Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2017
This was a bit too black-and-white. I actually groaned when the main character was superhero perfect and then the brother had all these issues come on people are better and more complicated than that. Anyway the story progressed well enough and got me through to the end without giving up so it could have been worse. New York Times bestseller really. Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 September 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When word reaches Jack Jensen that his half-brother, Troy, has been lost at sea while working on the Alaskan crab trawler, Arctic Fire, he is not convinced that the story is true. Troy had always been a loose cannon, taking high risk adventures and had been untouchable. Leaving his job as a Wall Street trader, Jack begins to delve deeper into the incident to find the truth. When he discovers that another crew member on the Arctic Fire met the same fate the year before, he is convinced that Troy's death was no accident. What really supports that theory for Jack was that the two dead men knew each other and were members of a highly secret and ruthless intelligence organisation called Red Cell Seven (RCS). As Jack uncovers more about RCS, their activities and objectives, he stumbles across a plot by some of their members to assassinate the President.
As a former investment banker and trader himself, Stephen Frey clearly knows his financial aspects. However, when family relationships and the seemingly "average man" are interspersed with high finance, intelligence agencies, conspiracies, abuse of power and the justification of violence, Arctic Fire, in my opinion, loses much of the authors usual attention to detail and ability to produce a tense, dramatic and very satisfying read.
I have read several other Stephen Frey novels and throughly enjoyed them. Arctic Fire, while promising a gripping thriller, did not quite deliver for me, hence 3* - it was ok.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
this is also a thrilling story that I would recommend to all adventure story fans having quite a twist to it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
OK book with dismal ending. I felt like re-writing the end, or it needs a sequal to finish the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 September 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is another book of two halves; the first being quite a taut expanding thriller, the second, a deflated mish-mash of strange scenarios.

If you can discard the yet again moralising about the unnecessary deaths of civilians in the war against terrorism, then the first half begins to shape up for a good thriller precept. The son of a wealthy banker goes missing, supposedly washed overboard by a rogue wave whilst he was fishing in the Bering Straits.

The very liberal half-brother decides he will become a man suddenly and takes a female ex-cop with him to Alaska to find the truth about what really did happen.

Insert a mysterious killer who soon turns out to be part of the US Government's covert counter terrorism unit, Red Cell Seven and the half-brother's life is very much in the balance.

So far so good.

Regrettably, it's all downhill from this point. A pal just happens to have a seaplane based in Alaska, an elderly Alaskan couple do macho things, bodies pile up, killed just for the sake of it, the brother just happens to....well, read the book and suspend any thoughts of actuality and pretend the world is black and white. Then wait for the ending and wonder what on earth was the point of all that? I don't know and I don't really have a mind to ponder it.

Maybe if you like weird US people in weird situations pretending to be what they certainly are not and you have a few hours to while away, this is your book. Read the first half and wonder what the book might have been if only.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 September 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This was one of these books that started for the first quarter with great promise and after that I found it quite frustrating. The premise is that the hero/main characters brother has been lost overboard in a storm from a fishing boat in the Bering sea and the US security agencies become involved with various sub plots where the agencies are at odds with the administration. It quite frankly gets very messy with some of the players suddenly killed off, and there seemed to be no sentiment with this, even people who were supposedly close friends. The one thing that really annoyed me was the Lovey Dovey love lorn exchanges between the main character and the lady he teams up with. this while death or torture is just next door. Also the plots are so far over the top at times that I thought I was reading a Marvel comic...
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is my first time to read something by Stephen Frey.

I felt that the story had teeth to start off with but I'm afraid that this book tends to just bark a lot towards the end.

The idea of a shadow organisation working to protect the United States of America is plausible. This organisation work and deal with terrorist threats and is apparently exceptionally successful. However, the President of the United States, who is in office for about a year, has decided that he doesn't want these people running about with a free hand to do whatever they wish. This is not going down well with one member of the organisation and he is going to take matters into his own hands.

One of the men from the organisation turns out to be a potential threat and has to be dealt with in the Bering Sea.

His half-brother, Jack, decides to head to Alaska in order to find out what happened as he has some doubts.

On the way, he meets an ex-cop, Karen, and that's when the shooting starts. The body count starts to climb as Jack and Karen find that they are being hunted.

Meanwhile, this shadow organisation is planning their next move. However, it turns out that the main character from this organisation is insane and nothing is going to get in his way. He wants another 9/11 to secure their footing in the intelligence world.

While the book is a decent read, the idea that Jack could take on professionals and get away does appear to be far fetched. Also, a love interest just sparks along nicely even though Jack and Karen are being hunted.

The book ends on a note which leaves it nicely open for a sequel although I thought it felt rushed. However, I was slightly disappointed with the thread of the story and the direction it took.

Not sure if I would be going out to look for another book by this author. Maybe in a few monthes time, I might think differently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was really looking forward to this book as I had heard so many good things about Stephen Frey's writing and the description of the story sounded particularly interesting.

However, in the end I was disappointed with this book and his writing style. The book started out well, fast passed good descriptive, interesting characters but somewhere before just before mid book it all fell apart, it was as if the author got bored with his story line and just went off on tangents. The book just did not work as a coherent story and was hard to follow.

I would recommend you avoid this book and go to another author as well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
I did finish this book but wish I hadn't. The ending was entirely unsatisfactory and did not sit well with the rest of the story. The plot was pedestrian and, apart from the ending, predictable.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
This is a book that I found hard to put down. It also makes me want to read the next in this line. I get a warm welcoming feeling when I open up to read ...It's similar to going home.

Thriller/Adventure/Crime all in one.

5 stars
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse