Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
10
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2016
great read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
To slow for my taste.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
I bought this on Kindle just before a flight almost as an impulse buy. I am very glad I did. It made the long-haul flight go quickly and I highly recommend it.

Nice historical details, great weaving of characters, some good twists and a good ending. Really excellent.
Whilst I love historical fiction (particularly Bernhard Cornwell) I have always felt less keen on Roman fiction; but this book has made me re-think this. Having read his second bookThe Fortune of Carthage which is possibly even better) I am now of to buy some Simon Scarrow novels.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Not the typical Roman novel but still worth the money and a good read. A good story line(s) but a bit short on action for me personally but don't let that put you off.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
A clever novel set in the old republic but with twist and turns along the way.I reminded me of books by the late great David Gemmel or Bernard Cornwall
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
I have to admit to struggling to get going with this book, but once into the story it picked up. It's the first Kelso book I've read but it certainly hasn't put me off buying others. The characterizations are good and the writing is solid.
I like to read a lot of new authors, or different authors works and I've just read the first 4 chapters of his new work Devotio - house of Mus which is much pacier and more my cup of tea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2016
Personal favourite subject - historical fiction from the days of the Roman Empire. Thoroughly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
I don't usually write reviews but wanted to say a few words about this book as I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. I've studied ancient history a bit and had a love of Roman history for many years. I don't usually buy novels but thoroughly enjoyed this one. I've learned a lot and, more than that, really felt that I understood what it was like to be there. A great read, I see there is a follow up now so off to buy that too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
ivread some of these, there like westerns , but language used is latin, this is well crafted, a good read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
Absolute poppycock of a story ,nothing gels ,far fetched and without a true plot ,it just meanders along ,for heavens sake write more honestly ,not a James Bond themed story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse