Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2012
Lovely dream-pop tinted with an 80's sensibility and surprisingly tough beats. Apparently down to one singer but you'd never know from listening to the fantastic multi-part vocals. Like going to a rave for elves and unicorns but, you know, having a really good time.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2012
What a great album! I liked School of Seven Bells first two albums a lot, but for me this third one represents a breakthrough to a new level of excellence. I just can't stop playing it.

School of Seven Bells are part of a new generation of American indie groups who draw their inspiration from the British shoegazing scene of the 80s/90s. Influences that come to mind are Cocteau Twins and My Bloody Valentine.

The strong influence of pumping 80s electronica is also noticeable on a lot of these tracks (Ben Curtis looks a lot like that guy in the Thompson Twins, which is perhaps no coincidence?)

If you like this genre I can also recommend The Hundred in the Hands, another boy-girl twosome from Brooklyn with a somewhat similar sound.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
School of Seven Bells are an American indie duo, Benjamin Curtis and Alejandra Deheza. This is their third album and the first since Claudia Deheza's departure. I liked their spooky, otherworldly harmony vocals and the spectacle of identical twins with amazing voices. But now that has changed. Their last album Disconnect From Desire was patchy and more conventional than their outstanding debut Alpinisms, and I was slightly concerned they would go in a more commercial direction.

I shouldn't have worried. Ghostory is dark and introspective, full of eerie melodies, shining guitars and grainy electronica. Alejandra's voice is warm and honeyed, dreamy and breathy. This is a confident return to form, to the spookiness that they do so well.

Stand out tracks for me are "White Wind" with menacing, chant-style vocals, "Low times" and the super floaty and hypnotic "Reappear"

I should say this has only nine tracks and clocks in at a decidedly mean 45m.21s.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
This is just a wonderful album. Although not quite as musically adventurous as Alpinism, I nevertheless find it a more overall consistent work. Alejandra's vocals are just exquisite, and, such is the studio expertise of Ben Curtis, the absence of her twin sister, Claudia, is barely felt. Almost everything I've heard in this genre lately is reduced to pretender status by the edgy beauty of the compositions on this album - it's that special.
It's an increasingly rare thrill these days to be moved by new music - you know the kind that insists on immediate replay. A certain chord progression or atmospheric texture that hits the emotional centre. Take the track "Show Me Love" half way through this disc. Preceded by the gorgeous catharsis that is "Reappear" (a track that could have come straight out of the movie Gravity - did Steven Price hear this before he composed that soundtrack?) we have a stunning composition that literally takes your breath away. The fuzz guitar intro, the sampled rhythmic touches, the heart-stirring vocals of Alejandra, the space synth and bass, and, most certainly, the irresistible chorus (little touches like the barely perceptible delay on "Hey") - a sublime melody I seriously can't get enough of. Magnificent - a desert island track. Play this as I pass beyond the horizon. The greatest pleasure on an album full of 'em.
Each work Mr Curtis produces sees him growing in stature as a unique crafter of electronic soundscapes taken to another level by an assured sensibility for solid melody and rhythm (from his Secret Machine days). Some of the sounds he manages to create are pure bliss. So let's not confuse this album with anything that remotely compares to the uninspired and predictable electronic meanderings that are so prevalent nowadays, churned out by anyone with a controller keyboard and Cubase. No, this is the real deal, this is the new trance-rock/dream-hop, created by a rare talent, and I look forward eagerly to what Mr Curtis and co. present in the future.

Hey,
You'll never find love within,
When you only seek love in him,
And he only takes from you what he can break.
I'd never take from you, babe.

Alpinisms
Ten Silver Drops
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
When singer Claudia Deheza left American Dream Pop/Shoegaze trio School Of Seven Bells, reducing the group to the duo of twin sister Alejandra Deheza (vocals, guitar) and Ben Curtis (guitars, synthesizers, vocals), fans were concerned that the absence of the twin sisters' harmonies would leave a void in the lushly layered sound they'd come to love and expect. But we needn't have worried. Alejandra Deheza's vocals are multi-tracked so effectively that it's difficult to detect any marked differences in the ethereal vocal arrangements, and the overall soundscape of their third album, Ghostory, stays true to the group's first two releases. Standout tracks: "Low Times", "The Night" and "Scavenger".

volt-and-volume.com
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2012
What a top album. I think this is worth buying just for the last track ('When You Sing') alone. This will definitely be in my top albums of 2012 come December. I should have expected this, though, having really liked their previous two.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2012
I have been playing this album for a couple of weeks now and there no letting up! Great mixture of electronics, guitars, atmospherics and those angelic vocals to die for. 'Lafaye' is a stand out track but as someone else said get this if only just for the epic 8:34 final track 'When You Sing'... fans of Cocteau Twins will love this...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
Has a lot of inspired melodies and brilliant songcraft. The vocals are just as stunning as on their other albums.
Easily my favorite album of 2012 so far.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2012
School of Seven Bells have really upped their game with this album. It is a satisfyingly cohesive album, well produced, with instant yet lasting appeal. The sound is a mix of shoegaze and My Bloody Valentine influences put into modern pop for a sound that they have made their own. Highlights are the opening pace setter "The Night", the dancier "Low Times" with its great build up, and the slow burner "Show Me Love" with the warped guitars and lovely vocals. One of the albums of the year!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
Bought this last week and have not been able to take it out the car stereo yet, funny, i'd never heard of them before last Tuesday and call me impulsive but on the strength of this album I've already ordered their previous 2 releases, Ive made this mistake before with other bands and been disapointed but ive a good feeling about this one and if they are just half as good as Ghostory, i'll be happy. The best album of the year so far
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)