Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
1,035
4.6 out of 5 stars
Monsters University [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 September 2014
I bought this after seeing the trailers and as an existing owner of Monsters Inc. It's good fun and as it's a prequel, it's nice to see how the characters story came about. However, it doesn't quite hit the spot in the same way as Monsters Inc did. Don't let this stop you from viewing this film as it has some laugh out loud moments and they are still the same Mike and Sully that you love from Monsters Inc. The whole American university is a bit over the top, all a bit rah rah, cheerleading and patriotic, but it only forms a small part of the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
Bought as present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
Item as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2016
Happy with order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Great family film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Love, love, love this film. We saw in in the cinema and I just had to get it for my 3yr old son who was a massive fan of the original Monsters Inc. He thinks this one is better than the first and since Christmas we must have watched it about 100 times. I have to say that it is starting to get a little frustrating for me having it on in the background all the time but hey, he loves it so that's all that matters ;)
Definitely a very good, family film that can be watched over and over and over again ......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
Golden rules of film making- 1. The film must be capable of spawning at least one sequel.2.That sequel will be nowhere near as good as the first one 3. Each subsequent sequel will be progressively worse until any life, originality , freshness, humour, wit or any relation to the original characters raison d'etre has been utterly wiped out.(Known universally as the "Lethal weapon principle") 4. This must apply particulaly to animation/childrens films (your honour, the case for the prosecution includes The Smurfs, Alvin, Ice Age, Despicable Me, and Cars)5.There are exceptions to the rule, usually involving Pixar.(Toy Story Trilogy, We salute you)

Which brings us to MU. Strictly speaking it's a prequel, but we'll let that pass. It involves the "journey" of Mike Wazowski, and Sully through University and on to the career at Monsters Inc.As such, it contains much of what made the first film great.There is Quite exceptional animation. Just how much expression CAN you get out of a walking eyeball? (you would be surprised).There is a warm, genuine relationship between the two main characters (John Goodman, and in particular Billy Crystal pull out top drawer performances and are perfectly suited to their roles)and there is a sense of drawing you ino a world whee suspension of disbelief is automatic.

What it doesn't share with the first movie is a decent story. Americans obsession with assuming we know and love their Campus system as much as they do leaves me cold, and the whole "Jocks Vs Nerds" underdog thing is predictable and, dare I say it, a little dull. There is, at a later point in the movie a classic "stop the bus" scene which I had seen telegraphed months in advance, and there are sequences which anyone would have anticipated.

The whole thing jogs a long in perfectly fine fashion,and for all it's faults, there is enough to maintain attention.I often wonder how we have got so blase about the immense quality of a project like this, it is light years ahead of anything even 15 years ago. It's a bit of a shame about the plot, but overall this is, as sequels go,up there with the better ones.
33 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Another great film for the masters of animation at Pixar.... And the short film before the filmis just amazing... Looking fwd to the next Pixar installment
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 November 2013
Another year, another Pixar movie. Another return from them to a previous release. But not with a sequel.

Instead, we get a prequel to Monsters Inc. [2002] [DVD] Which you don't need to have watched in order to get into this. But like you haven't anyway?

Here, we meet Mike Wazowski as a young creature. A young dreamer desperate to become a champion scarer. And so optimistic and positive that he's almost oblivious to being the butt of a lot of ridicule.

When finally getting to Monsters University, a very prestigious academy for trainee scarers, he first meets Sulley. Who is determined to coast by on his natural ability.

Both then find that things don't go according to plan, and have to take a desperately long shot chance to become top scarers. Can they succeed? And what life lessons will they learn on the way?

Whilst pixar movies do tend to be stronger when they are wholly original concepts, this clicks right from the off. And continues to do so and captivate all the way through. There's just so much to delight. It has two great strong central characters. A legion of well drawn supporting ones. And a plethora of visual delights, all brought to you in a feast of glorious colour.

Some of the life lessons you will see coming, but they are never hammered home. It does go on longer than you might expect, going well past a seeming natural ending point to the story. But the final act does justify itself in due course. Althougb some may have one plot nit pick which does seem to contradict the first film, but that's a minor complaint. There are other nods to it which are fun.

It's a campus comedy without anything gross out, which the whole family can watch and enjoy. And it's a lot of fun.

As is the final scene after the end credits. Do keep watching for that.

The dvde has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, Arabic, Italian.

Subtitles: English, Arabic, Italian.

It begins with a lot of trailers, which can be skipped via the next button the dvd remote. And which can be found in the sneak peeks section of the main menu anyhow.

The only extras are: a commentary from three of the production staff.

Plus the Blue Umbrella, the pixar short that played before the film in the cinema. The tale of a certain object finding something new, it's not the best of these. But it's not bad, and is worth a watch.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Bought this for my daughter for christmas she has seen the film at the cinema and really loved it so hopefully it will be ok as we havent opened it yet
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse