Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 23 April 2017
Delf-deprecating and funny account
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2016
Michael Whitehall's understated and deadpan humour is put to good use in this book. His accounts of life in the theatrical world are nothing short of hilarious. I have seen him on TV quite a few times and often wondered how he can keep a straight face while relating all these yarns. I would highly recommend this book -for those in need of cheering up it is better than any medicine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2013
I liked this a good deal. Funny. Whitehall is honest and observant about the dramatis personae of every act of his life. Light of touch and not too heavy on the name dropping, but with plenty of the famous to be going on with, this book nevertheless avoids the 'oh this old thing' school of memoir - the people Michael Whitehall mixed and worked with are well known, but it comes across clearly that that was the job, and we all meet people through our work. He is clear sighted, not blinded by the limelight and I enjoyed all of it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2010
Michael Whitehall's memoir is quite a delicious read whether or not you have any interest in the theatre or show business. Although actors such as Nigel Havers and Judi Dench do occasionally wander through its pages, the real treat is Whitehall's enormous storytelling ability, and his apparent lifelong propensity for being caught in the company of eccentrics. His drily comedic telling of his bizarre childhood, through his very checkered pre-agent career, through his tales of agent life and beyond, leave the reader yearning for more of this deliciously absurd yet very personable writer.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2014
I bought this book a couple of years ago and loved it. I decided to put it on my Kindle so I could read it again on the go!! Having been a theatrical agent myself, and also when I was a Casting Director I spoke to Michael Whitehall quite a lot, I found this hilarious and so true. It is well written and not too 'luvvie' as I recommended to a friend who is not in the business and she loved it too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2015
Very witty. one of those books that you think you'll just skim through for a few minutes to occupy some time, and then find you can't put it down.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2012
Th author was for a large part of his life a thestrical agent and he has some hilarious tales about the vain egotistical and insecure people that he represents.It is thus a trifle frustrating that he spends so much time describing his pre agent life.it is only when we get to page 98 that he starts on this career.Whilst the first part is amusing the remaining 170 pages are a sheer delight.I think that he is getting his own back at a few rather pompous and over indulged clients.Well worth a read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2013
A memoir that is too easily read and forgotten. Too much on the writers parents and family and not enough on his activities a sa showbiz agent
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2014
Hes a good name dropper, but with his client list he can afford to be. Well worth it and also the follow up with his son jack
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2013
This book is written adequately but adopts a smirking tone of smug self-absorption which becomes tedious. The stars about whom the author is happy to gossip are dead, dying or unable to defend themselves and of little current interest. Rather disappointing in the light of his current appearances with his son, Jack.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)