Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Being Human - Series 4 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 12 July 2012
I didn't really like the 3 first seasons (box) for several reasons and gave it 2 stars in my review, mostly for trivial storylines, senseless infantile bickering and blabbering. I got criticising comments from several Brit's saying that I obviously had language problems, and could as such not appreciate that this kind of senseless bickering and blabbering, really is great fun to Brit's.
( Yeah right, but I got an IQ above 70 and can as such enjoy the senseless blabbering of Monty Python, he-he-he)

The 4'th season is even more confusing/mindless and blabbering, so it will only be a 1 star from me.
55 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2012
At the end of season three, I really worried that season four would either make or break the series. Unfortunately, season four broke it. Horribly.

I watched in horror as this show rapidly spun into a mess of convoluted story-arcs, weak characters, repetitive story-lines and dull writing. Most of the episodes were just plain dull and forgettable; their only redeeming quality being the occasional fun bit of dialogue (which was, sadly, the minority rather than the norm).

What stung most was the characters. They simply did not have the personality, or the chemistry that the characters did in earlier series. I did not find myself warming to ANY of the new cast-nor did I find them all that interesting.

There were some choices in the direction of the story that I did not think were good ideas, or even all that very well done. (I will not say more out of not wanting to give away spoilers)

Considering the majority of praise this season has gotten from fans, I cannot help but feel that my opinion is the minority here. But I have to wonder why that is --- this show has clearly fallen so far from what made the original series fantastic, and I cannot understand how fans are not complaining more about it. At this point, what I once loved about Being Human has been mutated into something completely ridiculous, cliche and boring. There was very little about the theme of "Being Human", and too much about the conflict with vampires, the end of the world, and a stupid prophecy(I hate prophecy storylines). These aspects did not feel at all in keeping with what Being Human once was.

There are eight episodes in this series, and most of them are forgettable. The characters were mostly very flat, and very few of them remained in the series for any longer than an episode. Most of them were just plain weird, or freaks, and I couldn't help but wonder whether ANYONE in the Being Human world was actually... normal. Because the "real" humans seemed about as un-human as the vampires and wearwolves. Many of the story-lines seemed set up just so that yet another vampire could be slain, or rip out someone's throat. I got tired of it by the end.

Overall, many of the episodes from this series were weak and forgettable. They either consisted of conflicts that were silly and dull, or had been done before (and to a much higher quality) in past seasons. I'm pretty sure we saw enough of vampires trying to deal with resisting their "dark, vampire side", with Mitchel---we didn't need to see it done again with someone else. Couldn't the writers think of any development for these characters save to have them go through what had already been done? Likewise, there were other story-lines that felt like I'd seen them, or variations of them, already: the ghost that can't move on because it has unfinished business, a journalist that gets too close to discovering the existence of vampires, etc etc. It was such a letdown to see these ideas done again, and all I could think whilst I suffered through these dull imitations was that they were done so much better the first time!

Again, I have to ask---what on earth were the writers thinking? Season four of Being Human felt as soul-less and empty as the vampires!

With so many of the original cast departing from the series, I understand that it must have been very, very difficult for the writers to recover from those losses. But, I could not help but feel that there were endless opportunities here to really let the show shine. And yet, so much was wasted. The ending, however, whilst not being particularly good or well done (in my opinion) has at least left me with some slight hope that season five (if there is one) could see a return to better things.
22 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2012
I must have been watching a different show to the other reviewers. I too was worried when most of the cast either were unable, or decided not to return for the 4th season. My fears were well founded when the writers idea of coping with the change was to introduce 3 new (?) characters.

And what a shock, the moody vampire had a friend from his distant and evil past who was a police officer in the town where he now lived. Didn't we already do this one? The story line with the baby was a joke, the acting was sub standard when compared to the first 3 seasons and we had another ditzy ghost.

Avoid this series. Pretend it all ended after season 3 and that this season was never made.
44 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2012
So how do you build on the cliffhanger of Mitchell's death at the end of season 3? Where does the war on Vampires go from there? Turns out the answers the writers came up with are, 'you dont' and 'nowhere' respectively.

Instead, you trivialise the death of a lead character by having it happen off camera in a timeline between series, and busy yourself getting rid of yet another one as soon as you can in the new series.

Oh, and that big vampire plot? turns out it was about 10 of them in a warehouse, and they dont put up much of a fight. But in the process a werewolf forces itself to change out of cycle- thats interesting. Imagine the possibilities of a weaponised werewolf in control of his state, fighting for good against the vamps. That would be brill-oh hang on, no, of course they wont build on something original, it killed him.

But dont worry! Because they can then come up with an incredibly contrived and twee method of bringing in new characters that are more or less the same as the old one's, only more annoying. These clowns can then busy themselves exploring quandries of their conditions already dealt with in the previous 3 series.

But at least the ghost is still around right!? Oh yes, Annie is still there, but sadly, without her original friends around to reign in her neurotic nature, she is now utterly, utterly infuriating, and her IQ has dropped 20 points to facilitate some truly stupid plot developments through her errors.

Add in dialogue that truly belongs in a CBBC kids show, and Being Human has gone from a fresh, uniquely British alternative to True Blood, to a shelved series of Rentaghost.

George, Nina and Mitchell are dead. The show is dead. Avoid.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 December 2014
A three disc dvd set, which contains all eight one hour long episodes of Being Human series four. A bbc series about a Vampire, a Werewolf and a Ghost sharing a house together and trying to lead normal lives. Supernatural distractions notwithstanding.

This is not really a jumping on point, so new viewers should start with season one.

Regular viewers, read on.

Minor spoilers do follow. But you'll get those from the front and back of the box anyhow.

This season changes the line up. As you can see from the box cover. Time has passed between the series three finale and the start of this one. During which time a major event has happened offscreen. That does feel a bit jarring at first. But the length of the episode does mean you have more than come to terms with it by the end.

Annie is faced with having to bring up the Werewolf baby on her own. But manages to form a new family to replace her old one. Tom, the young werewolf from series three becomes a regular character. Then there's new housemate Hal. A five hundred year old vampire. Posh. Uptight. Obsessive compulsive. And hiding from his horrible past.

Living normal lives and bringing up baby Eve won't be easy. Hal and Tom don't initially get on whatsoever. Someone is trying to expose the existence of werewolves. And the old ones are on their way...

How you react to the changes is going to be a matter of opinion. But if you're prepared to accept them, then they're fine. Hal is a great character, an individual in his own right and totally different in many ways from Mitchell. He and Tom do, over the course of the season, make a great double act. And both characters do develop really well.

Annie is a solid centre to the whole thing, because she is having to bear a lot of responsibility.

There are individual storylines complete in a single part once again. Some of which are very good indeed. There's some really good black comedy at times. Some excellent guest characters. And a season long main plot that develops nicely and doesn't go the way you might expect.

The eighth episode doesn't really have the budget to do the big scale thing it could have been. So it has to get by on character moments. As a result of which, you won't forget the last few minutes in a hurry. These wok because they do bring an end to all that has come so far, and point the show off in a new direction as well. Said last episode also does grab thanks to an amazingly good guest star turn from Mark Gatiss.

A strong season. Which is no mean feat considering what it had to do. And a really good watch.

Some may wish to watch out for flashing images in episodes five and seven.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles; English.

There are the following extras:

Disc one has a four minute long trailer which recaps the events of the first three series.
Plus three five minute long prologues to this series. Hal. Tom. The Old Ones. All need to be watched. Ideally before episode one.

Disc two has interviews with the three main cast members, plus Russell Tovey, the producer, and the show's creator. All these run from six to nine minutes in length, and are very good watching.

Disc three has six featurettes, all about various aspects of the series and how they were produced:

Toby's guide. Two minutes long, and a brief introduction to part of the main plotline. So it could ideally be watched pre episode one.
Goodbye Russell.
The Fall of George.
Adam Returns.
The museum.

These run from three to seven minutes. All are interesting and good viewing.

