Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
151
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2013
British drama truly at its finest, the acting performances of Vicky McClure, Joe Gilgun and Stephen Graham were jaw droppingly good, which is a little of a dis-service to the other actors that were also deserving of a mention.

The stories in these series were definately darker than the film, but I must say I was completely immersed in the world created by Shane Meadows, who manages to mix darkness and light to stunning effect...if I`m being totaly honest, I will admit to watching certain scenes with tears in my eyes and then found myself laughing at the top of my voice, a definite break-neck journey of emotions....gutted when it ended, which is always a good sign.

Any chance of This Is England 90 Mr Meadows?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
I love This Is England and this Blu Ray boxset is not only excellent value,but the quality is stunning.It's not so much the vibrancy,it's the clarity of the picture that really stands out. . .it looks crystal clear on my set up.

If your a fan of the film BUY IT NOW!!!!,it follows on perfectly.

Meadows at his best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
After watching these on TV i found them quite entertaining there was some comic moments with Gadget but these two series were darker more character driven then This is England i would like to thank Shane Meadows for writing this and creating a future classic.

To the other reviews about regions i found it unfair your meant to comment on the programme not if the discs worked take it up with amazon
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
This Is England is one of my most favourite films. And This Is England '86 and '88 are by far my favourite series. If you are a fan of Shane Meadows this is definitely for you. 86' and 88' are absolutely stunning and are a perfect follow on from the film. The cast are phenomenal and each grow beautifully throughout the film and series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
An excellent production. It's not a comedy. It's not a drama. It's something of its own and I loved it.

I specially liked the last chapter of England 88. The acting was out of this world.

The photography is excellent too and the bluray delivers such a sharp, beautiful image.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Shane Meadows is a dark Genius, with this ongoing addictive story with a growing young cast constantly blowing your mind away. Vicky McClure & Jo Gilgun will have you laughing & crying at the same time, back ground music is also very though provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Maybe not as good as the film as the format is slightly different. But if you liked the film then you need to see this too. I would watch the fim first though as it follows on and you have to understand what has happened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
Great follow up to the original film. Very much darker though and although it contains some humour it was nowhere near as comical. The 80's were my teen years and it brough back a lot of memories of how life really was.
Can't wait for the next installment due out later this year :o)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
These films are remarkable and genius works from the hands of Shane Meadows, who in our opinion is the finest film maker in the uk today. This is England gives a gritty tragic, yet in parts
comic, portraits of the English working class in the 1980's. A truly beautiful series of works, if you haven't watch This is England yet then you are truly missing out on something very special.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
This is as good as tv can get...even better than the wire and game of thrones. Absolutely flawless script and acting. If watching for the first time I would recommend the film first then the box set, to get a flavour for the characters. Get this box set now it's worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)