Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
28
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 7 May 2017
really like John Wilson and his orchestra - have many other CDs and this one is just as good - lovely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
another great c.d. by the best band in the land
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
All these cd s where just Brillo just great CDs Thank YouTony Byrne
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 September 2012
This was the next CD to be released by Mike Dutton's Vocalion label featuring the John Wilson Orchestra after his successful Orchestral Jazz release. There are 20 tracks on the CD played in arrangements by one of Britain's top dance bands of the 1930s and 1940s, Geraldo.
Geraldo was the exotic sounding stage name of bandleader Gerald Bright, born in London. One of Geraldo's key arrangers was the young Wally Stott who eventually formed a band of his own in England. Stott later emigrated to America and became known as an arranger under the name of Angela Morley, though only one of the arrangements here is hers. Most of the other tracks are arranged by Alan Roper, with other tunes arranged by Reg Owen, Roland Shaw and Johnny Keating - all names familiar to those of us who are old enough to have listened to and danced to this music the first time around! This is dance music at its best - the sort of music teenagers danced to for several decades until the emergence of rock-and-roll in the 1960s. Wilson has also recorded two more CDs of Angela Morley arrangements.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2010
This collection of favourites directed by John Wilson and played so beautifully has fast become one of my most played CDs. Wonderful dance tunes. I recommend it highly.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
This is a great CD, with good quality sound reproduction. As an elderly gentleman who well remembers hearing (and seeing live) Geraldo in the 1950s, it is a lovely experience to hear again a 'big band' lineup of wind and brass, backed by the steady beat of a rhythm section which includes a proper string bass. My only (slight) reservation is with the guitar, which doesn't quite seem to have the 'punch' I would prefer. I know Geraldo's Ivor Mairants is a tough one to follow - his clever and imaginative playing was, for me, always the highlight of any Geraldo performance. Still, I guess we can't always have everything!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2009
This cd is for anyone who likes good music by a brilliant orchestra.I cant recommended this cd enough.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
John Wilson uses hand-picked classical and jazz musicians to produce a glorious sound. Hugely enjoyable music in outstanding performances. Buy it now!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Bought as a gift for my parents who loved it and can remember dancing to Geraldo so were very good judges.A good variety of songs in fact I liked it so much I shall buy a copy for myself.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
This C.D. is wonderful takes me back to Saturday Evening listening to the radio, my Mum & Dad would take a turn round the lounge doing a foxtrot they loved dancing.
John Wilson arrangements if you close your eyes it could be Geraldo playing
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)