Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2014
Purchased this after lone survivor........Well quite frankly all I can say is that if ever there is a story of someone being able to turn their life around (through determination and the help of family and friends) and then go on to show what can be accomplished through sheer self will then this is it.
There are plenty of books out there about tough crack military units.....what it takes to be one and everything else that goes with it.
But I've got to say that this book is about a man who makes mistakes just like the rest of us and has does stupid things along the way....but its also about a loving son husband and father with a massive heart, and in my eyes a true hero, not because what he became...but the person deep down he always was.
This man really did live his life...rough and the smooth.
R.I.P Adam Brown, your story is aspirational
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2012
Quite simply this one of the best books you will ever read. It is an incredible story and provides a lesson in living life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
I’m not easily impressed, but this well-researched book makes for incredible reading. It’s a book that will appeal to either gender for both similar and different reasons. I've read another book of similar vein ('Lone Survivor - the story of Marcus Luttrell') which lays focus on training and the military operations of Marcus Luttrell. However, though ‘Lone Survivor’ is a good book in itself, I think ‘Fearless’ is a superior read. It covers the life experiences of one man and touches on so many different themes beyond training and behind-the-lines action. The writing flows well, the chapters are carefully structured and interspersed with occasional photographs and, overall, it is a very well written book.

The story covers the life of U.S. Navy Seal Adam Brown from his childhood upbringing through to his eventual death whilst in action. In doing so, it reveals a true life account of human weakness which is eventually overcome by sheer will, incredible strength of character and inner spiritual strength. It describes his early addiction to drugs, hanging out with low-lives, his time in prison, and his attempts at overcoming the addiction and progressing to, what was for him, a lifeline - being accepted for training in the Seals. Beyond the dark issue of his addiction, it also covers his development from childhood through to adulthood, his home life, set-backs, falling in love, etc. However, beyond all else, it show the incredible stamina of one man’s struggle in the face of adversity and succeeding against all the odds levelled at him.

This book is as much about a personal triumph of good over evil as it is about his preparing for the physical and political war against the evil of terrorism. Unlike other books on the subject, it speaks the facts plainly and simply. The author has done a magnificent job on this well-researched book. As stated, it was written posthumously and based on individual accounts provided by those who knew Adam Brown - his friends (including his buddies in the Seals), family, amongst others and, therefore, is not another bombastic, self-glorifying eulogy. Their individual accounts of Adam Brown are reliably consistent and paint a picture of a humble, loving, exceptional man who overcame the demons in his own life and set an example that gave and continues to give hope to others. He was a man who was tough on himself but gentle on others in the weakness. Two themes that stood out in the end were: (i) Never give up in life when things are going against you – no matter how bad, don’t let circumstances or others define you; and (ii) Never accept being second-best based on apparent limitations in your life. Set the bar high and get up again when you fall. As someone once said, ‘there is no shame in failure, only in failure to try’.

If you want to buy just one book on Navy Seal operations and read about the life of a man who rose from the dumps (literally) to reaching the top of his profession, then buy this book. It is 240 pages long (excluding Epilogue, Afterword, Acknowledgments, etc). Overall, it comes to 273 pages and is written in a small type font (10 or 11). Regardless, it’s worth every cent.

Title: Fearless
Author: Eric Blehm
Publisher: Waterbrook Press
Year: 2012
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
Gripping and immersive, takes you right into the life of a man who will inspire you to be more than you think you can be. Demonstrating the amazing things an individual can achieve with focus and the support of amazing people. When I read this I couldn't put it down. The real story of a true hero in more than one arena, leading to the ultimate sacrifice for what he believed in, exceptionally well written. I can't recommend this book enough, buy it and enjoy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
A well written account of a man whose early life included sinking into the depths of a world all to familiar, but whom with the help of very good friends and a supportive family channeled his life to serve his country.

Adam Browns story makes you laugh and makes you cry, a man who was an inspiration to many, a man who gave to those less fortunate, a man who was a true warrior...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
I read this book in half a day, a truly inspirational story. The main premise of the book centres around the man himself, and his supporting family, and the life they lived with the military aspect of things simmering in the background. It's a very interesting story, showing the strength of the human "spirit" and what can be achieved if you believe in yourself enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
I've never in my life, read a book about such an inspirational individual. I don't think it was too religious like some of the other reviewers. I felt the author did a good job of framing Adams life around his spirituality which played a large role in his life it seems. This book left me speechless and blubbering like a baby. Such an awe inspiring story! An absolute must read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Once started reading this book I could not put it down. What an incredible story. I feel that I really know Adam now, even though I have never met him.
A superb book with lots of life lessons in it and not what you expect at all. He really was a hero.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
How goodness eventually and always shines through. Truth and honesty prevail .adam brown needed his demons and hard times to define his second chance. Although I'm on a high having just finished this book , one of the most moving books I've read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
A superb book.... Even if you aren't into reading military books, I would recommend this book. Loyalty, commitment, honour and sacrifice run through it, but mind over matter is something that stands out.!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)