Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
91
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.19
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 2012
This is a great debut Lp, which comes across as a more commercial, funked-up Beta Band high on indie grooves. It's quite an achievement for any band to release a 12 track album with no filler or lulls, but these boys have done it.

The vocal arrangements are done to perfection, and the whole thing a wondrous journey of psychedelic inventiveness. Recommended.
22 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 February 2012
Clever pop albums rarely gain mainstream approval these days. In fact many bands struggle to get anywhere ploughing this furrow. Django Django are the latest band to try and get somewhere through this path and this really is a worthy effort which deserves airplay and plaudits.

Default is one of the most catchy and wonderful tunes you are likely to hear this year. Cut up vocals, electronic noises, drumming at the centre of the piece and melody. It really is a wow moment the first time you listen to it. It is so good you wonder if everything else would stand up. However, tracks like Waveforms, WOR and Zumm Zumm deliver as well. WOR has a Duane Eddy style guitar riff the somehow emerges from the sounds of a siren. Zumm Zumm starts with an almost demented alien sounding riff and then emerges into a catchy number. A lot of these tracks sound like Beta Band and if you liked them then you'll like this. Its a bit more dance inspired and upbeat than some of their numbers but if you want a guide then they are the closest I have heard.

The joy of this is that every track develops as it goes along and delivers percussion led pop with good harmonies. Its inventive, catchy and above all else fun. Its an early contender for album of the year and is a worthwhile investment.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
I'll keep my review of Django Django short and sweet and just urge you to buy this album. If the Beach Boys had made and acid-house long-player, then This Is It. Soaring harmonies, hypnotic guitar and synth lines, driving bass. Solid. A great start to 2012.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Absolutely brilliant,heard the track played on the BBC and decided to buy the album after reading the reviews on Amazon.As someone who is 60,and my tastes vary from Cream to The Temperance Movement can safely say this is one of the best albums from anyone in the last 10 years.Just go out and buy it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
I don't tend to write reviews very often, but this album was definitely worth writing about!

I always worry with debuts that the one famous song will be the only good track on the album but fortunately this album delivers on every track. Very dance-y in places, quiet in others, it's a very accomplished debut. I'd say if you liked the Animal Collective or Caribou you'd like this too.

My fave tracks are the livelier ones - Default, Storm and Life's A Beach - but I also particularly like the harmonies and melody of Hand of Man which is much more pared back and in contrast to the electronic sounds on some of the other tracks.

Totally worth a listen! Now to try and get tickets to a live show...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2012
This is an absolutely marvelous LP of Beta Band/Beach Boys/Beatles/Blancmange pop music. Skip 'Zumm Zumm' and it is perfect! There is nothing contrived about this, a fact supported by seeing the band live. Enjoy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4.5 stars

For those of you who have heard the single "Default" by Edinburgh come East London inspired psychedelic art pop rockers Django Django the fundamental problem of how you stop playing the damn thing faces you almost immediately. It is a fantastic pop song, so infectious it could give you a rash and as clever as First Class honours degree. Between the four band members of Django Django there seems a rare ability to tap into influences such as the Beta Band, Hot Chip and Franz Ferdinand and yet largely utterly transcend them.

Can the band keep up this level of inventiveness and style over the duration of a long player. The answer is too right they can. This debut oozes verve and joy de vivre with songs to match. "Hail bop" has pounding electronics accompanied by large hand claps, distorted surf guitar and a set of deadpan vocals will have you bouncing all the way to the repeat button. Its an instant classic and as a sign of respect should be bought not downloaded! Instinctively you should approach with care any track with a name as daft as "Zumm Zumm" but its actually a funky joy with repetitive distant echoes of the Animal Collective's "Summertime clothes" which is no bad thing. It is not all zip and fizz since they prove in a song as deft as the "Hand of man" their ability to write an acoustic folk rock ballad which could have happily graced any recent Steve Mason solo effort and it's a lovely introduction to the band comprising Dave Maclean who doubles up on production, Vincent Neff, Tommy Grace and Jimmy Dixon. The song "Love Dart" has actually been around since 2009 and the description in the Guardian of this "sounding like a folk group drunk on cider playing Spandau Ballet's Chant No 1" cannot be bettered. All tracks contained within this debut are worth seeking out although "Life's a beach" does push a bit too hard in the direction of Hot Chip. The final track "Silver Rays" alternatively summons down the ghost of Devo and is utterly splendid with its 3.50 minutes of gloriously whacked out pop disappearing all too quickly.

It is difficult to say whether this propulsive quirky album will be a huge hit or not. Clearly the critics will love its diversity and any band that's starts their debut with an electronic sounding spaghetti western song called "Introduction" clearly has something going for it. As debuts go it is safe to state that this will be about as audacious as anything else you hear this side of December 2012. Equally isn't it about time that the word "clever" is properly reintroduced into British music after some of the truly awful indie "son of Brit pop" bands which have been landed upon us in recent years. In the last analysis this is a fine starting point with Django Django being so good they named it twice.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2012
I heard Default on the radio so went searching for other tracks. Checkout Waveforms and Love's Dart which I think have also been released previously.
The album has a great mix of harmonised vocals, foot tapping beats and synths. Doesn't sound catchy but turns out to be more infectious than nits in a nursery.

Each listen results in a new favourite and it carries on delivering right to the end, where many albums start 'winding down' around track 8 or 9 this keeps going
with some real gems like Storm and Silver Rays.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Heard tracks from this on 6 Music (which I have streaming most days when I am at home) and immediately ordered the album.

There are two sensibilities at work in this band (at least) and I think I like one ("Life's a Beach", "Skies over Cairo" ...) a bit more than the other - which is a bit less appealing ("Hail Bop") to me. But overall a great album and one I am glad I bought.

How to characterise it? think Electronica and harmony pop mixed up in equal measure, with tendencies towards Squeeze style chord changes and bridges.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2012
The only annoying thing about this new band is the slightly silly band name. Anybody who remembers the Beta Band and likes psychedelic pop should like this. There is one track I don't like (Zumm Zumm) the rest are great. Nice vinyl packaging (2 LP Gatefold) with extra CD (without case or inlet).
I still wonder about Amazon packaging for vinyl though. You get these massive boxes with lots of brown paper. Pretty wasteful considering you could just have 12 inch cardboard envelopes.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£0.99
£0.99

Need customer service? Click here