Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
Give You The Ghost (vinyl)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.77+ £1.26 shipping


VINE VOICEon 10 February 2014
I caught Polica on a Later with Jools Holland and was intrigued by their unusual use of autotune.

The singer really can sing, but they use autotune to present her voice in a radically different way.

The antithesis of the sterile and bland way Daft Punk use electronica, Polica's is an ephemeral, gritty kind of sound that's likely to make a real impact on you (although if you like lyrics you might find the level of distortion too much).

They manage to present the style well live too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2013
The title of my review says it all. I bought this after being impressed with their appearance on Jools Holland, but the massive overkill on the autotune strips the soul out of this album. I know it was deliberate, to comply with the style of the music, but it didn't work for me.

However the glorious Dark Star almost single-handedly redeems this album, a wonderful record, which shows a template for what the rest should/could have been
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2013
This is a slow burner. It took me a year to get this band. Don't expect to like it straight away. I found that I would do something else in the house while this played, then stop and listen with a need to listen to the CD again.
I do find that bands that take a while to grow on you tend to stay with you longer. These are one of those bands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2013
Decided to buy this based on other Amazon reviews (from people who had purchased similar CDs to myself). This CD is very different to a lot of the similar genres and has a full, detailed and rich sound. There are many subtleties and it makes for great listening. The only downside is the repetitiveness of the sampled singing; it's great at first but begins to grate by the end.

Certainly a few stand-out tracks that would be good on your iPod in Shuffle mode!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2015
Great job. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2013
Very well liked and has been played a great deal already! It is good company when recipient and partner are planning a big event.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2015
Great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2013
the album has an excellent drum and bass feel. good singing but it needs concentration with the over dubbing effects of voice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2013
This album was a surprise to me as I had not come across it or the group until I heard the first track played at the end of one episode of the TV series 'Person of Interest'. I downloaded the album soon after and like all the tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2013
i had been looking for this album for a long time and was very pleased to see it here for such great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Music For The Long Emergency
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)