There's also seven minutes worth of deleted scenes. These can only be watched all in a row. And it's worth doing that.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2012
Well, well, well...
I must admit that when I heard that about 75% of the original cast were leaving before the 4th series ended, I was sceptical at the prospect of Being Human without principle figures that held together much of the show.
How wrong was I?
As the series began with George's immense sacrifice, it makes for truly heart-breaking TV. But the show doesn't dwell on it, and some may even claim that it was wrong not to, I however saw it as something so much more, about just getting on and dealing with it because other matters were more important.
With this series, two new editions join Annie. Tom, from the previous series, comes into his own. His naivety and childlike nature develops over the eight episodes and is perfect when playing it against Hal, the prim, OCD new vampire. But in no sense is he a replacement for Mitchell, instead he is a wonderful character who is entirely his own. It is hardly believable that the actor Damien Molony is fresh out of acting school given is wonderful performance. In some cases I actually prefer him to Mitchell.
And Annie, oh, lovely Annie. Her wonderful presence is what holds the entire show together. Lenora is wonderful, as she always has been, really having to fend for herself now that George, Mitchell and Nina are gone. But eventually she learns to trust the new residents of Hondula Heights.
Aside from the three regulars, wonderful characters come and go; Adam (the horny teenage vampire from the previous series), Allison (A wonderfully quirky werewolf) Kirby (a ghost who is slightly in need of help...) Alex (Tomboyish lass from Scotland on a holiday) Cutler (Who I would be more than happy to make a return next series in a flashback...) Regus (the vampire recorder) And Mr Snow, whom, I shall say is one of the creepiest vampires I have ever laid eyes upon.
The series has reverted back to the premise of series 1, and focuses more on the comedy and the heart of Being Human, which is ultimately just humanity.
The DVD in itself is, unlike the previous three DVD sets, a lot more weighted with extras. The interviews with the cast, production officers and the writer Toby Whithouse give a greater idea to their plans. The deleted scenes are brilliant to watch, particularly the last one, which makes me laugh all the time. It also includes the prequels for the new characters and gives a trailer detailing the last three years of the show. And finally, the behind the scenes footage that the BBC posted during the show being on air are extended slightly to give a lot more depth.
A wonderful addition to my DVD collection and I still continue to be a loyal fan. Bring on series 5!
11 Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2012
The end of the third series had been dramatic with the killing of Mitchell by George. But nothing is simple in this fourth series. Nina has disappeared because after giving birth to a girl she does not have time to name she is destroyed by some vampiristic mob. George is paranoid about the prediction that the baby is the saviour of humanity and has to be killed by the vampires when they come to take over the world, he understands it as if she had to be killed for vampires to be able to take over. He is unable to survive very long in that paranoia and thus he leaves Annie and the baby with an unfinished job, in his mind at least. If he knew the truth he would really be frightened. But the house is a real crossroads for vampires, werewolves and ghosts, provided they are all detached from the real monstrous things they may represent and they are trying to live human lives.

A young werewolf comes back, Tom , and he is known of us so he is easily accepted and integrated even before George disappears. But he is still a kid and he has to learn how to fight and kill vampires since werewolves have that divine task to do.

The vampire is more difficult to find. He is Hal, but in fact this is a nickname and they learn in due time he is an old one who has decided to leave the flock and wean himself, which he has been doing for fifty five years now, a short time after all when compared to the extreme length of his living dead survival he calls a life. And being this old one he is also the future king of the vampires when they take the world over. He is Prince Harry, a common name for a prince since Shakespeare and quite popular nowadays.

But this series has a new tone in a way because it is the series in which the old ones are coming to take over the world and they have to be destroyed. But the problem is the prediction. The baby called Eve by George on his death bed is the saviour of humanity. But is she the one who can protect humanity by being alive against the vampires? Or is she the one who can stop and destroy all the old ones by dying? Or is she the one who can open the gates to vampires by dying? The same question is at the heart of these questions: must Eve live and protect humanity or die and save humanity as well as destroy the old ones?

In fact this question is not even accurate. Little by little we know the baby Eve has to die but the real question is how? Especially when the ghost of an eighteen year old Eve comes up into the picture to explain to Annie why she, Eve, must die.

Of course it is all more complicated than that and our three main heroes will be joined by the ghost of Alex, a girl Hal had courted a little bit and who was killed by a certain Cutler, a vampire obsessed by making history and who trapped Harry into drinking her blood, which send Harry back on a frenzy of submissiveness to the oldest one of them all, the one from whom all vampire DNA comes and who finally arrives on earth to fulfil the prophecy.

To spice up the tale we have flash-forwards into the future as it is going to be if the vampires take over. Something pretty scary since human beings will have to be eliminated except the number necessary to feed the vampires. Humanity will become the bleeding cattle of the newcomers. This is very similar to the means used in other series or in novels to achieve the same objective: to make the heroes save the present because there is no future without a present that is alive and well. I am thinking of Terminator of course, the whole saga, including the TV series of the John Connor's mother's diaries. I am thinking of Supernatural in which angels and archangels send the heroes Dean and Sam into the future the way it would be if they did not accept to play the game of the Apocalypse. I am thinking of many science-fiction books by Stephen King and others, including Ron L. Hubbard, that use the vision of the future to make us understand that we have to save the present.

