Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 23 November 2012
I always wonder about how streets have got their name but never get as far as looking into it further. This book is full of snippets of info - I can now impress on my next visit.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Interesting book giving information and history of many of London's unusual street names. I purchased the Kindle edition which was good value compared to the hardback
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
London is full of odd names some are perhaps more obvious, Houndsditch for instance, others less so. This takes you on a trip round London that perhaps the monopoly board doesn't. How Pettycoat lane offended our ancestors or how a harmless name can really leave you up s*** street. it's all here, All i can say is read it afore you head to London and then look up the place names and see them in a different light.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
As an ex-pat Londoner I like most books about London, and this did not disappoint. Far from a comprehensive list, (what about Bleeding Heart Yard, off Greville Street, where the scissor sharpener worked at the end of the 1960's) but an enjoyable browse
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
An interesting read, though not as extensive as I would have liked. Nevertheless, I'm glad I purchased it. I work in the City and enjoyed finding out the reasons why certain streets have the names they have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Really interesting but much too short. Enjoyable and informative. Will make you stare upwards as you pass through london town to peruse strange and wonderful street names but this volume needs more bulk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
Great value little read. Some very interesting insights into the origin of names of London's streets which in itself helps to explain the meaning of words still in common English usage e.g addle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
I found this to be quite boring and full of pointless drivel. Normally I like books like this but this book did not get me really interested and I would not recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Not just today's street names, but several old streets and lanes that have been renamed or even disappeared. Especially interesting if you vknow the City of London
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
Fun and very easy to read but nonetheless full of fascinating and historical stuff. Also often amusing. It makes you look at other road names more carefully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)