Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
48
3.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£2.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Hard Reset begins with asking you for an email for a purely singly player game. It then drops into a crappy graphic novel style intro with a panning shot of a static frame. When you get into the game, it's clear this is just a an old school FPS and not in a good way. The effects are basic (I am not saying I personally could do better, but there are better options out there) the rain is simply white streaks down the screen. Environmental objects are recycled endlessly in the geometrically square based maps, there is very little change in terrain or scenery.

The guns are awful, they all feel exactly the same, there is no reloading so you literally just hold the fire button down and spray the same robots down over and over in waves. They drop generic ammo (each gun uses the same ammo) and health and there is some extremely laborious upgrade system where I have no idea what the actual upgrade achieves. The gameplay is uninspired and repetitive, shoot the same environmental objects in each area to defeat the identical cobbled-together robots then pick up the ammo, walk a little bit and repeat.

Tiresome, repetitive and uninspired. Feels like a poor man's Blade Runner made into an FPS. Cheap, so maybe worth a look, but honestly there are better FPSs out there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
I have this running on full settings and it is fantastic sound effects are top draw stuff and the looks. The team that put this together put a lot of love into this and it show's. Its a classic shooting game. It reminds me of Blade runner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
HARD RESET sets out to provide old-school run and gun fun, and it succeeds admirably. The combat is frenetic (and tough at times) with waves of enemies being punctuated by simple puzzles and a light story line. The graphics are good for an indie game and the environments are impressive and immersive (it’s clearly influenced by Blade Runner, and that’s no bad thing). Physics play an important role: there are plenty of explosive and electrifying objects in the environments to help with the frenzied firefights. The enemies are well-designed and quirky (some even have propellers on their heads) and, although there aren’t that many classes, their attack methods develop as the game progresses to keep things mixed up. Although you only get two weapons both can be upgraded to add lots of additional fire modes (I liked this aspect -- some games have too many weapons). I really enjoyed this game despite the fact that I normally prefer a more nuanced shooter. It’s fast, furious, and a whole lot of fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
i read a lot of reviews on this game and i was not dissapointed a good old style shooter with great graphics and it installed and ran without a single bug or the need for loads of patches compared to the bigger titles out there this was just so much fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
I was looking forward to this cyber-punk shoot em up

A very linear game, no real story, not very challenging

The only good thing about it was looking up in the sky and seeing Blade runner like aeorblips
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
Only just recently discovered this game, and I am so glad that I did! It is a hugely entertaining (and seriously difficult on harder settings), old fashioned FPS, with decent graphics and gameplay, with a wide range of upgrades and weapons. It's not the longest of games, but it is challenging, so be prepared for numerous attempts!

Shame there're not more games like this being made, I for one would buy them! Loved it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
The graphics are OK but the gameplay is just terrible. The most boring FPS game I every played. If you like good FPS games like half-life 2, far cry, fear, bioshock, crysis, MoH, CoD, etc, expect a MUCH lower level of standard with this game.Not worth the £4 I paid as I played it 2 nights (to give it a chance) and no more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
The game try's to be like all other heavy fps shooters however on this game dodging attacks it's nigh impossible... you'll have a charger go right for you and since your guy moves soo slowly you can't get out the way.

I got more irritated by this game then enjoying it.

Go play painkiller or Serious Sam if you want a good run and gun game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Coming across this title via Amazon for such a cheap price, I thought why not and took a gamble. The first thing I shall point out (aside from Flying Wild Hog being made out of ex members from Polish developers; People Can Fly, CD Projeckt Red and City Interactive) is that there's no Steam DRM on this title. Which maybe a deal breaker to some if Steam was a requirement.

Finding out that there were ex members from People Can Fly (Painkiller,Bulletstorm) and CD Projekt Red (The Witcher series) sold me on the title. As it gave me the impression that one it would be a PC exclusive (which I later found it is) and that it would be a 90's style FPS with guns, explosions and tons of secrets.

To start the actual review I am going to go into the options menu because of it being a PC release and us PC gamers like to tinker with settings and because (unlike consoles) there's thousands of configerations of PC's out there and everyone has a different spec, a good options menu can bring the best out of a lesser PC. The good news is, because of the really low system requirements (Pentium 4 2.5ghz, 2gb ram and either an Nvidia Geforce 8800gs or a Radeon 3870) at minimum more people can play this game and get the best performance out of it.

The interface of the options menu has this really weird robotic thing going on with moving parts and so forth whilst changing screens to the different part of the options menu, it's really nice and well done and reminds me a lot of Blade Runner. Though it could get irratating after a while. But the main options menu is really detailed and deep in terms of tweaking with things a PC gamer should expect to be there is (Anti-Aliasing, Anisotropic filtering and different types of AA to help give that extra performance) and if you suffer motion sickness like myself from gaming, the game has a vertical Field Of View slider, that is numbered.Which really helps.

The game however plays very much like the glory days of shooters before modern games replaced them with their Micheal Bay like explosions and cut-scenes. not much of a story, tons of enemies, tons of weapons (I'll come onto that) and tons of secrets.

The game is influenced by Doom, Quake 2, Painkiller and Serious Sam, with some modern takes on it such as two weapons at a time (fear not, they all have different modes that you can upgrade in a Deadspace like manner, so it really comes to twenty weapons)and also has a visual look that can be compared to Blade Runner and William Gibsons Neuromancer.

Enemies come at a fast and relentless pace, even on lower difficulties with the variety being limited the smaller kinds provide a challenge, forcing the player to move and look for health, ammo and currency pickups as they progress.

The currency system is pretty cool. In which you collect currency from fallen enemies, finding secrets and sometimes in the same place as the health pickups. It's used to upgrade your two weapons in order to have a bigger arsenel, in which shooter weapons like the Shotgun, RPG and Rail Gun make a welcome reappearance. I also like using the enviroment to destroy enemies with electric shocks. As the enemies are robots, it's not much of an issue to finish them off.

As much as I am praising this game, it does have a few nit-picks. Sure the story isn't perticually deep, the world could be far more interesting then it actually is (because of visual look and the atmosphere of the world), the enemy variety is next to nothing after they all get introduced and it's a bit short. (eight hours, with no multiplayer)

BUT the game sure is fast paced and definatly what I have been clamering for as a gamer who comes from a Doom, Quake and Unreal background and it is FUN!

For this price it's certinally worth a gamble!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
This is totally budget this game but I still enjoyed it. Limited enemies and levels are all quite samey. Few jokes big bosses but generally just a bit of a laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£8.49
£49.99

Need customer service? Click here