Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2012
What an excellent book, compelling right from that startling first sentence. I loved the cynical anti-hero and was delighted that he kept his cynicism to the very end. The plot was well thought out; the book was a real page turner. I also liked the insights into the 'inner world' of barristers. And, Ms Bettle was illuminatingly horrific about some dreadful abuses of human rights. It's a 'must-read'!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2012
This was a good, quick, entertaining read, full of twists and turns.

All too often, in this type of detective story, those twists and turns are just not convincing - but with this one, I really felt that the author had done her homework and knew what she was talking about. Marc, the main character, is not an obvious good guy - but he does end up on the side of the angels. The teenage girl Malaika is sweet and naive and optimistic, and between the two of them...

Ah, no, shan't give the plot away.

Anything this readable for under a quid cannot be worth less than five stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
Written from the viewpoints of a barrister, Marc Dufour, and Malaika, the young woman victim he cross examines in court, this is a legal thriller of the highest order; I could not put it down. The twists and turns of the plot make for compulsive reading and the author's non-obtrusive writing style allowed me to immerse myself well and truly in the story.
On one hand we have Marc - clever, good at his job but world weary and self-destructive; on the other, Malaika, a naive African girl whose innocence and desire to do her best for her siblings ends in tragedy. The two meet in an Old Bailey courtroom with life-changing outcomes for both of them.
I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending Dead Man's Shoes, not only for its pacy and gripping storyline, but also for the insights it gives into some of the the exploitative and dreadful practices going on in Africa at the moment. Ms Bettle is a barrister and she also provides some very interesting insights into the day to day lives and attitudes of members of her profession.
A five star read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
One of the best Kindle books on my tablet - it is very nicely written, with humour, compassion and intelligence. The protagonist is flawed but sympathetic, his moral crisis is very well told.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
I absolutely loved this book with all it's twists and turns. The main character is slightly damaged but has you rooting for him all the way through the book. There is a wonderful sense of humour running alongside intrigue and emotion. My best read for some time and I'll look out for this writer again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
Wanted to read something a little different .....and found it with 'Dead Man's Shoes'.

Written in an easy style with interesting insight into main characters. Keeps you interested and curious as to outcome.

Very refreshing. Will be looking for more novels by Janet Bettle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Wow! This has been a roller coaster journey of a read. The characters are excellent and draw you into their lives. Be prepared to endure a whole range of emotions as you are sucked into this incredible story. I would highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
Often I take a book and read it thinking it was OK, but not realistic. This one was, I really enjoyed it from page one to the end. I was awake must of the night thinking of it and what will happen, of course I was wrong. More please, Janet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
Downloaded and read within two days says it all :-)
The story rattled along and I had no idea where it was going but I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Will look out for more books by the author if this is the standard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
What a thrilling book. Was quite surprised at the outcome and was held in suspense the whole time. couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here