Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 3 July 2013
This is the third Barbara Cleverly novel I have read and I am enjoying every minute, I have been transported to far away lands with beautiful writing and I think that I am developing a crush on our British Bobby Joe Sandilands.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2013
Have just finished this book and it was a really good read, plot is interesting but not over complicated and would recommend. I have also been reading the other books in the series and can recommend them
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2015
This book has obviously been written by somebody who has either never been in India or has only briefly visited - my guess is never been there. I was born and brought up in India during the Raj so know about Simla and the other hill stations where we spent every summer. There are references to "lungurs" which are not found above 4000 feet and Simla is over 7000 feet - "Bengalis" and many other things which are absolute nonsense.
For the uninitiated I suppose it is romantic and exotic but I guessed right at the beginning who was the killer - it was simply too obvious and as an Agatha Christie fan - find this actually quite childish.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2013
Stand alone stories, full of atmosphere and mystery, a delightful and not too heavy read. Although this book two was late being offered and I had read other later ones, the story did not suffer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2013
Not a brain stretching read, but nevertheless most enjoyable. The intricacies of the ex pat society mores were very well depicted and our hero, definitely drawn from Richard Hannay school of bravery ,resourcefulness and smouldering good looks, was an appealing character whom you knew would prevail and overcome all dastardly plots. Despite this certainty there were plenty of twists and turns in the storyline so that one's interest did not wane. This book and others in the series makes a reassuringly good bedtime read. Not too many unsettling images to give one nightmares, but well written and absorbing to keep up the interest level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2013
A brilliant exciting book, why has it taken so long to be in kindle form. Hero Joe Sandilands is in top form and the plots are well worked out. Totally unexpected ending too
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2013
Only recently got into this writer and have now read all but her very latest. These are really good stories that keep you interested right to the end. The descriptions of her early novels set in India are fantastic and I can easily imagine the landscape and people she is describing. The stories are ralistic and enjoyable and the character of Joe Sandilands is believable and easy to like. This is the sort of book you start on a Friday night and keep reading until you finnish on Sunday evening without stopping to do anything else all weekend and consider it a weekend well spent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2013
Well written, good plot, convincing characterisation. I have read earlier novels by this author with this protagonist, and enjoyed them. This one is the best yet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2013
A great detective story from start to finish in the style of the old colonial period giving you an insight to the lifestyle in India
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2013
I was brought up on stories of the British Raj and this was accurate and empathetic - as well as a jolly good and compelling read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)