Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
41
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2013
What an experience to go back to that beautiful country ..would love to see the film that was made of her life. Excellent read ,could not put it down ..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
Fantastic easy to read once you start you don't want to put it down. Makes you wish you had followed your dream.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2009
Reunion in Barsaloi
Having lived in Kenya and spent many holidays at Diani Beach, and having gone on safaris to Samburu, I was unable to put the book down until I had finished reading the entire copy. I also read the White Masai and Return from Africa which evoked unforgettable memories of our years living and working in East Africa.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2007
"Reunion in Barsaloi" is essential reading if you've read "The White Masai". This book explores Hofmann's return to Kenya more than a decade after she fled her Masai husband. Although her style is as engaging as ever, this book lacked the substance of the first. It seemed almost a memorial to the many loved ones she left behind, and does indeed make for moving reading, but perhaps not quite as much so as the first novel. Being African myself, I loved the emotions she evoked with her numerous passages describing the changes to Africa, and couldn't help but feel regret about many of them - as I believe she does. It is also interesting to read how her and her "ex" husband establish a peace of sorts, and how there remains, if not love, a deep affection between them. I very much hope that should she decide to take her daughter to meet her Kenyan family, she would write a memoir of this too - I'd definitely buy it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
To return to the country after a gap of 14 years, i found this book just as interesting as white maasi..Descriptions of the every day way of life,which has change but in many ways still the same old. diffinitely worth reading
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
I read the white massai in 2 days, I couldnt put it down and was hungry for more. The follow up books did not disappoint. If you enjoyed the first book buy Back from Africa and This one also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
After reading her two books before this one I just had to read it to go on her adventure back to barsaloi and I was not disappointed, her stories are so that you feel you are there with her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
If you want to know about how the other half live, this is a fascinating read, along with the first book in the story. Very vivid and stays with you after it is read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Good sequel to the white masai i really enjoyed this story and in some ways it was better than the original. would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
If you read White Masai and/or Back from Africa, you'll have been waiting for the end of the story. Still as captiving as the prequel, it is a satisfying read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)