Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 August 2017
Starts a bit like Christie's "And there was none". A group of people is invited into a remote house where mysterious murders begin. But despite being a full blown murder mystery (with hidden passages, motive's and the whole paraphernalia), this is a jolly good comedy. I smiled more than once and laughed on at least one occasion. It seems to me the whole cast were enjoying themselves there. Different endings were fun too.

It has been filmed a long time ago but still remains witty and funny.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2017
Very enjoyable farce based on the board game 'Cluedo', but with inflections of MURDER ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS and AND THEN THERE WERE NONE. Full marks to the cast for their straight-faced line-readings. The writing was so, so sharp. I guffawed at several points, from Tim Curry running around from room to room, to his fabulous delivery of 'frankly, Scarlet, I don't give a damn'. Good cerebral fun!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
Great ensemble acting. Why don't you get great ensemble pieces like this so much? Maybe scripts aren't so strong. I love the light and playful tone of this film. Nuanced acting, full of rich humorous details. So refreshing compared to the contemporary fashion for laboured introspection. A great script and cast that always serves the story and puts the audience first. Please bring back storytelling like this!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2017
This is a firm favourite of all (16-42) in my house, it's totally nuts and chaotic. You have to watch it all the way through to get why people enjoy this film so much. It is worth it honestly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2017
There are some films that are shown on tv occastionally that are just make you glad you have seen them but have never heard of before and this is one of them and when they are shown if you are like me you think I must find this on dvd and again if like me in your collection you have got films like Blazing Saddles, the three amigos, dracula dead and loving it and the pink panther movies, maybe ect ect then this is one to add to your collection thats all I have to say.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2014
The title just about sums the movie up - a riotous laugh from start to finish - what could have been a standard made -or-the-screen version of a popular board game is a laugh-a-minute gag fest which draws you in to its web of deceit and murder and just when you think you have worked out who the murderer is, it throws you a curve ball and you are back to square one.

The film starts out with the arrival of a number of guests invited to a mysterious dinner party in a large country house - none of them have ever met each other, but all have a dark secret which they would prefer to keep hidden. Soon bodies start turning up all over the house and the guests realise, there is a killer among them. Under the unwilling lead of the butler Wadsworth, played by Tim Curry in what has to be one of his best comic roles, they search the house from top to bottom all the while trying the evade the killer.

This is a film which you simply don't want to end and when it does you have three possible outcomes, each of which is both plausible and wonderfully funny at the same time.

If you have seen this movie and enjoyed it, good on you - if you haven't, what are you waiting for?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2017
Terrific cult classic. Great actors and fun plot.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2016
This is such a fun and overlooked little film with enjoyable actors and a well written plot. The option to play one of the three different endings randomly or all of them consecutively is a real treat!

The Blu-ray transfer was surprisingly good, 4 out of 5 (five being Arrow quality in my scale). Most of the time the picture is sharp, and most importantly, it retains a tiny amount of film grain instead of wiping it off with visible DNR waxiness or other digital distortion. The black levels seem sometimes a bit overcoocked, but not a major issue. Overall a great restoration.

The US Blu-ray played fine in my region B player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2017
Remember watching this for the first time back in the 90s. This DVD edition contains all three endings as well as the brilliant soundtrack as the end credits roll. "I said: shake, rattle and roll. I said: shake rattle and roll.../"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2013
I love this film for sentimental reasons (watched it as kid many a happy time) and because it's fricking awesome. It's cluedo come to life and I don't care that I know who done it, I still re-watch it for the great performances from all the actors, especially Tim Curry and his amazing facial expressions and wit. 'I buttle sir'. It's slap-stick but not ridiculous and has dare I say, a more mature quality about its nonsense? I love the fact it's a snazzy dinner party in a snazzy old mansion, with pompous characters and secret passageways. I love re-watching it and catching all the little things thrown in that make it perfect. I challenge you not to enjoy watching this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)