Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
158
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2005
All too often these days bands are laelled with the title "the new Stone Roses" or "the new Oasis". The same has been said of Kasabian, as one glance at the sticker of the CD case will soon show.
The big difference with this band is that they are not trying to be the new anything.
Rarely have I heard a debut album of such quality. One of the truly difficult things for a band to do is meld the standard Guitar/Bass/Drum/Vocal sound with that of heavy Electronica, but Kasabian have pulled it off with a stroke of genius.
Other comments have focused on the lack of real songwriting ability. It is true that the vocals, whilst very well delivered, do lack some substance; but then this band do not seem to be trying to give us Ocean Colour Scene quality lyrics, and have focused more on their undoubted talent at writing songs to pull you in an hook you. And they have done that very nicely, thank you.
The stand out tracks on the album include the storming "L.S.F. (Lost Souls Forever)", sure to become a festival anthem in the summer, "Ovary Stripe", perhaps the best instrumental I have heard since the Melody AM album by Royksopp, and "Reason is Treason".
The real question, and one that so often leads to disappontment these days, is how good the follow-up will be. Whilst this album sets them apart from so many bands, can their second album do the same? On the basis of this album, I truly hope that there is much more to come.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
Very poor quality, lots of scratches
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2006
I think Kasabian are one of the best acts around at the moment. I normally get bored very easily, however I bought this album a good while ago and I still listen to it all the time.

As with most albums the first few tracks are definitely the strongest songs, but the entire album is very strong.

I would not skip through any o fthe tracks on the album......and on the last track if you let it play on theres a banging version of Reason Is Treason which will blow you away!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2004
I'd not heard much about Kasabian before buying the new album. I'd heard 'L.S.F' and 'Processed beats' and this was enough to convince me to buy! U know how it is though. You hear a track or two off an album, go and buy it and feel let down when the rest is below average.
NOT, however, with this! From the opening 'Club Foot' with its tribal chants, guitar heavy licks and phat beats, all the way through to the epic-sounding (if short) 'Ovary Stripe', this album needs a minimum of 3 spins a day! Their use of conventional music production mixed with the synth based side, and the way it mixes and drops in and out of these different genres makes this a real 'thinkers' record (see 'Reason is Treason). One minute the track is pounding alond, beats-heavy and sounding very rock-like, the next it breaks down into an ethereal swirl of pads and synth stabs before dropping back into the beats once again.
My personal fave from the record has to be 'I.D', it has everything that a song should have. Emotion, drive, decent lyrics and a completely awe-inspiring feel. Press that repeat button!
Tom Meighans vocals slice into you with (dare I say it) an almost Gallagher-esque resonance mixed with the attitude of Shaun Ryder. The rest of the band follow suit, with Sergio Pizzorno's guitar twisting and churning out the riffs. For an album mixed by Jim Abiss (the guy behind DJ Shadow), you can certainly hear the input he's brought to this disc.
So, all in all I highly recommend this disc. Buy it, play it, enjoy it.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Well, it's about time Manchester got a revival -- it's been around fifteen years since bands like the Happy Mondays and Stone Roses erupted onto the music scene. Now with late-70s and mid-80s music being revived in newer, trendier bands, it's about time we got to England in the late-80s and mid-90s.

Enter Kasabian, a Leicester band who put out catchy, synthy, and extremely entertaining rock'n'roll. What does their self-titled album sound like? Well, it has some echoes of those Manchester greats, except that it has a synth edge over those heavy riffs. Add in some very radio-friendly melodies, which are almost guaranteed to get these guys noticed by the media.

Not that that's a bad thing -- they resemble fellow electro-Manchester band South, which happens to be among my favorite Britpop bands. Kasabian is just lighter. They kick things off on a strong note with the expansive "Clubb Foot," which pairs gritty rock with sweeping synth, over Tom Meighan's languid vocals.

Fortunately this is not one of those albums that has one good single, and then gets lazy. Things stay catchy and gritty, all throughout the album, with heavy riffs and steady rhythms, and Kasabian keep their style varied enough that listeners won't be left thinking, "Oh man, are they playing that riff AGAIN?"

