Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
122
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2017
Great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
I was introduced to Melody Gardot via the Jules Holland TV show (which never fails to please with it's broad spectrum of music)and I was smitten! Her voice is the physical representation of her first name.
The album is full of latin American / French overtones with her smoothe comforting voice relaxing your mind into euphoria. All eleven tracks are superb but for me tracks 1 and 11 are superlative.
Buy this album and be smitten too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
There are some lovely songs on the Absence but they are less meaty, less visceral than those on her first two albums. But the thing that REALLY annoyed me was the DVD. Only one of the tracks is an actual video recording, and that's the "making of La Vie en Rose"! The other tracks show only a title on the screen! So we don't even get to see her in performance. This is pretty close to false advertizing and disengenuous packaging. And it's bizarre, too, because there are so many good videos of Ms Gardot on YouTube (e.g., the Apple Studio sessions, the recordings of the Somewhere Over the Rainbow in Norway? Denmark?) If the producers were short of video material, why not put these YouTube recordings on the DVD! And finally: the choice of the cover suggests that Miss Gardot is being bullied by her producers. It's time to talk to Nellie MacKay and maybe form your own label, Melody!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2012
Once I got used to the idea that this wasn't going to be exactly like her last two albums, I have so enjoyed these new songs sung in English, French and Portugese. Melody Gardot brings a flavour of Morocco, Buenos Aires and Brazilian beaches to our rain-sodden (so far this summer) island, and Heitor Pereira joins her on 'Amalia' and 'Se Voce Me Ama.' My only quibble is the slick cover, but this is small beer compared to the actual sound of Gardot's lovely, sultry voice creating a dusky holiday mood, be it heartache, sitting outside in a late night cafe, or dancing by the sea on the upbeat 'Lemanja.'
Warmly recommended.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 30 May 2012
People often say things in their reviews like "if you like xyz, you'll like this" or "if you liked this, try that". Well, having had a listen to this today, all I can say is "If you like Melody Gardot, it's touch and go whether you'll like this" - and I'm afraid I don't.

I adored Worrisome Heart, and there is no doubt her voice on this new disc is still superb - but it's a bit too much of a departure for me. It is mostly so laid back it's almost asleep.

And what is the deal with the last track, Iemanja? It seems huge, over 18 minutes long. But it consists of 4 minutes of song, then about 11, yes ELEVEN minutes of complete silence, and then some shambolic noise for the final 3 minutes or so. If someone in the studio is trying to be clever, it doesn't work. So what looks like a 57 minute CD is really nothing of the sort.

Sorry - she has a great talent and a voice to die for, but after Worrisome Heart, I just didn't like this.
99 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Melody Gardot has to date released two impressive albums (`My One And Only Thrill' and `Worrisome Heart') in which she delivered beautiful, heartfelt songs in her trademark low slow voice that rarely rises above a whisper but carries so much passion and dignity that it forces itself to be heard. My one small criticism (and it is a small one) is that there was very little variation in the tracks across both albums. With her third release, The Absence, she has addressed this and produced her greatest album.

Teaming up with Heitor Pereira, she has moved away from the smoky blues/chanteuse style of her earlier albums to embrace a more Latin feel. She is now using a slightly richer backing, tinged with Latin rhythms. She breathes her way through delicate and delightful tracks that speak of love, life and loss. It's slow, but with an infectious beat. And then suddenly, unexpectedly we get `Goodbye' where she picks up the pace and puts a little more power into her voice to give us something different and unexpected. It's a welcome break from the slower mood of the rest of the album, it works well and it is good to see her pushing her boundaries.

THis review has also been posted on the vinyl version. On vinyl it is another level. The added dynamics lets you hear the colour and intonation in Gardot's voice. It becomes a more intimate experience than the CD version.

It's a simply gorgeous album, and thoroughly deserves every success. It just has to be 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
Ok, so first off, big fan. Have all discs including multiple editions (usually a big no no for me)and the early EP. Also rate a Melody Concert as probably best I attended in last 10 years. Now to this disc/set. Music overall - for me the weakest of the 3 main albums, but still way ahead of most of the pack out there. Production - irritated by the clicks on the beautiful track 3. Web traffic has established via Melody they are finger nail clicks so not a fault. Fair enough but still irritate. Then there is the last hidden track...after 11 minute wait it's a complete non event. So far though I would still go 4 stars but....
DVD - Feel somewhat swindled. First 2 tracks are nice remixes but there is no visual content. La Vie En Rose kicks in which is not on album so bound to be a visual surely, er...no and worse still it cuts off before the track ends .NOTE TO DELUXE HOLDERS, DOES YOURS DO THE SAME? MINE STOPS AT ABOUT 4 MINS WHEREAS AMAZON US STATES IT'S 5.16 LONG.IS MINE FAULTY? Last 2 parts of DVD are about making of La vie and some missives from Melody on where the album sprung from overall. Ok content here but by this stage I felt cheated. So as an overall package 3 stars just about does it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
You'll have to keep me on a short lead here! I might just get carried away!
Melody Gardot's 2009 album 'My One and Only Thrill' blew me away (2007's
'Worrisome Heart' wasn't half-bad either). I see absolutely no reason to
revise my view of this superb performer with her new album 'The Absence'.
Her collaboration with Brazilian producer Heitor Pereira is a thing of
real beauty. Restraint is the key word here. Ms Gardot knows how to make
every note and every word count in this collection of eleven bewitching songs.

Take a number like 'So We Meet Again My Heartache'. With a voice which barely
rises above a tremulous whisper Ms Gardot wrings every last ounce of emotion
from a composition which, with its shimmering string arrangement, touches
something deep in our hearts. It is a transcendent performance. So too with the
shadowy allure of 'My Heart Won't Have It Any Other Way', whose impeccable
phrasing and stunning breath control delivers one of her finest performances
to date. The album is an exotic travelogue whose substantially Latin ambience
is full of longing and regret but when she let's her hair down, as she does on the
luminously upbeat final track 'Iemanga', we are compelled to dance along with her!

No ifs, no buts - this is simply glorious stuff!

Essential.
44 Comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
This Box contains 1CD, 1 DVD
CD contains 11 tracks in excellent sound quality and excellent performance
DVD contains 3audio tracks, 1video making of, 1video interview of Melody Gardot
audio tracks in excellent sound quality, 2videos in resolution 720X480 but medium quality by handycam.

The Box contains 16 pages with songs titles and lyrics but NO English language,
maybe some Sumerian or cuneiform writing or chicken scratch language, that it's absolute unreadable !!!
The Box contains also 10 very artistic photos , by my opinion these photos it's a shame for a Great Artist Melody Gardot.

This is NOT RECOMMENDED for usual audience but only for collectors of Melody Gardot fans.
RATING:
for Melody 5stars
for production 1star
average: 3stars

If you have to buy 1 CD only of Melody Gardot then you must buy this.
My One And Only Thrill [2CD Special Edition] CD1: 12tracks, CD2:5tracks
All tracks in excellent sound quality and excellent performance

Before you buy you can listen at low quality in youtube:
"Who Will Comfort Me", "My One And Only Thrill", "Les Etoiles", "Your Heart Is As Black As Night",
"Ain't No Sunshine", "The Rain ",
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
I'm a bit late 'discovering' Melody Gardot, but so glad I have. Lovely laid back songs on this CD, and not one filler - except, perhaps 'Track' 11 Iamanja which is definitely a filler! 18 minutes long, of which 15 minutes is silence. Bizarre - or maybe I've missed the point.... At least it's the last track, so you can stop playing after Track 10. Quality CD , nevertheless.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.32

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)