Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
Stained Glass
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99

on 15 June 2017
Love this author, she writes excellent stories that I find hard to put down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
Superbly written stories, each disturbing in its own way. 'Stained Glass' horrifies because of its normal everyday setting. It has made me very aware of little stained glass windows in peaceful cottages! 'The Penny Execution' will thrill anyone who has read the works of Edgar Allen Poe, while 'The Sleigh' is a thoughtful, poignant tale with a supernatural twist.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Here are three intriguing, wonderfully poised and confident, beautifully written stories of the supernatural. Two are firmly in the British ghost story tradition. The third, 'The Sleigh', is based on an actual experience from a Polish childhood and has its own fascinating qualities - the poignancy of memories of long ago and the terror of a truly unnerving visitation. 'Stained Glass' and 'The Penny Execution' use the convention of the 'power object': the stained glass window which still records the shocking scene it witnessed years before and the Victorian penny-in-the-slot machine which enacts a joke beheading which grows more real every time it is played. They appear in all their strangeness and disappear unexplained: the unsettling experience they offer is the whole point of these memorable and (literally) haunting stories.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
I really enjoy reading Catherine Czerkawska's books and these 3 short stories about a glass window which views a scene from the past, a penny slot maching which shows an execution and a man born in a sleigh are pretty good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
I keep saying I'm not a great one for ghost stories, then finding ghost stories that I really enjoy - like these three short stories. I'm narrowing it down to preferring not to be made to jump out of my skin. But ghost stories that just hint at a parallel reality give a delicious frisson, I am finding, before depositing me back in the world that I know; but with imagination and experience stretched beyond the normal just that little bit.

These three tiny, elegant stories stretch the barrier between the real and the unreal, making just a little rent in it through which the reader can glimpse the strange and disturbing, from the past, or from another world. Recommended ghostly reading for the scaredy-cat reader!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
I enjoyrd this book but thought the book was not very long read it in 1 hour I think catherine,s people seem very real although these were short stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Well researched and equally well written.A most absorbing tale backed up with fascinating insights into the background of lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
An enjoyable book of short stories. Easy to read. Enjoyed the hint of the unknown and surprise.
Widely suitable reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Convincing setting and an original idea. Does a lot in a short compass and moves gently to quite a shocking conclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

The Jewel
£3.79
The Physic Garden
£3.79
The Amber Heart
£2.99
Ice Dancing
£2.99

Need customer service? Click here