Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2012
What a relief to discover this mobile, which I'm using on Virgin pay-as-you-go.
As a pensioner I need a mobile phone for three things only - calls, text messaging and FM radio. However for physical reasons I find a QWERTY keyboard absolutely essential, which cuts out most phones otherwise advertised as "basic".
After a string of problems with more elaborate offerings (from Sony Ericsson and Samsung and from Nokia itself, a C63) this is the first model I have ever encountered which fulfils my requirements reliably and which (most important of all) ENABLES ME TO SWITCH ALL OTHER POSSIBLE FUNCTIONS OFF, so that I am not constantly paying for interruptions from services I do not want.
It has a lovely clear screen - high-resolution, considering the size - and the keyboard is a pleasure to use. Radio 4 is excellent on it. Thank you, Nokia.
0Comment| 139 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
I absolutely love this phone. I have owned a Blackberry and for a short while the Samsung Galaxy Y. This is by far the best, it is really easy to use, the qwerty keyboard very convenient for writing texts in full, and the layout on the screen is very straightforward. I don't need fussy touch screen phones, just want to make calls and texts. Plus I can put contact postal addresses in, there is a calendar and it looks great. Love it :)
33 Comments| 198 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
the first thing you are probably wondering is, whether this phone is a smartphone?

not exactly, buts it more than enough stuff to keep you entertained unlike feature phones (lets call it bordeline smart)

its a lovely looking handset, and feels a little thicker than today's offering. a little tricky to get used to at first, but after a while you start to get attuned to this phone and tend to learn something new about it by the day.

here are some of the advantages

* Easy to use
* Fairly big display
* Supports mp4 video play back @ 320*240 + "24fps which is bizarre at this price range (but happy)
* The camera is not sharp, but the picture is crisp and clear if you view it on a screen less than 800*600 (not bad)
* You can install various apps like whats-app, Facebook chat, msn etc
* The internet is 'always on' so you get on the fly email notifications (super bizarre for the price)
* it has an mp3 player, basic but pretty good. - There is no equaliser or sound scheme feature keep in mind
* the calender feature is awesome, the easiest I have come across
* your phones data, and others including notes and calender entries, messages etc can be synced with your computer. (Microsoft Outlook)
* The battery seems pretty good, since I'm always fiddling with it, in fact I got a day and a half of use considering I was tormenting the poor thing.
* Internal games are okay and it seems most games on Nokia Ovi are free (Happy Days) and as a bonus you are given a 60 day window to download up to 40 EA games for free! valued at £3.00 each, a saving of £120, look for 'Games Gift' in the 'my apps' section. it may not apply to all phones but it present in version 11 in United Kingdom.
* All the other stuff that you would expect. Bluetooth, to-do list, memo, calculator, converter etc etc
* The photo gallery is superb, in fact it has a 'timeline' feature so you easily find a photo you took last year or in a certain months with a few clicks
* the keyboard and its key assignments is nicely layed out and easy to understand
* No need for battery pull. (YAY)
* The speakerphone is quite good, as it doesnt sound like its filtering through a can of baked beans, i can play my music on it in social situations, and not worry about people questioning the quality of the sound
* Anybody familiar with Shazam, the audio recognition software that identifies a mysterious song, will be happy to find out, this has an app built in with an unlimited license. (Paid for courtesy of Nokia)
* You change the entire theme, with tons of themes to choose from Nokia app site.
* It supports flash wallpapers (Yes I was surprised too)

Some Disadvantages

- Its pretty sluggish and sometimes it can test your patience
- the video camera is a load of.......... (see the video sample)
- it has a few bugs in it, that makes it act in a temperamental manner (restart)
- its a weird concept, having a phone that is heavily crammed in stuff that requires an internet connection, and there is no WI-FI!! but I suppose getting an EDGE signal makes it bearable. (you don't stand a chance in watching YouTube videos)
- The firmware has been poorly programmed in some areas of the phones internal infrastructure. (people with experience in Java, VB.Net, C# would know what I am talking about)

if you can view the disadvantages with trivialization then I highly recommend this phone.

if your after the big boys like Blackberry, but not sure of it, then I still recommend this phone and I would be happy to say this is a "Starter" edition of a Blackberry.

Hope I have been helpful.

-

** PLEASE NOTE - The technical details, specifies this phone has a radio recorder, this is not true and is highly misleading. there is no such feature, as far as i am concerned
0Comment| 165 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
This phone is simple, but if you need it just for contacting people, either by phone calling or facebook, then this one could be the best suitable for you. Battery life is excellent, temporarily using the Internet, FM radio and texting without any charging within 3 days. Backlight is also nice but the colour is just ok. Physical keyboard is one of the best feature of this phone, my fingers are ok with these little buttons but not good for people who have big thumbs. 2G network isn't that bad if you are using it for facebook, twitter and any other social networks on the Internet. I find the speed is reasonably fast when the phone is running on EDGE, however if you have it load websites with mainly pictured sites it may become slower.

Overall I like this phone very much. It's light, easy and handy, which does not eat loads of data that saves my money.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Not impressed keys didn't work for very long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Nice phone easy to use if you want a basic phone this is the one nice and clear display not so good if you want to use social sites like Facebook takes ages to connect .but still a good buy .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Was faulty when it arrived, took two attempts, but now replacement is working well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Bought this phone for my elderly mother who did not want a smartphone. She is very pleased with it as the battery life is good and she finds texting easy with the qwerty keypad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
I am still working all the extras but I find this phone better than a Blackberry

so I think that is my answer.

But I had to return it unable get strong signal very disappointed!

Mr. P. Morris
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
I wanted to buy a second phone which I can use to call my family abroad. I had seen it at one of local bangla shops, but the price there was way much higher, so I decided to get it from amazon (where it was cheaper).

Phone is very good, would use it daily, if I hadn't have my iphone (of course, you can not compare it with that lol)
Battery lasts for almost one week, good quality phone. Only buttons could be a bit bigger, I guess.

Worth to buy, good for a second phone.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 77 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)