Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
35
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2014
It's hard to write a review for something like music because for the most part you tend to know what you're getting when buying something like this album.

The sound quality isn't bad, and you get a lot of tunes for your money, included a few of Louis Armstrong's better known songs.

It would also be a good album if you wanted to introduce somebody to his works.

Overall well worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
A great album, I like every track on it. In my opinion it's the only Louis Armstrong album I need.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
a good selection of his music very easy to listen to there will always be other music that could have gone on there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I would recommend this album to anyone who feels like getting to know the great Louis Armstrong. This is a tale of a young lad from New Orleans who started life in correction institutions before learning his trade on the steam boats of the Mississippi. He went on to become one of the most prominent jazz musicians of all time. Born in 1901, he died in 1971.
He was already a star by the 1920's and I recall him fondly as a youngster in the 60's as one of the elder statesmen of jazz.
All of his hits are on here, plus many, many classics from the various eras that he played through.
He not only plays with his own various orchestras' (All Stars) but also with the likes of Oscar Peterson, Jimmy Dorsey & Russell Garcia to name a few ; Ella Fitzgerald duets with him on several tracks.
I personally prefer his style of jazz to that of Ella Fitzgerald and Billy Holliday, as for me it has more punch / clout and therefore sounds correspondingly more interesting on the ear, especially with that gravelly voice and shrieking trumpet!!
This is a top notch double album and a quality production. The backing is top musicianship which adds even more quality to Armstrong's distinctive voice.
The album, more than anything else, highlights what a great jazz icon this man was. It's 5 Stars all the way.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
This was a present for my husband and he loves it! Great quality and enjoyable listening, I would recommend this double CD to all Louis Armstrong fans and even to those who are not quite sure 'cos they'll love it! It's a Wonderfull World - YEH!!!!! :-)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
That record We Have All The Time In The World was a big favourite at the station I once worked at actively. I love the song. It's on here, plus many of the other records I played on various programmes. Louis Armstrong has one of those distinctive, gravelly voices much loved by those who are drawn to his music. If you love jazz, cop a load of this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Love this Cd and was a well received Xmas gift for my husband. Been playing it over and over. If this is you kind of music or if you've not familiar you've got a great selection here that's bound to please
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Very disappointing, uninspiring choice of his work, not the best recordings of melodies he has recorded more than once, eg, Ain't Misbehavin- really ordinary, the same applies to Rocking Chair
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Everybody should keep this record at home for the future generation to keep on this music at their families. No more words to be said about Mr.Armstrong, just to have one at home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)