Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Learn more Download now



on 31 October 2014
I absolutely love this series, if you like reading about working girls, this knocks spots off Belle De Jour, it's a crying shame there was never a TV series/movie as the characters, reminiscences, backstory and plot just flow so much better than BDJ, Tracy Quan is a great writer and I wish she would write more stuff, maybe a new series about the next generation, or a period story about the elderly Madam's younger days? This book really fires the imagination and all the characters feel like real people. I just really enjoyed reading it. I read the first book before BDJ's book was even out, didn't know there were sequels, glad I finally found them. Five stars to this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2018
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2015
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2013
i was replacing the paper version of this book onto my kindle. Great book to read over and over again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2015
Didn't pretend to be anything other than what it was and as such it was good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2014
Good Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2015
Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2011
If you are looking for bland descriptions of the daily "to do" list of a non-likeable prostitute then this is the book for you. If you are looking for a witty, charming, bemusing yet realistic account of a working prostitute then step away from this book. The main character in this book- Nancy Chan, is wholly unlikeable- she brags constantly about being the perfect cook, the perfect hooker and how "clever" she is deceiving her unsuspecting husband that she is taking a french course whilst all along she is having sex for money. There was no appeal or warmth to her whatsoever- she expresses no difficult emotions or any realistic motivation to want to continue being a street walker despite the fact that her husband is an investment banker who is obviously rich. The descriptions of her daily activities entertaining male clients I found as exciting as watching paint dry- all in all this book was one huge yawn. In fact, for a book about sex, it was one of the most unsexy books Ive ever read and I skimmed through the last half not really caring how it even turned out. I feel the main issue was the central character who I just found to be a whiny, irritating, smug b!tch who sensed no irony whatsoever in bragging about how great her marriage was and yet at the same time sneaks out to turn tricks behind her husbands back- yep thats one healthy marriage for sure!!
Not only that, the book was poorly written, dull (which is no mean feat given the subject matter!) and tedious. None of the characters leapt off the page to me and the whole thing just passed in a monotonous beige haze. I do not recommend this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2006
The sequel to Diary of a Manhattan Call Girl follows Nancy (the married call girl) as she juggles her roles as an almost stepford wife (think Brie in deperate housewives- fabulous home cooked meals and a rather disturbing 'my husband is always right' attitude) whilst retaining her clients and earnig her own income. Not that she needs it, which is another issue altogether discussed with gher therapist, Dr Wendy.

I found the sequel wanted us to get to know Nancy more intimately, as we follow her to her hometown, meet her family and watch as she faces the dilemma of one of her fellow call girl comrade going public on tv and exposing her in the process. Not to mention the $10,000 she has to explain to her husband...

all in all a good story, light and fluffy reading, but if you read the first one you pretty much know what you're in for. I found Nancy's marriage mentality a tad strange considering what she does for a living. Whether this was an attempt at showing us a deeper side i don't know, but it didn't work. its a good book for some light reading, it has its funny moments, as did the first one. an enjoyable read but i think the idea of showing us a deeper Nancy fell flat on its face.

good for a lazy summer read :)
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2008
not sure what to make of this one. didnt seem to be any particular plotline, just diary entries linked together to seem like a plotline. felt it was trying to hard to be something it wasnt , written to shock but i just found it uninteresting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse