Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
50
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2014
Like many in the fifty five plus generation I feel as if Carole King has contributed a great deal to the soundtrack of my life. 'Tapestry' in particular is just one of the 'must have' albums for anyone who was a child of the mid 60's/70's. With that in mind it was a pleasure to read such a well written account of someone who contributed so much and yet remains totally grounded, humble and apparently devoid of any bitterness or anger which, heaven knows she has every right to feel, towards certain individuals. I was engrossed from beginning to end and all that stops me providing a five is the surprising lack of any extended reference to Neil Sedaka.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2016
Having known little about Carole King other than Tapestry and some of the great hits she wrote for others in the 1960s, this book gives a fascinating insight into her life. Not particularly well written technically, it leaves you to join the dots and while I would never want this book to be an overview of her recording career, and I'm glad it isn't, it would have been nice to have a little more to tie the backstory into what she was recording at the time. That said, the memoir format is nearly always better than the biography being in the first person. In particular, her description of moving to and living in Idaho is particularly interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
This is a very interesting summary of Carole's life and achievements. It was very personal and, hence, quirky. She did say herself that it was a memoir rather than a detailed summary. She writes engagingly and is suitably discrete about her relationships, whilst still being honest about her bad choices (in men!). She is very honest about her own fears and probably underates herself as a writer and a performer.

I could have done with a bit less detail about her land dispute in Idaho but, that apart, I enjoyed it immensely.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
an excellent read from a carole king fan,knowing where her songs came from,the kind of life she led was interesting.a must read for her fans
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
If she were ever tempted to bring out a revised edition of her memoir, I would like to know more about her relationship with Goffin. He died in 2014, just after the book was written. I think her restraint was in deference to him being alive, and also as he was the father of her first two children. What went really went wrong with her marriage to Lakey? Her explanation was not very convincing. But again, a father to her two youngest children. Her description of her relationship with the 'chancer' Rick Evers was the highlight of the book. And her alternative life-style in Idaho, the strangest! A revised edition would have drastically pruned the ill-judged dispute with the locals! And did she really have to mention everyone she ever worked with, or political event that happened in her lifetime? For the Carole King 'anoraks', detailed background to the songs would be a bonus, but to others (me) not so riveting! Her generous, warm, energetic, honest personality shone through, but her impulsiveness often lead to unfortunate relationships! Fortunately, all ended happily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
I rarely buy autobiography but this is gripping if you love C King and you are a child of the sixties who grew up with her wonderful songs. She writes well too
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
I have been waiting for this book to be written for years, so I just had to have it. It was delivered quickly and the price was good. Thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
bought as a gift, hope it reads well and is interesting. I have a feeling it stops at Carnagie Hall. maybe another book will follow
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2012
Carole King was one of the so-called Brill Building songwriters responsible for much of the sound of early pop and rock'n'roll, and in tandem with her husband Gerry Goffin created some of the genre's enduring classics, songs such as "Will you Love me Tomorrow" and "Up on the Roof". Yet this period is barely touched upon - fellow songwriting teams like Barry & Greenwich, Mann & Weil, Lieber & Stoller, and writers like Doc Pomus, Phil Spector and so on, and contemporary local artists like the Drifters, Dion, the Four Seasons, and others barely get a mention, if at all. Instead she goes on endlessly about irrelevant matters such as an on-going right-of-away dispute with her Idaho neighbours (as if we really cared about that!) A missed opportunity.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
A enjoyable honest read . The life story of one of the most talented song writer , A MUST Read for any music fan
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)