Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
68
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£4.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2017
EXCELLENT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
It's an ok film but it's very predictable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 September 2012
Well, what can I say about this film? First up, it is not a WW2 film in the traditional manner - as it mainly deals with drinking, swearing and the like. I am not a prude, and obviously know that men swore in the war, but in this film they swear every few minutes - when at the base and not in the air, funnily enough. The second point is that most of the film takes place on the ground with frequent scenes of men getting drunk and urinating. The actual combat scenes in the movie consist of 5 minutes at the start and 5 minutes at the end - and that is it! The only time in the film where the Luftwaffe makes an appearance is right at the start - with some really nice looking BF109Fs on screen. Plane buffs like me will be very disappointed by this. Red Tails was miles better. I will give it two stars - one for the 109s and one for realistic flak damage to the B17.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
Contrary to several other reviews, I found the CGI in this film to be better than expected. OK, it is a B movie and the effects are not particularly good, but I have seen many, many movies with far worse effects than this. The acting is acceptable in the main, and the storyline, albeit slow, is far from rubbish. However, without the CGI there'd be no action/aerial scenes at all; rendering the movie title a misnomer.

Most of the film centres around the ground time of the Fortress crew and their boyish antics and could probably do with more time given to action and in flight scenes, but I stuck with this till the end (which was actually ok) and certainly didn't consider the 90 minutes of my life wasted.

Maybe a poor mans 'Memphis Belle' but if picked up cheap you could certainly do far worse....just don't expect too much in the way of aerial action.

NB - the film does contain an abundance of expletives, and as such may not appeal to anyone looking for family friendly.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2012
I've watched the film twice now and can honestly say its not as bad as the other reviewers are making out.
Yes it's a very low budget war movie, with some iffy cgi in places, but it serves it's purpose and helps tell the story very well.
You can see it was a labour of love for the filmakers and I think the director, editor cast and crew did an admiral job, which I think the other reviewers didn't get. At the end of the movie there is a message from the film makers saying they did there best on such a low budget etc.
For a DTV film, with such a small budget I was amazed at what they achieved. My favourite part of the film was the first ten minutes which featured lots of aerial combat.
I really enjoyed the film and that's what's important to me as a viewer. If a film achieves that, then its done what it's meant to do in my book. It's not perfect but what film is.
I say give this film ago, as even though it's not a big budget Hollywood movie with expensive production values, it is a solid and enjoyable WW2 film and much better than some of the tripe that goes straight to DVD these days.

No bonus features.

PQ 3 out of 5. Audio 2.5 out of 5.

If I made this film, I would be proud of it. Let's hope it becomes a cult hit on home video.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
I am a sucker for a good war movie, especially one based on aerial warfare so took a chance on this DVD.
The intial aerial scenes were all obvious CGI and I was thinking that maybe they used CGI for a few of the shots involving the aircraft but no, it's the whole movie. It's basically a load of cut scenes from your favourite WW2 flight sim interspersed with acting.
10mins in I had given up hope of any decent flight sequences and hoped that the storyline and acting would make up for it. Wrong again. The acting is wooden and cheesy. Even "The Sherminator" can't lift the woefully poor level of acting talent of this movie which centres around a sterotypical "Irish" aircrew who all get drunk a lot and listen to sterotypical Irish music. The storyline is about as predictable as it gets. The standard "Replacement right of passage" movie where a new member of the crew has to earn the respect of the crew....nothing more. Not even a twist at the end unless you call the plane crashing and some of the crew getting killed a good twist.
Memphis Belle had a pretty predicatable storyline in that it was based on a true story and there's only so much you can do with it but at least the acting was passable and it featured proper aerial footage as much as possible. "Fortress" is basically a load of computer flight sim clips broken up with some shocking acting and set to a storyline which is as predicatable as the sunrise. 93mins of my life and £5 wasted.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
B17 Flying Fortress films will be compared to Memphis Belle and in that regard this is the poorer film. The Cgi flight/fight sequences are acceptable to good but do appear more flight simulator then weathered realistic warbirds. Some flight scenes are from aviation point of view fantastical and totally impossible in an aircraft of this size. However I did enjoy the film the interaction between flight crew and
ground crew was amusing and entertaining. Its a B movie through and through with a predictable plot and ending, but if you like aircraft of this era or a good B movie with Sherman the sherminator from American pie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
All the swearing, drinking and smart-ass airmen here make me believe that the filmmakers have watched too many Vietnam war films. They certainly don't impress by their research into WW2 USAAF bomber operations! For one thing, a crew drinking as hard as this Irish one and flying with hangovers, would not have survived long in combat. However, all things considered it is not too bad a film even if it falls down on details;

The Bf 109s attacking in the initial CGI scenes carry Eastern Front markings, the constantly used 'Roger that' is not a WW2-era phrase, engine overheating is not caused by the oil pressure rising but on the contrary by the oil pressure dropping causing the oil temperature to rise, US aircrew did of course not have to hold their throat mikes every time they spoke, the proudest possession of any aircrew member is his 'wings' but here some do not wear any on their uniform and others (for instance the aircraft Captain) wear strange wings in the wrong place, the CGI bomber at about 38:00 is actually retracting its tail wheel while landing which would have resulted in serious damage to the aircraft (is it a re-cycyled take-off scene?) - the list is almost endless.

I have somewhat generously given it three stars for entertainment value, but not much else.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
At 2 pound 96 pence minus the Vat plus postage this bluray cost $12.00 Landed in New Zealand Dollars for a movie that is unknown here.Well that's good value I think.
The film on a 150" screen looks OK only stereo sound not 5.1 as stated on the slip sheet but a reasonable watch.I thought it was better than Red Tails which is also unheard of down here because it was not so full of the old American ho ha. yes the cgi was alright . Conclusion it was a good purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The CGI effects are not really up the the standard expected of a good WW2 cinema film, but this made for DVD movie has some good moments. The storyline involves a young pilot newly recruited into a crew of a B-17 Flying Fortress bomber on missions over Sicily in 1943.

The story has enough content to hold the interest throughout, and although none of the cast are big names the acting is convincing enough.

Good entertainment but not a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)