Not to mention the singing: Meighan has a very strong, melodious voice. In almost every song, he sings slow and lazily. He sounds either stoned or inattentive, except for a few wonderful songs where he sounds completely into what he sings. "John was a scientist, he was hooked on LSD/Interested in mind control and how the monkey held the key/Said that all life is experiments somebody's planning for the heir/It's for the unexpected citizens who hallucinate in fear," he purrs happily.

Yeah, it can get pretty heavy. but the music is also tempered with an ethereal edge -- there's a brief interlude which is all muffled riffs, deep synth and angelic vocals. At the very least, all that synth serves to lighten up what could have been a dark album, and adds an epic edge to what could have been terribly ordinary music.

The flaw? It gets a bit fragmented, with two peppy electronic "interludes" sitting between harder rock'n'roll. They're pretty, but they feel out of place.

Things climax with hints of another possible direction for them to go in: "U Boat," a rich soundscape that fades away into silence... before fading back into a different mix of "Reason is Treason." It's all hard angles and explosions, and if anything, this mix is even better than the radio-friendly original. (Talk about having your cake and eating it too)

One of the few albums that is catchy and musically rich, Kasabian's debut is one of the best releases this year. It's reminiscent of Britpop greats, but somehow that doesn't matter -- they're original enough to have their own fun sound.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2005
The swing of modern music towards the banal and predictable has become an increasingly frustrating issue today, so it is certainly rewarding to uncover a unique and progressive sounding band like Kasabian. In this debut album they incorporate electronic backing with ethereal second coming-era stone roses guitar to produce a mix which although indie in style, is also as meaty and thought provoking as say, Radiohead or Muse. "John he was a scientist/he was hooked on Lsd," the psychadelic humour that opens the inspiring Cutt Off, and "all lying across the ground/try not to make no sound," the bleak, apocalyptic call of Running Battle show a range in subject matter, whilst still reinforcing the ever present social conscious and drug-addled craziness that run throughout.
LSF and Processed beats blare like the most established of anthems and in reason is Treason the album finds its fulcrum and focal point, sounding like love spreads for a new generation. Overall, if you Like Primal Scream, The Stone Roses, Muse and you're bored with Keane, Feeder, Embrace and the like the chances are you will certainly get good mileage from this CD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2005
I can't remember a time I have been so excited by an album, in its entirety. Forget the twaddle of these other rambling reviews and do yourself a favour and do two things, click add to basket then select 1st Class Delivery because trust me your life is not complete without this album. Of course Stone Roses comparisons will come along from anyone with a half decent music collection but this album is much more. If you remember the buzz of hearing Oasis' Live Forever or Acquiesce for the first time then you'll want to feel this way again, only it's better! Why? 'Cos the world's not ready for Kasabian, only you, me and a few musos will understand the awesomeness of this album. A few albums capture the sound of our times, this one goes a step further and defines our time. Amazing rythmns, unforgettable sounds blended together like a Jamie Oliver master dish but brought to your table by Gordon Ramsay. It has the amazing quality of immediately making your hair stand on end then creep under your skin, and it won't irritate or make you itch. Buy this, your life might just depend on it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2004
This album came to me from a friend and i was relatively unaware of the band, but since hearing singles such as LSF and Processed Beats Kasabian have since become a favourite in my music selection. With a fantastic live show this band are set for stage glory. The album itself is very unique with a small hint of Primal Scream here and there but overall a very special and groundbreaking album. This album is not for everyone but for fans of Franz Ferdinand, The Stills and possibly Million Dead. It is fantastic to see bands like Kasabian being part of the new wave of fantastic music coming from Britain.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
5 stars are not enough!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2004
To me, I see Kasabian as a cross between The Music, Kula Shaker (without the Indian influences), The Cooper Temple Clause, and the Stone Roses. And believe me, what a glorious combination that is. Tracks like Processed Beats and the slow-building I.D. simply ooze cool, and demand you to strut along, nodding at everyone you pass, just as The Music do at the best of times. L.S.F. is a wonderfully danceable tune, while I defy anyone not to 'Aaaah' along to the chorus of Cutt Off.
This is a prime slab of quality British music, something the UK needs at the moment to regain our place as the best musical destination in the world. While this album can't and doesn't do that on its own, it sure is a stepping stone towards that ultimate end goal. Recommended for all fans of great music.
Oh yeah, by the way, if you can, get the limited edition of this album cos it comes in a cool all black cd case and is double sided- one side is the CD side, the other is a DVD with loads of nice extras!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)