Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 23 April 2017
Last time I built anything like this was nearly 40 years ago. Looked for easy way back into okd hobby and this is ideal. Enough fiddly bits to prove a challenge. Glue, brush & paint ok. Small scissors and nail file usrful to have at hand.
Sweat, time and a few choice words later kit done, hopefully.
Cromwell Cruiser not available to me 40 years ago. Pleasure to see it is now. Next project,hunt for Comet tank kit, or the Black Prince
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
I grabbed this as a weekend project while working on something bigger, but also, to test out Revell Revell39066 Weathering Set with 6 Pigments. I haven't been building models for THAT long in comparison to some others--nine months at least. It seems like a nice starter set for beginners. Although I would advise using tweezers, and a magnifying glass if you don't have good enough eyesight. At this scale, there are a few tiny parts that can get lost or broken easily if you're not careful. I actually broke one or two parts, and had to either glue them back on--or scratch-build a replacement part.

It was still good fun, though.

Unlike with other kits, I decided to give the paints a try. It's a preference of mine to use primer. For beginners, just thoroughly wash the parts on their sprues/frames in warm soapy water with a splash of vinegar. I airbrushed the main structure with the green (I'm guessing Humbrol) paint provided, with little need to thin it down. I had plenty left, that I was able to hand brush other parts (like wheels) on their sprues. I used additional paints I had laying around for some other details.

A 5/5 from me.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2017
I remember making Airfix kits as a child and the quality was sometimes not the best and they generally needed quite a bit of work to gets parts to fit. On some of the poorer ones it was even difficult to tell where the flash ended and the part began, Well if this kit is anything to go by then future releases are going to be welcomed by model makers.
The kit has a detailed instruction leaflet and a nice decal sheet - but it's the sprues that really surprised me. I could not see the slightest bit of flash even on the smallest parts - and the parts themselves are superbly detailed and crisp. There are some very fine elements that need to be separated very carefully so as not to damage them.
If this kit is anything to go by then Airfix will be high on my shopping list in future.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
This kit has been manufactured using new moulding and the kit has fine recessed panel lines.It is assembled quite easily and the instructions are straightforward.The decals are opaque,accurate and easily applied.It is a great kit for beginners and accurate enough for more experienced modellers.The acrylic paints are very accurate as you would expect from Humbrol.
Airfix have really improved in the last few years and some of their kits more than equal the best Japanese manufacturers.Their new Fairey Swordfish kit is excellent and has been reviewed very favourably by expert reviewers.The 1:48 Westland Lynx kits are also brilliant.For those wanting super detailing many brass etched and resin parts are available from specialist manufacturers.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
A very well detailed model that I enjoyed building. All the main parts fitted together well, some of the smaller ones needed a bit of trimming/filing to get them to sit correctly in their place. I was a bit disconcerted when I began painting the model as the number 65 paint appeared far more turquoise than the grey that the painting instructions indicated it should be. However, now I have finished the model and attached the decals it looks good. Some of the smaller parts such as the aerial and the tail struts are delicate and need to be handled with extreme care if any excess plastic needs to be trimmed off.

Another good model from Airfix.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
I have began to get back into Airfix models and have built the U Boat and thought I would give planes another go. Purchasing models as double sets can make it cheaper as it comes with the paints and glue and it takes longer to build the overall models.

The instructions are easy to follow with optional preferences such as landing gear up or down. Painting instructions where very good and the paint supplied was plentiful. Only problems I had was the decals are very delicate and can be easily ruined, they did not have instructions on how to remove the adhesive glue on decals so had to YouTube it ( method I used was to place chosen decal in water for 20 - 30 seconds and then dry using provided tissue paper, slide off decal and apply to glue which has been spread onto the chosen area)

Another issue I found was that the paint for the Zero does not match a pure white as seen on packaging and is a more light green/ grey colour "90" I think. but still looks good (customers may want to use different paint or pick a different colour scheme, look online). The packets containing the models are not listed to which is which so had to compare wings to the instructions.

So why overall 5 stars? The models are a strong plastic and look great after completion. I am not the most experienced Airfix modeller and agree with many that to spite the kit being skill level 1 buyers need to be patient and perhaps watch some videos of planes being built so they can grasp techniques and not stumble into any problems.

Good luck to buyers and enjoy these great models.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
This kit makes a fantastic Falklands War era Sea Harrier, and is bursting with alternative weapons etc. that you can fit to it. It is based on the 1970s Airfix Harrier GR.1 kit, and a bit of cutting is required to fit the new Sea Harrier cockpit and nose to the older fuselage, making it only appropriate for somebody with fairly good modelling skills. Saying that, everything does fit together very well, and the end result makes all the time needed to complete this model very rewarding. It's a shame Airfix only supply one set of decals with this kit, as the option to model a Sea Harrier in the earlier colour scheme would have been good. Also, although the paints supplied are adequate, they are not as good as others avaliable such as the Humbrol enamels or those from Tamiya, although most modellers willing to make a 1/24 scale kit would have these anyway. These are the only niggly reasons I'm giving it a four star, rather than five star rating. Overall, yes, I can thoroughly recommend buying this kit.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
Wonderful kit. All parts fit seamlessly and without any problems. Be warned though that the barrels of the 4 guns are quite fiddly (managed to break them myself), so be careful with them. The transparent parts are wonderful and allow for multiple variations, and the decals are excellent! If you're just starting out, the paints in the set'll do but the brushes are quite cheap so I also recommend you get a set of brushes as well. The glue is good, although I do recommend you apply it with a toothpick.

Again, absolutely wonderful piece of kit! This is truly what modellers expect in this day and age.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2016
Nice starter kit, but you really need to read the instructions carefully to see which transfers need to be applied before which parts. As usual the transfer instructions all come together at the end but some are meant to fit before the pylons.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Perfect. I can still remember the first Airfix Defiant from the 60's and that was the only game in town for a long time. This offering from Airfix is what modellers expect in this day and age. Crisp mouldings, thin and clear Transparencies and a great decal sheet.
A highly recommended model of this interesting fighter.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)