's man on the ground, Billy (Shea Whigham - The Lincoln Lawyer) nobody is quite sure who is double-crossing who, only one thing is clear; Mel is NOT going to be happy when he shows up...

Catch .44 is an odd film, mainly because we see the end at the beginning. We are thrown in at the deep end, understanding nothing of how the characters came to be in this predicament, as the flashbacks roll, they all bring us back to this scene and we see the same scenario from a multitude of camera angles again & again, adding something each time around. It's an intriguing technique that allows us to see the genesis of each of the characters reasons for being there. Upsettingly, Mel's opening line reveals who the bad guy is in all this, removing some of the tension but this is only crystal-clear in retrospect and is probably easily missed.

Nonetheless, Bruce Willis plays a fantastic aging-alcoholic-mobster and is truly chilling in his rendition of the eerily-calm Mel. The true star of the show here is Whitaker, who plays a man with multiple guises and is a terrifying psycho in his adoration for Tes (Åkerman). Everyone plays their role well with each scene being truly unpredictable - very refreshing. The direction is snappy (credit to Aaron Harvey) with multiple plays of the same scenes from different angles not being an easy beast to master. There are also some pretty nasty wounds inflicted and the CGI holds up well here for this medium-low budget production. The southern country soundtrack is also memorable, with some darker modern-folk being included. All in all, this is a truly different film to the usual fare with great performances from Whitaker & Willis, ably supported by the strong cast and unusual direction. Recommended!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2013
Quentin Tarrintino. There, I said it. I got it out the way straight away. It's just you can't really talk about Catch 44 without mentioning the man in some way. Catch 44 is so `Pulp Fiction inspired' that you'll be expecting Samuel L Jackson to pop up in a gimp mask at any time.

Instead of a predominantly male cast, Catch 44 centres on three female drug smugglers and what happens when one of their (supposedly routine) drop-offs goes very wrong. That's about the extent of the plot. I've read in other reviews phrases like `the film stretches a single scene out for the entire ninety minutes.' And they're not far off it.

The whole film is - technically - set in a diner (the location for the illegal exchange). What other parts of the film come in flashbacks and repeats of the initial scene, over and over again. This has picked up more than a little criticism from some as being repetitive and annoying.

I didn't think it was that bad. Granted, Catch 44 is no Pulp Fiction, but I found it entertaining enough to watch for an hour and a half. One thing you should know is that Bruce Willis (despite featuring heavily on all major advertising) is in it for about ten minutes. The story is mainly about the girls. Forest Whitaker does his best to inject some much-needed characterisation, but really, the lack of any forward momentum is the film's major downfall.

My advice: know what you're getting. This is no masterpiece, but it's not quite as bad as some of the reviews make it out to be. It just could have been a lot better, based on the star-power that seemed to be attached to the project.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2017
Good viewing a lovely watch on a winters evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2014
This film kind of reminds me of the glut of violent thrillers that emerged after Pulp Fiction in the mid 90's. A solid cast of known names, flashy directing and a non linear plot that jumps between time frames. Unlike many of those imitators this flick is not too bad.

A trio of young ladies (Malin Akerman included) take a job from their drug dealer boss to find out who's moving in on his patch. They aim to infiltrate a drug deal at a remote truck stop but things dont go according to plan and a tense series of events ensues also involving Forest Whitakers "delivery guy".

The script is reasonably punchy and it's well acted all round. Crosses and double crosses take place and there's enough bloody action to keep you involved. Bruce Willis pops up in one of his now trademark fleeting roles as the drug dealer in question before popping off again to count his wages. Cheers Brucie. Anyway, a decent film, worth a spin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Precious Cargo [Blu-ray]
£5.97

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)