Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Choice of Weapon
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 September 2012
Although I bow to no-one in my admiration for the work of Lord Astbury of Heswall and Sir William Duffy OBE (well they would be if there was any justice now, wouldn't they ?) and The Cult always make interesting, exciting music, it has been too long since they produced anything with the instant appeal of this mighty album.

Although COW's two predeccesors, Beyond Good and Evil and Born Into This were both solid efforts that many bands would have been proud of, they were, to me, compromised by songs that didn't stand comparison with Ian and Billy's best work and the production jobs were respectively too cluttered and too clean.

However, this time Bob Rock has done a superb job in getting the best out of the band, with a sound that is more gritty and dynamic, packing a tremendous punch. The gap between BIT and the new album also seems to have given the terrible twins a bit of breathing space to come up with some truly industrial strength new material.

I paid the extra £1.49 for the deluxe digipak version, with 4 extra songs that were originally released in digital format as the Capsule EP and I'm not sorry I did.

There simply isn't a bad track on this album, but standouts include Honey From A Knife, Elemental Life, The Wolf, For The Animals, Lucifer and A Pale Horse.

If you haven't got it yet, you must - you won't be disappointed...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2012
People throw around the names of The Cult's three iconic records (Love, Electric & Sonic Temple) when reviewing Choice of Weapon. While they're right to mention them, they should avoid drawing steadfast comparisons - this album still sounds like The Cult, but it's a kaleidoscopic version - as much as tracks on here could fit on those three amazing albums, some other tracks sound like the albums people try and write out of the band's history. Elemental Light sounds like it could fit on the band's self-titled 1994 album (admit it!) with it's odd rhythm and slow-burn build up to a curveball chorus. For The Animals would've fit onto Born Into This quite easily, just listen to Born Into This-era tune War Pony Destroyer. The guitar lick that opens The Wolf sounds like Love-era Cult, and there's a distinct Jimmy Page flavour throughout. Of course, all these points, to a Cult fan, are positives.

While quality of the tracks ranges from superb (For The Animals), to good (Wilderness Now), the majority of the record is astounding and pure Cult. Astbury's voice is richer than ever, Billy is still coming up with the goods, and the rhythm section John and Chris are providing the Cult with their most versatile beats and basslines since Electric.

Objectively, there's a lot here that could be deemed hammy (borrowed riffs and obtuse lyrics) but subjectively, as a Cult fan? It's tremendous, right down to Ian's weird vamping towards the end of Pale Horse. There's plenty for new and old fans alike to dig here.

PS. Get the deluxe edition, as the Capsule EPs included on the second disc and are worth playing loud

The Cult have delivered their most listenable album since Electric.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2012
A welcome return after a five year studio absence from Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy. I wouldn't say it's an album that harks back to their earliest raw days at all, but it's certainly got a lot going for it. Arguably it also shows off some of Duffy's best guitar work for quite some time. Soundwise it's not too far away from the "Sonic Temple" and "Ceremony" era of the late 80's and early 90's but without sounding too dated, not that those albums sound dated but a quite a few of the tracks wouldn't sound out of place on either of those albums. "Life>Death" and "For The Animals" are particular stand out tracks for me on first listen. It also features some top notch work from former White Zombie drummer John Tempesta and one time Ozzy bassist Chris Wyse.
Production wise it's very soild, but that isn't surprising when you have the huge talents of "Sonic Temple" and former Metallica (amongst many others) producer Bob Rock and former Masters of Reality mainman and Kyuss, Queens Of The Stone Age and UNKLE producer Chris Goss working together on it. All in all it's never going to be as classic an album as "Love", "Electric" or "Sonic Temple", but it's certainly very good in it's own right. And for a band that have been knocking out some of the finest British rock tunes of the last few decades, it's a lot better than what many bands half their age are churning out.
2012 seems to be a good year for older bands and artists to be releasing new material that is their best work for a long time such as the new albums from Killing Joke and Orbital to name just a couple. And that my friends can only be seen as a good thing!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2012
received this cd promptly and as specified, listened to it a few times now, and having been a fan for a good number of years, still havn't made up my mind about it, it isnt ceremony or sonic temple, these are my favourites, and still remain so, but as I am a fan it is still ok, just not "great", it was a good price though, and came with the bonus cd which is worth having.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2012
I didn't realise how long I'd been a fan of the Cult until I read a recent article in Mojo...suffice to say I've lived in five properties, been in at least three jobs, lost one wife, found another prospective one...you get the drift.

Choice of Weapon sounds as good as anything the band have released throughout that time and is my favourite album of the month (and its been a good month for me musically, old stuff and the new)...roll on September when I finally get to see them live in Birmingham.

Buy this album...sing these songs...smile in the darkness
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2012
I'll just say that thrive with each new album of one of my favorite bands of all times - The CULT. Choice of Weapon is no disappointment. I am loving it more and more. I just wish I could enjoy it with all the happiness this moments deserve but unfortunately I am going through an emotional storm in my life. Hopefully these worse times will end soon and I will be able to enjoy The Cult's music and Life in full again.
Buy it if you're a Cult/Rock 'n' Roll fan, you will not regret it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2012
I received this on the day of release and was delighted to hear such a great album. The first thing that struck me was the quality of the recording, none of that 'Loudness'on it.
from the opening of Honey from a knife to the close of This Night in the City Forever Billy Duffy plays a storm of thundering power chords along with the powerful rhythm section of Chris Wyse on Bass and John Tempesta on drums. Ian's vocal performance does not disappoint.

I highly recommend this album 10 of 10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2012
There are no surprises with this offering from the band, what you have is the classic Cult sound, big riffs, pounding rhythms and Astbury's excellent vocal delivery. Shades of the Doors on this album though given Ian's recent activities that is no surprise.
I won't waffle on, if you like or liked the Cult, buy this album, its good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2012
Jesus H Christ this album ROCKS!! wether your a seasoned fan or only ever heard a couple of Cult songs this baby is a must have disc!! Brilliant vocals guitars and drums, awesome production this is one of those albums that gets into your head with every play. Who said the Cult were dead.......FOO WHO?? RECOMMENDED BUY THREE COPIES FOR YOUR MATES!

ASTBURY AND DUFFY I SALUTE YOU THANKYOU FOR SAVING ME FROM RADIO FRIENDLY KERRANG DROSS
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2012
A great album that grows on you the more you listen to it. If you get a chance to see The Cult live, as I did recently then you'll be in for a first class performance. Great vocals, lyrics, guitar. Just like the old days! Get it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here