Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2014
I actually enjoyed this quite a bit. However, you can see that much less effort was spent on this prequel to Battlestar Galactica than on the original. It all appears a little contrived, the graphics are good but appear somewhat cartoon-like. The acting is good and the story interesting. It was just starting to go places and then they end up cancelling it. That always seems to be the case for something with a bit more depth, the studios get a little concerned in case it doesn't follow the usual successful formula: crash, bang and sex it up with as little depth as possible. It was the fact that real human stories could be told as they were in the original as well as other shows such as Babylon5 that made the original so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
A decent BSG spin off. Not quite as deep as the TV show but has decent effects, likeable characters and all manner of spacey shooty shenanigans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Wanting all the collection so I'm buying them all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Very disappointing given my love of the main Galactica series. None of the spin-offs have been great - bought them all but consistently disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
Now finally on dvd rental - which most people use I an other can see it !
..overall it was good, apart from the overly jerky camera-work.
An they cast Brit in the lead role !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
Although not as cerebral as the battlestar galactica series this really justifies a purchase, filmed almost entirely on green screen the effects are excellent 99% of the time, it's pretty much non stop action for the duration and although pretty basic has a plot that keeps you watching... Hopefully this is a precursor to an ongoing series...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
dissapointing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
It held my attention for 90 minutes and I didn't check my watch very often, but I doubt that I'll be thinking about this film very often in the future. I would say that it's worth watching once, and Lovefilm lets us do just that.

NB: persons who are allergic to orange/blue contrast may find themselves itching at some points.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
I was never a die hard fan of the Galactica reboot,and I wasnt overly impressed with Caprica,I only mention this so you dont think Im just another fan boy kicking off.But if Blood And Chrome has indeed been cancelled,and Ive no cause to doubt the other reviewers,then it is indeed a tragedy.Ive just finished watching the pilot movie,and it is very good.Im not giving away any spoilers,but it follows the young William Adama as he arrives on the Galactica,instantly volunteering for duty,he finds himself on a classified mission deep into cylon territory,if you want to know more,then your going to have to watch the pilot.Its fast paced and action packed from start to finish,with an engrossing storyline,that had me hooked within ten minutes.Yes the budget could have been bigger,but not the potential.As the credits rolled you could see just how far this series could have gone,and what it could have become.

Ive never been a fan of the SyFy channel,their habit of killing off series after series is beyond a joke,but to cancel one before the pilot has even been properly aired,just proves that their heart just isnt in it.I hope the reviewer who said that if it does well enough on DVD/Blu-ray,it may yet survive,is right,because if it isnt picked up,I think we may have lost,what could have turned out to be,a truly great show.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Having watched the finale of 'Blood and Chrome' on You Tube today I can now confidently say that this incredible pilot definitely lives up to the legend that was its predecessor. What made the 'Battlestar' genre shine in the re-imagined series of 2004 is that not only is it an amazing sci-fi series but it's also really good television in general, I defy anyone (be you sci-fi nerds or sports fanatics) to watch an episode of Battlestar and not be entertained. This phenomenon definitely remains strong with 'Blood and Chrome' (as proven by several You Tube comments from newcomers to the franchise). It's this kind of inspiration that makes the Battlestar Galactica franchise worth hanging on to, and while the budget was indeed small for 'Blood and Chrome', what they accomplished with that budget only left me wandering what this could have become with the support of an entire channel.

The budget aside however, this pilot still managed to tick all the boxes that count: The acting was engaging and believable, the writing was flawless (typical of BSG) the music was...well Bear McCreary, 'nuff said...and the action sequences were just frakin' awesome. So watch this on You Tube to see for yourselves and if 'Blood and Chrome' gets your seal of approval then I highly recommend buying as many copies as possible as Sy-Fy's ultimate decision on whether or not to make this into a fully fledged series will depend how well this sells. (True story) SO buy the crap out of it, and hopefully Sy-Fy will see the error of their ways and revive the Golden Age of Science Fiction that was: Battlestar Galactica.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse