Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 25 June 2017
I have the vinyl version which is a little worn. Bought this to play on portable device and am delighted with the extra tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2017
Can't go wrong with this CD. Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2015
La Streisand not at her best on this cd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2013
seller for this record was 'the osborne collection' and must
be said; service and 'product' were faultless.
as for Miss Streisand, haven't found any track that i'm inclined to 'skip' on this album.
quality and longevity are here !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2008
Many people say that the composers on this album would turn in their graves if they knew their songs had been sung this way. I disagree, surely they would turn in their graves at the thought that only a certain style of classical singer could sing their songs. Striesand's no dumpling, as with her choice of film roles she knows not to do things she can't. She brings her own style to these carefully chosen classics and the results are beautiful. Each song is warm and soothing and a delight for anyone's ears, classical or not.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 January 2012
I love BS her musical ideas and magnificent voice, vocal range, and of course vocal gymnastics. This album was recorded when she was at the peak of her magnificent vocal ability, so I had very high hopes for this album.

However, for me personally, it just doesn't work as well as I’d expected. While there is indeed a sweetness to her voice, for me, there is no flow from her with these songs. Her voice seems almost constrained by the style and language of these classic songs. A legendary great artist, but I don’t feel that it’s one of her best albums or concepts. Sorry Barbra.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 October 2012
As far as I know, this is the only LP/CD Barbra Streisand made singing classical songs rather than her usual popular repertoire. The playing time is a bit short as there are only 10 tracks - but what tracks! The songs she sings are from the 18th to the 20th century. The earliest are two songs by Handel; there is one of Robert Schumann's best known songs, Mondnacht; the even better known Pavane and Après un rȇve by Gabriel Fauré; the Berceuse from Joseph Canteloube's Songs of the Auvergne; Claude Debussy's Beau soir; Hugo Wolf's Verschwiegene Liebe; and In Trutina from Carl Orff's Carmina Burana. The Wolf and Schumann have a piano accompaniment by Claus Ogerman who directs the Columbia Symphony Orchestra on the remaining songs. This delightful selection concludes with a song by Ogerman himself - I loved you. The tracks were recorded in 1973.

Blue Skies
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2013
Just bought this remastered edition of CLASSICAL BARBRA and I must admit it's still a masterpiece to me.
I had the previous cd version which was great on its own but this new one sounds louder and crispier than that, though the "much criticized" hiss remains. Anyway a great album to listen and relax to and a true milestone in Barbra's career. _Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2013
As if she had done it for years ... she masterly sings this compilation of lieder just in her own special way, makes them her own but
keeps the spirit and meaning of the songs. One if not the best crossover I know. Thank you Barbra Streisand. Now with two bonus tracks from the original sessions.
Very good booklet plus an all over elegantly designed package. Very rare nowadays.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2012
Finally I got this record and was not disappointed......Streisand has a wonderful voice.....and it is put to good use here.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)