Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 11 April 2012
Now this was the album that really turned my attention to the growing artform of rock - and where better to start than with the combined talents of Marriott and Frampton on guitars and vocals and the rock steady rythmn section of Shirley and Ridley underpinning the whole project...this was pretty much the start that launched these four musicians into one of the hardest touring, hardest hitting arena bands that ever left these island shores after first having been pop idols not more than a handful of years prior to! What an amazing transformation!
This album, whilst very short, hits hard and fast with Live With Me with some fine vocals from both Marriott and Frampton with Frampton punching in neat frills and fillers throughout, One Eyed Trouser Snake Rumba, a typical Marriott double entendre heavy hitter and of course the stadium rocker; I'm Ready!
If you like Marriott's vocals and the jazzy guitar of Frampton, then this is without doubt sitting in your collection topped only by Performance: Rockin' At The Fillmore. For everyone else - what are you waiting for? This is pretty much where it all began 40 years or so ago......yet sounds as fresh today as when it first hit the streets.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2006
After the patchy first two albums (50/50 in quality) the Pie got it about right this time mixing the acoustic numbers with high octane boogie. It includes Marriot's best ever song 'live in me' seven minutes of emotion, great vocals and stirring hammond and Frampton's 'earth and water' his greatest ever song and beautifully delivered. There is 'only a roach' which goes into country rock territory and one number which matches 'stone cold fever' for rocking out 'one eyed trouser snake rumba' (great title) my only (slight) critic is that the closer 'see you later liquidator' goes on a bit. A minor quibble. Great cover as well!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Although I personally love their first two albums to bits ("As Safe As Yesterday" and "Town And Country" from July and December 1969 on Immediate Records) - their signing to A&M Records in 1970 saw their self-titled "Humble Pie" album released in the summer of that explosive year and their 'rawk' sound that we all know and love properly emerge.

Originally released on A&M Records AMLS 986 in July 1970 (A&M Records SP 4270 in the USA) - it's had a good CD reissue on Repertoire in 2005 in a digipak for some years now. But I'd argue that the stunning 24-bit Digital Remaster in carried in Japan in 2007 (and used since) is a whole different sonic ballgame. But in 2014 - I calculate there are now no less three Japanese release dates for this SHM-CD reissue - and I'd like to sort out what's what.

A SHM-CD doesn't require a special CD player to play it on (compatible on all) nor does it need audiophile kit to hear the benefits. It's a new form of the format that picks up the nuances of the transfer better (top quality make). I own about 15 of them and they're uniformly superb.

"Humble Pie" first appeared 14 February 2007 in Japan on Universal/A&M UICY-93219 (Barcode 4988005459732) in a gorgeous 5" Repro Mini Album Sleeve which even aped the stippled effect of the original A&M 1970 album and its gorgeous gatefold artwork. It had its Japanese worded booklet, an outer Obi strip - but most importantly it had a new 2007 24-bit remaster. As is the habit in Japan with these `supposed' limited editions - they seem to get reissued every two or three years - and that happened with this version on 29 December 2011 using the same UICY-93219 catalogue number.

But there is also a 22 April 2009 Japanese SHM-CD version on Universal/A&M UICY-94066 (Barcode 4988005555151) that also uses the 2007 remaster. If you cut and paste either of the above barcodes into Amazon's search bar - you will get the issue you want (check them because prices can fluctuate wildly - and not in a good way).

HUMBLE PIE - like those other great British bands FREE and LED ZEPPELIN - produced the most brilliant Rock albums in 1970 and 1971 with what seemed like effortless ease - and their 3rd LP "Humble Pie" is no different. Right from the opening seconds of the eight-minute "Live With Me" - the lonesome organ and drum rolls seem in your face - and when that great guitar kicks in - along with Marriott's distinctive wail - the power of it is fabulous. We get all acoustic dainty with the Jerry Shirley spliff-song "Only A Roach" (guitarist with the band) - returning to proper riffage with the cocky rocker "One-Eyed Trouser Snake". Side 1 of the 8-track LP ends with the pretty Peter Frampton "Earth And Water Song".

Side 2 opens with a great hard-rock cover of the Willie Dixon penned Muddy Waters classic "I'm Ready" and once again Marriott just sounds so damn cool - it's sick ("smoking TNT and Dynamite...") Back to Pedal Steel whimsy with "Theme From Skint (See You Later Liquidator)" where Steve bemoans his lack of `bread'. The remaster really lifts up the instruments - tambourine and acoustic guitars especially. We're then back to one of the album's collective songwriting highlights - the fantastic Boogie Rock of "Red Light Momma, Red Hot". It ends on the pretty Peter Frampton ballad "Sucking On The Sweet Vine" with rich chord changes that stay with you...

So there you have it. I also bought the next SHM-CD along in the sequence - their 4th album "Rock On" from March 1971 with genius tunes like "Shine On" and the `jam tart lips' of "79th And Sunset".

These Japanese SHM-CD reissues can be pricey I know - but if you're a fan seek them out - audio-wise they're just so worth it...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Before messieurs Marriott and Frampton parted ways they delivered some pretty good music. This is not one of their very best, however - it is too uneven, and indeed the best output from this era of the band comes right after this release with their classic live album. While I have heard this historically as a mono vinyl - in which state is has more power - the blues/country mix works rather well. But it fades, compared to their best work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
I have this on vinyl when it was released back then in 1970 . Saw it on C D and had to get it . Very good album ,This is the pie with Frampton and my fave track is Peter's , Earth and Water Song . I don't own every H P album , my fave being Rockin ' The Fillmore , but this one would be my next fave .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Generally a very good piece of rock. The only drawback is the inclusion of one or two almost cringeworthy softer tracks. Humble pie were at their heavy best when they played to Stevie Marriott's strengths; they were a lot less effective when trying to pay homage to hippy type balladeering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
An outstanding collection of songs, with one exception, that captures the essence of Humble Pie: rock power, rock/blues soul, country grove. The energy and charisma of Stevie Marriot shines through. Skip the track "Only a Roach" and a blissful experience awaits the listener.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Although purchased second hand from a rival company I thought I would leave a review on this site. I first bought this LP in 1970 when on holiday with my parents in the Isle of Man. I was age 16 and used to stay in the 'bed and breakfast' while my parents and grandfather went to the local working man's club for a 'piss-up'. If the lounge was empty the landlady would allow me to use her record player so I spent many a happy evening listening to this album over and over again. Now, 44 years later, it still sounds relevant. The tracks are varied and the path of Peter Frampton's solo career can be easily seen. The rockers on the album stand well with any I have heard from any band/artist in the intervening 44 years.
The first listen of this CD has left me wondering where Humble Pie would have gone if Messrs Frampton and Marriot had stayed together and understood each individuals' desire to daly with their respective influences and musical tastes,
I have no difficulty in awarding this music five out of five or ten out of ten.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
Humble pie were one of the great blues/rock bands of the seventies,and the "Liva at Fillmore east"album was one of the greatest live albums ever.
This is one of their early albums recorded for A&M as albums go it was afair representation of the band in transition from pop to a fully fledged rock band,
The album included a brilliant version of the blues classic "I'm Ready" which was a regular in their raw and rocking live performances for years.
"Red light Mama red hot was also featured as well,but generally the album was a springboard for later albums.
Steve Marriott.....Guitar,Vocals
Peter Frampton.....Guitar,Vocals
Gregg Ridley.....Bass,Vocals
Jerry Shirley.....Drums,Vocals
42m36s
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2005
Sadly hard to find on CD, this rates as one of the most accomplished Pie albums. Following the tentative and extensive stylistic experimentation of "As Safe as Yesterday Is" and "Town and Country", the band start to find their feet as toughened blues-rockers, while keeping at least one foot firmly placed in the mellow self-reflective acoustic territory of Peter Frampton (still a member at this point). The opening "Live With Me" is a powerhouse of instrumental interplay, with an organ sound redolent of the Pink Floyd of the same era. "One Eyed Trouser Snake Rumba", "I'm Ready" and "Red Light Mama,Red Hot" are out and out rockers which evinced a stylistic shift which allowed Pie to compete ,to some extent, stateside with Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath and co. A couple of humourous interludes are provided by "Only a Roach" and "Theme from Skint", while Greg Ridley's "Sucking On The Sweet Vine" rounds the album off with a genuinely haunting and heartfelt love song.
A transitory album, but quite possibly their best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)