Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
186
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2013
There are plenty of reviews here concerning the films and their content, and if you are reading this review then most of you will already be fans of the movies looking to update to Blu-ray. I don't have the DVD's available to compare the qualitative difference of the two mediums and so will confine my comments purely to the quality of the Blu-ray discs as stand-alone products - the box-set as a whole, being greatly let down by films one to three, earning only a 2 star rating overall.
If you are seeking the picture perfection associated with Blu-ray updates, then this collection will disappoint greatly. Mission Impossible, the original and oldest film of the series, as expected shows its age, and the transfer does little to improve things. Soft edges and a lack of detail dates this film giving it a 'retro' look that may appeal to fans of the original movie, but not to those looking for a superior picture. Occasionally close-ups do appear pleasing with moderate detail, but more often than not you are left wondering whether you are in fact watching a DVD and not a Blu-ray. Colour banding is also very much the order of the day in many scenes and particularly noticeable in the sterile white and grey environments of building interiors. In short the film really shows its age and gets a poor transfer to Blu-ray.
MI:2 fares little better, and in many respects is a far inferior transfer to that of its predecessor. With a more recent film you'd expect a better transfer, and occasionally this film does offer fine linear detail, especially on faces. Colours too are far richer this time around, but colour banding is severe from the outset. In fact it was difficult to find a scene that did not suffer in this way, the banding sometimes so overwhelming that I found myself watching the bands rather than the movie. Background detail too is disappointing, especially in exterior shots where you would expect to see beautifully defined landscapes rather than the blurred images you actually get.
MI:3 finally glows with the kind of clarity and colour one expects from a Blu-ray, though picture grain is heavy throughout, especially in brightly lit interior shots, and did become distracting in places. Blacks are deep though lack detail and colour banding was not an issue on this outing, allowing for a far more enjoyable experience. The shots of the Vatican and the Rome skyline were particularly enjoyable and sharply detailed.
MI:4 Ghost Protocol not only has a snappier title, but glows with the kind of luxuriant detail you'd expect from a film made in the High-Def' age. At last Paramount have hit a bullseye - even though it took them four attempts to do it! Right from the opening shots of the Budapest skyline, you know you are watching something far superior to the previous three films. Colours and linear detail are sharp and blacks beautifully deep whist retaining detail. If I was rating this film alone I would have given it a five star rating both for the quality of the transfer and the content of the movie.
Paramount are infamous for their poor quality high definition transfers to Blu-ray, and the first three films in this collection are perfect examples of this. If you are a fan of the films then I can only guess that the DVD's you have been watching are of atrocious quality, and therefore this offering may be an improvement. If on the other hand you are looking for a couple of well-presented action Blu-rays, then stick to buying the final two instalments of this disappointing collection.
33 comments| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
M:I - NO HD audio, and DVD quality picture, a massive waste of time. Great film though.
M:I2 - NO HD audio, and ok pic quality. Pretty dismal film.
M:3 NO HD audio, but a pretty good pic quality. Great film.
M:I Ghost Protocol - Hurrah, finally a proper blu ray with HD sound/pic!!

Overall a massive let-down, only one of the films is a real bluray as far as i'm concerned.
33 comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
The Bluray transfer is of substandard quality on the first 2 movies. More like a DVD print. It is marginally better on the third. The fourth movie is a true bluray quality movie.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 December 2012
Until the release of 'Mission: Impossible Ghost Protocol' I had only seen the first film, the two other films in the series somehow passing me by.

Having finally watched the remaining films over a rainy weekend a while back I was struck by just how good the series really is; each entry in the series to date has had its own memorable moments and they are all of a consistently high quality.

This box set contains all four movies to date and it is a worthwhile purchase even if you already own any of the films on standard DVD.

The set contains four discs and they come in a single case; the case is sturdy and the discs on my set were held firmly in place.

The case also has an outer sleeve made from cardboard.

I'll break down the contents of each disc because these vary in quality and quantity.

1. Mission: Impossible

Audio - German, English, French - 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles - German, English, French, and English for the Hearing Impaired

* Mission: Remarkable - 40 Years of Creating the Impossible (11:26)
* Mission: Explosive Exploits (05:09)
* Mission: Spies among Us (08:40)
* Mission: Catching the Train (02:39)
* Mission: International Spy Museum (06:31)
* Mission: Agent Dossiers
* Excellence in Film (09:15)
* Generation: Cruise (03:36)
* Photo Gallery (06:30)
* Mission: Marketing - Trailers x2 (03:03) and TV Spots x9 (03:52)

Total running time of 59:21.

There is no audio commentary provided and the total running time of the feature is 01:50:12.

----------------

2. Mission: Impossible 2

Audio - German, English, French - 5.1 Dolby Digital

Audio commentary by Director John Woo (subtitles available in German, English and French)

Subtitles - German, English, French, and English for the Hearing Impaired

* Behind the Mission (14:28)
* Mission Incredible (05:12)
* Impossible Shots (34:17)
* I Disappear - Metallica (04:33)
* Alternate Title Sequence (00:37)
* Excellence in Film (09:15)
* Generation: Cruise (03:36)

Total running time of 71:18.

The total running time of the feature is 02:03:35.

----------------

3. Mission: Impossible 3

Audio - German, English, French - 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles - German, English, French, and English for the Hearing Impaired

Audio commentary by Tom Cruise and Director J.J. Abrams (subtitles available in German, English and French)

There are no further extras available on the Mission: Impossible 3 disc.

The total running time of the feature is 02:05:24.

----------------

4. Mission: Impossible Ghost Protocol

Audio - English - 7.1 Dolby TrueHD; English, Spanish, French, Italian - 5.1 Dolby Digital; English - Audio Description

Subtitles - English, Spanish, French, Italian, Dutch, and English for the Hearing Impaired

* Mission Accepted (29:38)
* Impossible Missions (06:13)
* Deleted Scenes x3 - with optional audio commentary from Director Brad Bird (05:12)

Total running time of 41:03.

There is no audio commentary provided and the total running time of the feature is 02:12:56.

----------------

The audio and visual quality of the films is everything you would expect from a High Definition transfer; the quality increases with each film.

The first film is now sixteen years old (that makes me feel old!) and it is understandable that the image won't be quite as sharp as the most recent outing; however it was this disc that impressed me most when comparing to my DVD version.

The level of detail really is stunning and when watched on a big screen television with the volume turned up (I have played mine through a 5.1 system) the films really do look and sound spectacular.

The extras vary in quality and a couple of them are repeated, but overall they are good and do provide some interesting background information.

The Mission: Impossible films really have maintained their quality; the introduction of a different director for each film, superb special effects and a great cast have kept them fresh and relevant.

This Blu-ray box set has varied considerably in price from when it was first announced but I have managed to pick it up for £18.00 and I must say that it represents outstanding value.

This review will self destruct in 5 seconds...............
66 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Mission impossible 8/10 Mission impossible2 6/10 Mission impossible3 9/10 Mission impossible ghost protocol 9/10. Good delivery for some fantastic movies (except 2). Great acting, great plots (except 2)and, best of all, some crazy ass s*** stunts and action sequences (except 2). Totally recommend for a friend for enjoyable movies
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
The films are all very good, the first and the fourth are easily the best. The second and third are not bad. However, the conversion to blu ray was not great on the first two films. The third was okay and the fourth was obviously shot in HD so was very good. Not a bad price at £15 and a nice one to have in your collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
4 Stunning Tom Cruise Mission Impossible Movies on Blu-Ray format at a great price.

Great Picture and Sound Quality, stunning action and set pieces with reasonable acting and great guest actors.

At this price it's a no brainer.

Very Highly Recommended, but get the original series as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
My boyfriend loves an action movie and you can't go wrong with these, action packed and good story lines. Lots of excellent actors supporting Tom Cruise, including the hilarious Simon Pegg in the last 2 movies. will watch these again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
A good box set to own since all four movies are packed together in this set. Picture quality is just so so for me (the best will be the latest GHOST PROTOCOL). Similar on its audio the latest being the best. Strictly for fans of MI (or Tom Cruise).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2016
Never thought of buying these films before, so for 10 pounds i thought i would give them a try. They were actually pretty good, a bit far fetched though, so sit back and chill out and your brain doesn't have to work too hard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)