Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
168
4.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£7.20+ £1.56 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2012
This seems to be a medium-sized green Agatha's Bester permanent filter. The infuser is 75mm deep and has a diameter of approximately 61mm just below the rim, perfect for most mugs and many smaller teapots, compared with the 100mm by 70mm of Permanent Tea Filter for teapots which is their version for larger teapots or big mugs. This infuser is made in Germany, is dishwashable, and has a super-fine mesh. Functionally identical products include One-Cup tea infuser and Permanent Tea Filter / Infuser - Cups / Small Pots.

The plastic lid is useful as a place to put down the infuser when it contains wet leaves, keeping things tidy and ready for re-infusing. I use this filter for steeping loose-leaf tea in a mug, but the filter is also fine enough for medium-ground coffee.

Edit: this is still going strong after many, many infusions and quite a few trips through the dishwasher. The dishwasher does a great job of removing tea stains that build up over time on the mesh. For the filter to keep working at its best, before adding fresh tea leaves, first empty out the used leaves and quickly rinse off any small bits remaining under the tap.
22 Comments| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
After doing a lot of research on "infusers," and eventually getting put off by the "ball," "clasp," like efforts, I stumbled across these.

Have to say that I used to be an avid loose tea lover but, these days, the whole thing about using a pot for one became less appealing and I strayed into teabags, largely through laziness, to be honest.

However, I've visited several sites which praise the superior taste etc. of loose tea, so decided to give it a go and bought 2 of these infusers, one for home and one for work.

They arrived very, very, promptly and I put them to use straight away and have to say that I'm now an avid fan..

These are designed to let the tea expand in the basket, which overcomes some of the disadvantages of the "ball," type infusers.

My first cup of Green Tea was a revelation, I couldn't believe the difference in the taste to the stuff I normally buy in tea bags.
When it's all done, a couple of quick taps into the bin and a swill under the tap and it's ready for the next brew.

Suffice it to say that I'm not planning to go back to tea bags and may well buy one of those "collapsible," baskets, as advertised on here, which I can take anywhere.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
Very inpressed with this infuser. It is well priced against it's competitors, and fits all my mugs even the large one pint mug sits inside it but near the top of the mug. The lugs on either side have a lip so the infuser will actually sit on the rim of a cup if needed.

It is very well made with an extremely fine mesh,so no bits of tea leaves will escape.Don't be put off by the plastic it in no way impairs the flavour of the tea and is actually one of the main reasons I chose this particular infuser. As many other stainless ones seem to suffer from rusting at the joints, no such problems with this.

There is a lid included which I use to place the infuser upon after the tea has steeped ready for a second brew.

The seller was great posting the item out very promptly and well packaged
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
Arrived quickly and as described on the site, really helps get the best out of loose tea.

Only down side, if you use large mugs, have to keep it delicately balanced close to the edge, but it does make a very nice cup of tea.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
Just right for making tea for one, bags are for rubbish, teapots are for two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
This is a really handy item and does the job perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
This little darling lets you have a cup or mug of loose tea without a mouthful of grounds. most satisfying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
It does the job - what more is there to say about a tea infuser?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
A fiver seems like a lot to pay for a piece of plastic and some metal gauze. On the other hand, the gauze is very fine so presumably doesn't come that cheap.

The basket is 6cm in diameter and the lugs that sit on the rim of your mug are 9.5cm so the infuser can be used in a mug anywhere between those two sizes. Obviously the basket won't sit comfortably in a large mug (10cm diameter or more), but presumably will still be usable. It's 7cm deep so won't work so well in cups.

So the infuser works great - the gauze lets the water in and the tea out and keeps all but the finest of tea dust through into your mug, so what you actually get is a fine cuppa and, of course, looseleaf is so much better than the teabags.

I also had no idea that you can re-use looseleaf tea, so the infuser provides an excellent means of storing the leaves until your next cup.

The infuser /is/ plastic but it seems quite robust.

See the uploaded photos
review image review image review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
This product works really well with all the teas we have tried. Dry and powdery teas don't seem to go through the mesh, and it has survived the dishwasher so far. We have even made mint tea using fresh mint from the garden without problems.

It does have quite a large diameter, so not so easy to fit into single cup teapots unless they have a large lid hole. No problem with larger teapots or cups though.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)