Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.69


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2012
The Opera House, the Harbour Bridge, Eyres Rock, kangaroos and koalas etc. are not in Tim Winton's memoir. Nothing of any tourism spin here.
What is an Australian? An Aboriginal, an immigrant European or what precisely?
Defining self, identity and culture within landscape is complex.
Tim Winton expresses the sensation and feel, the love and fear, the narrative and the poetic beauty, by this, sharing his experience, enabling you to know him and his west Ozzie world .
Such a real feel for the physicality of Australia: a young kid coming to know his landscape and environment, deciphering the nature of the people he's growing up amongst and sensing the meanings in the relationship between people and place. Discovering himself in all 10 dimensions.
Beautifully elucidated sensations: of sand, heat, surf, ocean swimming, bare feet, of 'now' time and place, is combined with the parallel awakening to the wonder of words and language, of knowledge of other contexts and times, thoughts and experiences. And, an identity developing and being defined.
Can't recommend this highly enough. If you're planning a trip to Oz, read this first, you'll find the insights you take away from it will enlarge your travel experience greatly. If you've been to Australia, this book will spike your head with memories and sensations, replaying like a film, also perhaps, initiate the revelation of a few things you failed to come to know.
Or just read it for it's insight, beauty and poetry.

For this Aussie-Brit/Brit-Aussie, Tim Winton's memoir is magic, and treasure most precious. Read it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
I really enjoyed reading this. Winton writes beautifully. I could easily visualize the scenes and experiences he described. Wonderful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
Bought as a present for daughter, who is a Marine Biologist. I had heard book being read out on radio and thought she would find it interesting. She had already heard about it and was really pleased to get book, which she has read and enjoyed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
If I have one issue with this book, it is that I would have liked it to be at least twice as long. It's an exploration of Tim Winton's lifelong relationship with the sea. It's beautifully written, and casts an interesting light on some of Winton's novels, with accounts of various incidents from his own life that feature in his fiction. Highly recommended: even if you're not familiar with Tim Winton's fiction, it's a great read, and might just get you into reading those great novels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
As someone who grow up in Western Australia I loved this but I am sure it will appeal to others just as much.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Anyone who loves Australia will feel hugely nostalgic when reading any Tim Winton book. His portrayal of life on the edge of the continent is compelling and if you have walked along the pristine beaches of W.A. This will conjure up that incredible feeling once more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
Winton's sublime ability to make you feel you are actually there as he gives you glimpses of his life growing up in western Australia. He understanding of that landscape and environment makes him enjoyable and one of the very best writers of present time. Enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
I first heard this book on BBC Radio 4 Book of the week programme and it gave such vivid descriptions of the Western Australian coast that I bought it and have enjoyed reading it for myself.A good book to take on holiday.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
loved this book and made me feel very nostalgic of my 8 years living in Australia. This really is the author's memoir not a novel so is quite a compact book. He really brought living by the sea to life for me :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2015
Winton makes me home sick... this is a light read and is not very long, but great to get inside his head and enjoy the imagery. Well worth reading, but I wonder if its as good for non Aussies?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)