But here the present can only be saved by Annie, Tom and Hal. And it is saved of course, and the baby is sacrificed to save humanity. And it is the fire of god that does the business. They forgot to tell us clearly that this fire came from god but we can subsume it all by ourselves, can't we? The old ones will be destroyed of course because there are two ways to destroy vampires, a stake in the heart or fire. Now you have to watch the eight episodes if you want to know how and where and when and by whom.

Three survivors: Hal, Tom and Alex, a phenomenal ménage à trois with an immediate emergency: to wean Hal from his having drunk some blood. We also discover another type of humans, but are they humans, people or beings who are supposed to keep the secret hidden and to collect all the evidence they can and that could reveal that secret to the world: the world is under the menace from vampires and among us we have quite a few vampires and werewolves. Those we can see, though the vampires are invisible in mirrors and cameras and telephone webcams, etc. The third type of monsters, if they are monsters of course, are ghosts and those are invisible, sorry folks, there must always be a cheater somewhere in any games and ghosts are the cheaters, and we are the losers of course.

Who will win in the next series? The vampires, the werewolves or the ghosts? I am ready to bet on werewolves because they are sexy animals, whereas ghosts are immaterial and vampires are killing machines and blood suckers. Though the series is discreet about the intimate life of the heroes, when speaking of suction, there is better and more pleasurable things to do than suck blood. At least George was a practising believer as for that.

0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2014
The first 2 series of Being Human were totally classic TV fantasy: A ghost, a werewolf and a vampire live in a house together and are trying to be as human as possible but threats both supernatural and human keep attempting to pull them back and make them monsters again. Somehow it is a metaphor for everything in human nature that makes people feel marginalized, monsters in the eyes of society. I see metaphors for drug abuse, mental health, sexuality, bdsm and transgender.

So much for why I love Being Human. But what about series 4? Well the first 2 series were classics, and series 3 was still very good. But at the end of series 3 the vampire character is killed off, and at the beginning of series 4 George and Nina (the 2 main werewolf characters) also leave the show. As a result series 4 is marred by a drastic change of cast, which could've potentially pulled the whole show under.

Luckily it didn't, because the storylines of series 4 are particularly fascinating. Yes, Aidan Turner and Russel Tovey are hard acts to follow. And truthfully I don't like the new vampire and werewolf as much. But the writing really carries this series. There is a vampire prophecy about a baby born to 2 werewolves, a creepy ghost babysitter in the 4th episode, and the introduction of intriguing new vampire enemy Cutler. Also we still have the charming and engaging (and beautiful) Lenora Crichlow playing Annie.

So despite a major shake up of cast, the show still manages to shine. A pity that the following (and final) series saw a terminal decline in quality. What was once so great became dull and forgettable. But before that, we had this fascinating penultimate series 4.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2012
I have bought other DVDs from EU and the UK and watched them with no problem but when I bought the BBC "Being Human" for my wife she is unable to watch this. Why??? Is it in a different format? I have bought DVDs also from my home country of Finland and I can view them with no problem. Please help my wife with this. This was a present since she is a BBC Being Human fan and this was a letdown to us both. Also I bought Season one and two and they work, but this season three is a big problem. Thank you in advance.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2012
was unsure about this series going in, after Mitchell left, then George leaving and Nina, I was very weary of it you never know how a new cast will affect a series, though i have enjoyed it on the last two episodes, the only problem i have with it is it too much like the first formula it doesnt really create a better dynamic. but that isnt a big thing. it is still the same being human, Tom returns as the new werewolf and new character Hal who is much like Mitchell but different as well. he has much more of a history being an elder. and also darker. the series still retains its humour. though the episode a spectre calls i didnt like much, the charactor Kirby really annoyed me, was over acted and not the best episode in the series. and i do miss the little epilogues before every episode well this series does but the first one has a future one.
i enjoyed the series, and with news that their will be a series 5 but minus Annie so not too sure if thats a step too far or not but will have to see. i would have prefered George over Tom but hey.

i came into Being Human quite late, the idea sounded to comedic, and i brought series 1 on dvd and made the mistake of watching the pilot episode which i thought was terrible so never watched the rest. (the original pilot without the actor who played Mitchell in it)

anyways i recommend it to new and old fans
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse