Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
51
3.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£3.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2017
Great game. Quick delivery. Good price. Works with windows 10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
I bought Hard Reset on a whim as it's on sale for such a cheap price. Not knowing exactly what to expect, I wasn't sure if I'd enjoy the game. I'm happy to say that I'm very glad I did buy it. Installation wasn't quite as easy as I expected as the game requires clicking on a link in an activation email that's sent to you when you register. Firstly, why do I need to create an "account" when it's a strictly single-player game? Secondly, the activation email I received from Calypso was designated as spam by my Gmail account and it took me a while to figure out why I wasn't receiving the email. Something to bear in mind if you also think that you don't receive the activation email - look in your spam folder as it may actually be ther instead of your inbox. After I finally activated the game and a couple of minutes adjusting the variety of graphical and game settings I was in and playing.

The world of Hard Reset has a dark film-noire crossed with cyberpunk feel to it and heavily reminded me of Blade Runner, as does the story in a way. This is certainly not a bad thing and the attention to detail that's obviously been lavished on the map design makes for a very atmospheric, believable environment. Originally I though that the game was based on the Unreal engine. I stand corrected though - the Polish developers actually wrote their own engine from scratch. Apparently it's very well optimised which is well evidenced by it's excellent performance on my system: i7-960, 6GB of 2GHz RAM, GTX-560Ti graphics card with 2GB of GDDR3 RAM. I got a very nice 60 (minimum) - 160 (maximum)fps with FSAA and isotropic texture filtering both enabled, running in 1920 x 1080 resolution. In-game the engine performance felt as smooth as silk despite the game featuring just about every graphical effect you could possibly imagine. Very impressive indeed.

The sound effects are suitably meaty and the many ambient sounds really help to add immersion to the very well realised world. Weapons effects are suitably OTT. I also like the way that the weapons have been implemented. At the beginning you have two weapons, each of which has one fire mode. One is an ammunition-based fairly traditional assault rifle and the other is an electronic plasma rifle. During your progress through the game you pick up what are essentially upgrade points that you can chose to spend on adding capabilities to your weapons. Eventually both the ammunition and the electronic weapon feature several "modes" each of which has a secondary fire function. Quite a clever way to handle weapons upgrades and you never have to chose to discard a favourite weapon as the variants of the ammunition and electronic weapons share common ammunition types. Re-supply is fairly plentiful, particularly on the lower difficulty options.

Bad points? I thought the enemies could have featured a bit more variety, though all are well realised and are different enough so that taking out yet another horde never becomes too boring. Given the very well realised art and design of the game I felt that it was a bit empty of life, though there is a story reason for this, but I think adding in a few people or life in general would have enhanced the immersion even further.

All told this is a very competently made first person shooter. If you love cyberpunk and/or Blade-runner style dystopia fiction then I'm sure you'll really enjoy this game. If not, then the game is cheap enough that I'd still recommend giving it a go because it's a lot of fun to play. There doesn't appear to be any multiplayer modes at all, though a survival mode and a few other oditites do add some degree of replayability. Overall this game was great fun to play, completely lacked in any bugs (very refreshing for a PC game these days!) and I'd definitely recommend it to all FPS fans.
33 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
nice graphics stupid game would be good as an arcade or console game but as a PC game it gets tired really quickly
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
Terrible game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
A lot cheaper than the latest 'biig guns' but hut as much fun. Amazon has the cheapest price on this one of all the games suppliers. To extend the game's life, search out kDLC (downloadable content) on game review sites such as gamespot.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
If Quake still exist now; then put the mood in cyberpunk theme, you can get the truly one of the masterpiece. Forget about Call of Duty or Crysis, this is fast-paced first person shooter fighting the machines by using health system. This is a master of truly classic shooter you can get recently. One part of con in this game just the lack of weapon but at least they put multiple method in one big gun! And, of course, the story not so good but hey, it's cheap now! Come on! Quake or Doom fan must try this!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
I've spent a few months trying to place this game's feel. Watched the most recent Judge Dredd film again the other night and 'boom' we have it! Imagine a Doom like shooter with Dredd's gun & explosions and you've got this game.
Probably one of the most fun games I've played in ages, with great music and nice cut scenes.
Doom vs Dredd Vs Sin City Vs Blade Runner = This.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
It is unfair to compare this game to a AAA game released by one of the big companies but unfortunately those games are the benchmarks by which gamers set standards. We (gamers) are quick to jump on the bandwagon when a supposed AAA game fails in some way and condemn it. So this "budget" title Hard Reset makes no promises, has no hyped up advertising it just leaves the question "Do you like it or not?"
As already mentioned it is obviously based around Bladerunner. The architecture, the environment and atmosphere screams Bladerunner. At first run I ramped up the settings to max., easily achievable on a modern PC for this game and it does look good. A great deal of attention has been put into neon signs, massive advertising boards, run-down buildings all set in a futuristic environment. The story begins very sparsely presented by cartoon Max Payne 2 style "cut scenes" and really it isn't a story, it just says "There's a breach in sector xxxxx go sort it out". So plunged into a city with what is a beautiful looking weapon, you head off in search of what you can assume from what you know, rogue robots. Eventually you find some robots who bound towards you, first instinct is SHOOT!. Of course this works but ammo is rapidly depleted then a tip appears saying shoot electrical devices like ATM machines, machines of unknown description and for some reason electric rubbish bins, these release electric shocks and if timed correctly will damage the enemy robots and save you some ammo. So I set about taunting the robots near to an electric source and setting if off, effective but not "Shoot em' up" gameplay. There are hidden areas which are accessed by blowing up explosive barrels to reveal them but really are not worth it. So level 1 over...next. Another cartoon style cut scene and back into the city to...kill more robots. And so it goes on. The upgrade system isn't bad albeit a little clumsy to navigate and difficult to know what you're exactly doing.
Sound is pretty good, again fits in with the Bladerunner feel. The city feels empty...it is empty. You are the only person in it and this leads to the feeling of why am I bothering. There's nothing to interact with and nothing else to do except kill robots.
The game isn't bad. It's obvious this was somebody's "baby" and they cared a lot for it but just didn't have the resources to make it a contender. When playing the game I got the feeling that if the "big boys" had made it, it would have been a spectacular game but then again they mess up frequently. The backbone to a great game is there it just needs fleshing out, more interactivity and a story that doesn't leave you asking "Why am I doing this?"
Summary - It feels like a 1990s shooter but with 21st century graphics.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
So basically the game was a complete waste of money the graphics are just rubbish. But I thought that I should of never of trusted the reviews
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
HARD RESET sets out to provide old-school run and gun fun, and it succeeds admirably. The combat is frenetic (and tough at times) with waves of enemies being punctuated by simple puzzles and a light story line. The graphics are good for an indie game and the environments are impressive and immersive (it’s clearly influenced by Blade Runner, and that’s no bad thing). Physics play an important role: there are plenty of explosive and electrifying objects in the environments to help with the frenzied firefights. The enemies are well-designed and quirky (some even have propellers on their heads) and, although there aren’t that many classes, their attack methods develop as the game progresses to keep things mixed up. Although you only get two weapons both can be upgraded to add lots of additional fire modes (I liked this aspect -- some games have too many weapons). I really enjoyed this game despite the fact that I normally prefer a more nuanced shooter. It’s fast, furious, and a whole lot of fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)